We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suitable for backpack”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Beary Nice got everything we need as a backpacker during travel. Wifi, bed, clean washroom, water heater, washing machine, laptop for public, breakfast, and easy to ask for support. located just nearby Chinatown MRT, and above a chinese restaurant(crowded every time i pass by). shopping mall right in front of hostel and many choices to eat at night time. definitely will come bac again :)

Room Tip: go to bed before 12pm in here cuz its really not good to disturb others by keep open the door at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeeSiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in beary nice hostel. One thing I really didnt like is that the staff more security is then staff from a hostel. They dont talk to you only if you ask them something. And they also like to watch their own programs on tv and computer with high volume sound. They can be nice to you but I was a disappointed because of earlier hostel experience where they really made you feel home. The rest is okay in the hostel, only a lot mosquitos in the dorms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisanne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ideal location in the heart of Chinatown - plenty of cheap food on the doorstep and only a 10-15 minute walk to all the main attractions in the city (also plenty of bus stops and an MRT station less than a 5 minute walk away). The staff are super-helpful, and the hostel itself is spotlessly clean. The free breakfast is a bonus.

The only slight negative is the bathrooms - they are extremely hot with little air circulating making it difficult and uncomfortable to dry after a shower.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location in Chinatown where MRT is just a short walk away (passing through stalls that mostly sell Singapore souvenirs). Lots of food options around, and a very economical food court just across the hostel. Hostel is at 3rd floor, with lift access (above a dim sum restaurant). Beds are comfy, with privacy curtain for the lower bunk. Toilets are separated by gender, but there's still room for improvement for the toilet. WiFI was good. Free flow of coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day. Breakfast includes cereals and toast. Access card needed for entry into hostel and own dorm. Generally, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hostel is located only 2 blocks from Chinatown MRT which makes it easy to get anywhere in Singapore. It's on "Chinatown Food Street" but it's quiet up where the rooms are - you can get great food right on the street there and, just across New Bridge Road is one of the many "food courts" where locals eat, you can get a good meal there for about $2. Staff of this hostel are very nice and it's clean. Beds are comfortable - like many hostels, if your bed is too near the AC unit it can be cold. I would definitely stay there again. You give up personal space when you stay in a hostel - after 3 months of travel I would have preferred my own room But I stayed 6 nights and staying in a hotel would have been so much more expensive - I was very happy enjoying the friendly staff and customers of BearyNice while saving so much money :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmillspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff were great and the facilities were nice. I loved the location in Chinatown and just a quick walk to the MRT. The atmosphere was a bit weird. Not a social place to meet other backpackers. Most were glued to an electronic device and didn't say hi. That being said, maybe I was just there at a weird time and it's not the typical. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackerboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

it was my trip abroad stayed here with my sister. facilities is good. staff are friendly. shower room just need to be upgraded. i was able to get a discounted universal studio day pass. the location is perfect near the mrt station, restaurants.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank jp2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#176 of 317 in Singapore
353 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
#86 of 237 in Singapore
49 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Hostel Singapore
Royal Hostel Singapore
#67 of 237 in Singapore
127 reviews
Chinatown
Chic Capsule Otel
Chic Capsule Otel
#8 of 237 in Singapore
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel

Address: 46B Smith Street Chinatown, Singapore 058956, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the runaway success of a beary good hostel, Beary Nice! brings to travellers the same cosy and friendly environment synonymous to the flagship hostel. Located in a brand new property along Singapore Chinatown food street - this new hostel comes with with facilities such as lift access, separate male/female restrooms and the convenience of having the subway/train station within a short 2 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Hotel Singapore
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing