We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small rooms”
Review of Jinshan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jinshan Hotel
Ranked #256 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The location is unbeatable, right in the middle of chinatown with MRT station 100 meters away. Rooms are small and most do not have windows, they are comfortable however and good if you want a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that the location is ideal for you.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room I had did not resemble in any way the rooms shown on their website. It was tiny, dirty, had ants everywhere, and very damp. (It was less humid outside.) It was such an unpleasant experience I left Singapore early rather than spend one more night there.

It should be noted that their website states every room has a DVD player. They do not. Also, I watched people walking in off the street getting prices nearly half what I paid when booking through their website.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing us a review. We are disappointed to hear of your less than pleasant experience and apologise for the displeasure it has caused you.
Our rooms are designed to retain the original feel of Chinatown in the early days, compact and functional. We do have different room types available to cater to guests with different requirement. Our Deluxe rooms are of a bigger size and are available at a slight premium that may appeal to your liking. There has been some inaccurate information previously but we have since corrected to the actual rooms. Please be assured our room rates are kept competitive relative to the market price and hotel type.
We appreciate your feedback for it helps us to review our services better and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Little can be critized about Service or the Quality of the room.
However it was not possible to Log into the W-lan with a Laptop. Others in the Hotel had the same Problems.
I vote the breakfast however the worst ever in the whole world: a tray with one in gladwrap wrapped Sandwich and one apple with no Drinks, delivered on a tray to the room is either the worst nightmare or the best joke. I couldn't decide which.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Perfect Location for walking around china town and city center, and arab quarter and Gardens of the bay for those hwo like walking, and very near to MRT for those who wants to use the metro. There is no breakfast, but is not a big deal as there are a lot of places around. No real window in my room, but otherwise is ok. Complimentary coffee and cacao at the main area which is good. In my point of view a little bit too much money but seems it`s any way expensive in Singapore to find something good enough for less price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank moonrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We welcome your feedback and will definitely share your concern with the team to improve our guests' experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent 2 weeks at Santa Grand Hotel in Chinatown. The location is perfect, it's in the city and just 3-5 minutes walk to the MRT which is very convenient. There are a lot of local cuisine in the area, tons of souvenir shops, malls and temples, so it would be a perfect hotel for you if you want to experience Singapore. The staff are really friendly and very helpful to attend your needs. The hotel looks old and very Chinese, it's like an old warehouse converted into a hotel, coz I noticed that the materials used are made up of wood and it's a bit dark inside. But don't worry, the hotel is well-maintained and is very clean!!! They make sure that they clean the rooms every day, change the towels and supply you free water!! The only thing I didn't like is that rooms are very small, even the washrooms. Since the hotel is old and the flooring is made up of wood, I could hear the people next to my room, I could even hear their shower!!!! Overall this is a hotel good value for money and recommend it to everyone!! perfect for travelers!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeZander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Good
hotel is very near to MRT which make it a convenience stay.
a lot of nearby restaurant and shop selling souvenir, so you don't have to walk that far to buy souvenir.

The not Good
Not many taxi know where the hotel is so that could be trouble.
I booked family room but it was a bit smaller than how it look in the picture.

Overall it was a good stay, but I expected more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I have just spent the last 2 months traveling accross SE Asia with my boyfriend and this is the worst, most inconsiderate hotel we have come across.
Tiny, tiny rooms, less that a foot between the bed corner and the wall, meaning we climb an obstacle course to get into bed.
We ordered a room chnage due to the loud street construction outside. Couldnt even hear ourselves speak to each other in the room.
During the change they completly broke the wheels off my suite case. Making it impossible! To move. Also the main handle was broken too, so its now a 25kg lump of impossible to move clothes. How am I meant to take it through the airport?!
What they did to help, write a note about it to tell the bell boy to take better care.
Pathetic.
It also reaks of Durian fruit and cheap bleach. Burning our nostrils.
The showers are covered in slime.
Paper thin walls.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The hotel is a refurbished conservation house that was built in the early years where the nostalgic Chinatown’s look and feel are retained, including the layout and size of our rooms. We regret the construction noise outside the hotel due to the upgrading of the Chinatown Street commissioned by the Singapore Tourism Board, something really beyond our control. I am glad that the change of room resolved this issue. It is unfortunate that your suite case wheels were coming loose as our bellhop had highlighted to you during check-in, and it eventually broke in the process of moving. For the convenience of continuing your journey, we had out of goodwill replaced a brand new case on our account.
We appreciate your feedback about the showers and housekeeping standard and will strive for further improvement. We thank you for your patronage.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#188 of 319 in Singapore
361 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#284 of 319 in Singapore
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#224 of 319 in Singapore
262 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#94 of 319 in Singapore
700 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#136 of 319 in Singapore
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinshan Hotel

Address: 20 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinshan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct, Jinshan Hotel is fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Formerly known as Santa Grand Chinatown, here in Jinshan Hotel not only you will feel the traditional Singapore culture in 1960s, but also you'll feel right at home, the minute you enter our hotel, revelling in our unique Asian hospitality. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Jinshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinshan Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing