We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare nice?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The good...

ALL the staff were freindly and very helpful - the way all hostel staff should be! A good location, in the heart of Chinatown with good transport links (3 min walk to subway, main road for buses/taxis). Breakfast is basic hostel fare; cereals, toast and spreads, tea & coffee (in a sachet..)
Bed was comy enough, good a/c, quiet room, Wi-Fi was OK.

The bad...

£14 per night for an 8 bed mixed dorm is a bit steep.

The male bathroom has two showers and one toilet and little room to change so you either get undressed/dressed in the cubicle (one shower does have a nook you could put your dry clothes in) or in the small communal area...but everytime the door opens, anyone eating breakfast gets a full view. You could change in your room, but this means traipsing half naked (as some did) through the reception/communal breakfast area back to the dorm.

Would I recommend it? Overall, yes, especially if you're a bit of an exhibitionist ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hostel is located near the mtr station China Town, just a quick walk away!
I stayed in a mixed dorm with 8 beds, lots of aircondining (I slept with a hoodie because of the fan) and a big locker for backpack and other things. The beds are comfortable. I stayed at the room near the reception.

The common room is nice and gives you the chance to meet new people. There is free wifi which works really good.

The breakfast is ok, there were fresh mandarins, toast, peanut butter, different jams, tea and some wierd instant coffee with milk powder and sugar. Maybe some filter coffe or something similar would be a good idea to add :)

The staff is friendly and helpful for infos on what to do around singapore.

There is an elevator which brings you up to the hostel- pretty handy if you have big luggage.

The showers are really clean and big, so is the bathroom. Even if there are only two showers and one bathroom I never had to wait to get in.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here a few days. We had some experience during our stay.
Some of the good experience :
1. The bed was comfortable
2. The breakfast was awesome even it's just a bread with jam, hot chocolate, and cereals.
3. The drinks we bought was also cheap than outside.
4. The receptionist was really helpful and nice in helping us to the nearest destinations, and many more.
5. The place was strategic
6. Knowing some new people

Some of unpleasant experience :
1. The locker cannot be closed properly.
2. The shower room need to be clean when the visitors is out, because there are so many hairs left.
3. The curtain in the shower room need to be replace because it's being ruined
4. Met some people that slept snoring in making us annoyed.
5. No international channel that we can watched

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nensi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here for a night after 7 days at Beary Good. conveniently located within 0-10 minutes walk from anywhere in Chinatown.

A shared bathroom for each genders, tidy and cozy lounge if you want to chill down.

The only dounside is it faces too loud a street (there's CD store in front of it and it keeps playing music till late into night), don't forget earplugs if you want.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_hoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Well... part of me doesn't want to give the highest recommendation to my "secret" hideaway in Singapore as they could get even busier; however, they deserve it! Truly I do give highest recommendations of any hostel in Malaysia-Singapore to Beary Nice.

Beary Nice I truly feel is the best place to stay in Singapore, if you're considering a hostel. It may be the "Beary Nice"... the 2nd of the "Beary's".... but it's the best & coziest place I've stayed and the one I return to whenever possible. I've stayed elsewhere by their recommendations (during renovations and overbookings) and I've also stayed in "Beary Best" (the newest) but little Beary Nice is really "Beary Cozy"--- it's small & located all on one floor, so it makes it so - in the living space as well as the dorm rooms (not too big, but not too small in spacing). Beary Nice isn't only cozy place but maybe the friendliest not just among the staff but the guests. It may not be the most conviently located of the Chinatown hostels with respect to the MRT & a bit "far" from the downtown hub; however the cozy facilities and atmosphere make up for any of that!! With new renovations it's also brighter& cheerful (even more than before), better shower doors now, and sturdier/quieter beds. Always a place you can feel comfortable and relaxed--no need to rush out into town all the time.....comfortable any time of day or night :D That is an added bonus for return guests who are not in SG to tour but for business or other visiting purposes.

Beary Nice - just two suggestions: why not a name change to "Beary Cozy" ;) and a healthy choice in the breakfast offering? Then, it would be beary perfect :D

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here a few days. Beary nice is a nice hostel, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The stuff is very friendly and helpful in giving advice what to do and to see. breakfast is good. what i really didn't like was the aircon. i know it's maybe normal in asia, but i got sick because it was sooo cold. wifi was good. there are two bathrooms (female and male), with two showers and one toilet. we never had to wait for using the bathroom, but one toilet/two showers might not be enough if the hostel is fully booked. shower is hot! there were lots of people washing their clothes and especially underwear in the bathroom, what i think is weird/unhygienic. it was a nice stay though, we had a good time. in the night you may need a scarf and a cap. if you have the chance, switch off the aircon and use the fan.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anndika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good location, near to the mrt. I would come back here again. For everyone who wants to find a good place to spend the nights in spore with an affordable price I would recommend this place...because its beary nice :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lentt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 240 in Singapore
507 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#9 of 240 in Singapore
619 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,180 reviews
@ Little Red Dot
#81 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel

Address: 46B Smith Street Chinatown, Singapore 058956, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the runaway success of a beary good hostel, Beary Nice! brings to travellers the same cosy and friendly environment synonymous to the flagship hostel. Located in a brand new property along Singapore Chinatown food street - this new hostel comes with with facilities such as lift access, separate male/female restrooms and the convenience of having the subway/train station within a short 2 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Hotel Singapore
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing