We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel 81 Kovan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 Kovan
Ranked #187 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel is located nearby Serangoon MRT station, which is located just beside Nex Mall. It is just a 10-15 minutes walk to the mall/MRT station. Checking in was easy and WiFi connection is fairly good. Suitable for short stay/business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReaperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 81 Kovan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The pictures must be of another hotel. This is a dirty street in Singapore. The location is the worst possible. No restaurants of any interest within walking distance. Staff friendly but this is obviously a short time hotel. I brought my family thinking the pictures looked ok, only to find out that is NOT a picture of this hotel but another branch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relliott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This branch of H81 is slightly more expensive than the rest, maybe because of the location. Quiet and peaceful around residential area. Within walking distance MRT station and eateries. Small room as usual.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aceyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Located on the outskirt of heartlands. It's quite easy to get local food in the vicinity. Just right next door is a coffeeshop selling Indian food. In the basement of the quiet mall on the other side of the hotel is a very humble Chinese restaurant with 3 Chinese words on the signboard selling excellent local Teochew cuisine. These are the main things or rather rare finds I found with this hotel.
If you could withstand the shy looks of couples (of all ages) waiting to book a room on short stay at the lobby, I would say this is one of the better and newer hotel of the 81 chain.
Rooms on the 5th floor should be bigger than others as I was arranged there.
It's a hotel with rooms only, so expect no room service or dedicated concierge service at the door. Rooms are spacious in their context but with no wardrobe and limited toiletries.
Expect some cigarette stains on the basin and toilet seat. Moanings heard in the corridors are normal and not signs of supernatural.
I have very sensitive nose so I detect bad air ventilation very effectively. Call it a special gift... And this hotel has clean air.

I must highlight that not many tourists stay in this part of the island, so this hotel is not the usual touristy choice. But if it is adventures that you seek and if you would like to experience some Singaporean living in the heartlands. This is as close as you get other than home stays.

Closest MRT stations are Kovan and Serangoon, approximately a 30 mins walk. If you are heading towards Kovan Station, be sure to try out the famous Midnight Curry and Punggol Nasi Lemak (Malay-style Fragrance Rice). Not world class food, but will certainly awe you. ^^

Room Tip: Some units may have DVD players. Be sure to ask for one if you need.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeJorgimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Nice hotel, quite far from the city. There was a SMRT station nearby, though. The room is very nice and clean. Rather small, but enough for 2 people or 3, at most. There is a tv and a dvd player, too. There was a nice place to sit next to the window, a bit like a narrow table. But I used it as a platform to jump on the bed! There was tea and coffee and a kettel but no fridge, and the wardrobe was tiny. The bathroom was small too, with the shower right next to the toilet, but its okay, i guess. At night there were a few baby cockroaches running around in the toilet, so that's my only complaint. Overall nice, with a 7 eleven downstairs and a mamak, which has nice roti chanai and briyani.

Room Tip: Get the triple room if you want a window.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhansstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel 81 is a big chain at Singapore but though they offer cheap rate rooms, their hotels are not really the first choice like Ibis. I got this hotel this time because of my travel desk. The hotel is at a very distant location from main city. The difference is huge.one cant even imagine that there would be places like Marina Bay also if you stay here and dont go out . Picking a cab is tough too. The staff didnt let me do an early check in even if tbe room was free without charging 15$ sgd per hour for 5 hours. I reached early and had to go to office despite that, the staff didnt buzz. Rooms are clean but small,no closet or safety box is in my room. In short, consider this one only if you have no other choice left.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharmaAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is located a far distance from the city area. I would not recommend this hotel as traveling to any place is very inconvenience unless you are driving in a car. The only place where I can recommend shopping and eating near this hotel is at Kovan shopping centre which is about 20mins walk from the hotel along upper serangoon road. You can also choose to eat from a variety of foods from the market. Cheap and nice.

If you have more money to spend on hotel. I will say you skip this hotel and stay nearer to the city. If insist on budget hotels... Take up those hotels at Geylang instead. Get foods everywhere for 24hrs. And compared the distance to the city, orchard. It's nearer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louis1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 Balestier
#207 of 316 in Singapore
32 reviews
Hotel 81 Fuji
#255 of 316 in Singapore
11 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#180 of 316 in Singapore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#172 of 316 in Singapore
152 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 Changi
Hotel 81 Changi
#218 of 316 in Singapore
13 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#204 of 316 in Singapore
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Kovan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Kovan

Address: 768 Upper Serangoon Road, Singapore 534636, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £40 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Kovan 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 81 Kovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Kovan Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing