We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Cleanliness Need To Improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #226 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Room Cleanliness Need To Improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booking was made via booking.com. We had a reasonable size of room located at level 3. Loud squeaky sound made whenever the elevator door opened or closed. Unsure the management is aware of such issue. Can't expect much with the on line price for a night with good location and easy excess to MRT. Bought pastries and left on table and later found ants crawling in for a "feast" and later found spiders on the wall. What's next ! Think the housekeeping should have done a better job. Air con operate well but shower room tiles rather slippery and it can be a hazard for guests. Shower screen do not serve the purpose coz it was hung too close to the shower and entire floor still get wet. Would suggest hotel to look into replacing the towels.

Room Tip: Do consider staying in a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenOHL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear KenOHL2014,

Thank you for bringing these matters to our management's attention. We will share your concerns with our team for immediate action to improve future guest's needs. We are however, pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel!

We are happy to have hosted your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    128
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

+ Excellent location, nice & friendly personnel, the cheapest option for a private single room in SG at the time.
- Small room, old building (although the rooms's facilities i.e. bathroom are OK - new & modern), the only boiled water kettle on the floor not working properly sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bobby11001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Bobby11001,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that our team were friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback and we will share your concerns with our team for immediate action!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and we hope to welcome you back on your next business trip!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

me and my mom went to Singapore last week and booked this hotel via booking.com. The staff was really nice and helpful. Anyway, the elevator and the lift were both broken. When we took the staircase, it led to another way, what a surprise.
The location was great, near ChinaTown, MRT and seafood restaurant.
A recommendation for who is planning to go to SG.

Room Tip: a bit noisy in the middle of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MinhMinh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear MinhMinh206

Thank you for your great review! Our team really appreciate your feedback and we will continue to work hard to provide even better service for our guests! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and we hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked this hotel on internet. Reviews in that hotel booking website is not bad. The room of Santa Grand Hotel chinatown is the smallest I have ever seen. Besides the bed and a small table, the only space is just enough for one man to walk away. Shower curtain is missing, everything gets wet after the shower. The most horrible is that lots of flea bit me and I couldn't sleep. After I left and waited in the airport, I found and killed over 30 flea on my backpack. SGD120 for a night is not cheap. I was fooled by the hotel review of that website. Even it is free of charge, I will not stay there because my blood worths more than that.

Room Tip: choose hotel far from central part or pay more. Price of standard room in Singapore hotel is crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donix Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Donix Y,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management’s attention. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
limerick
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

In all my years of travelling this is the smallest room I've ever slept in.
Otherwise the hotel was good, very central and quiet at night. The staff were pleasant and tea and coffee facilities were available free of charge

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear davyLimerick,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to have hosted your stay and would like to thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown!

We look forward to your next visit to Singapore!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location is superb. I was there on April 14,2014 and it rained very hard but I could walk from the MRT station to the hotel without getting wet! Brilliant!

The room is small, but it is a normal size in Singapore. All the room facilities are well fit the small space. There is enough space that you can close the door while you feet are on the floor. You are also able to walk in the room while left your luggage wide open on the floor.

The room was clean. The wifi signal was strong. The staff was helpful and friendly. I checked in on a very late night and there was no problem as I initially worried at all.

I've stayed in many budgeted hotels in Singapore and this hotel is my best one. I would get back to stay here next time for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeOnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear CakeOnamon,

Our team at Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown thank you for such a wonderful review! Your review only encourages our team to work even harder to provide even better service for all guests! We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the amenities it provided!

Thank you again for sharing your experiences with us and we hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

As title, dun expect too much from this hotel w/ moderate fee.
Nevertheless, the location is best for foreign tourist.
You may find eating places and nice going out spots at nearby.
If you like chinatown, this is one of the best choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mycombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear mycombo,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown! Yes indeed, as Chinatown Food Street is right outside our hotel, there are many different eateries in the vicinity. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#165 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#191 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#267 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#169 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing