We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a budget traveller”
Review of Amrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amrise Hotel
Ranked #290 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had to go to Singapore for 2 nights and 3 days alone, so was looking for cheap accommodation. I finally settled for the Amrise Hotel despite some of the bad reviews. Booked through agoda.com, a single standard room at $55 (sing dollars) a night.

From the airport, I took the MRT and got off at Aljunied station (the tourist information office advised me to get off there). It was a little hike, as the hotel is in between both Aljunied and Kallang stations. I actually walked by the hotel 3 times before noticing it (there was a lot going on on the sidewalks...). The walk wasn't too bad as it was in the early evening and the heat had died down a little.
When i got there, the receptionist was helpful. As a bonus, he told me that all the standard rooms were taken, so I'd be upgraded to a deluxe room with a queen bed on the 2nd floor.

Negative:
relatively small, no safe, damp showing through the wall where the shower was, rust at the tap of the sink, wall near the toilet was grotty, dodgy aircon (wasn't leaking though!). No lift (for people with heavy luggage, walking difficulties, etc, but it was ok for me).

Positive:
2 windows (i had read that the standard rooms didn't have any...), it was overlooking the main road, but the noise didn't bother me, coffee and kettle provided, comfortable bed, on the MRT route for Changi airport. The 2 people i dealt with at the reception (both were chinese men) were very friendly and helpful (didn't get their names tho, sorry).

It's just off the Geylang lorongs, so I didn't notice any "red-light" activities on the street side where the hotel was. It was another story on the other sidewalk... Except for when I returned to the hotel to check out, there was, ah, how do i put this politely, a chubby "older woman" on the top of the stairs who gave way on what i thought was politeness. However, when i go abreast of her (pun intended), she repeated "Yao bu yao?" a couple of times. It took me a few seconds to realize she was asking me "want or not?". No prizes for guessing what the "want" was... I just replied "Bu yao, xie xie" and continued my way.

The walk from the hotel to the Aljunied station was done at 1pm (i asked to check out 1 hour later, so was charged $10. This is noted in the room ($10 for every additional hour after 12:00), so it was expected) in the hot sun, so I was sweating like a pig by the time i reached there.

Tip: If you want to go Little India, take the bus, it's more direct and faster than the MRT (have to change 2x).
DO NOT go to Little India on Sunday. Believe me, you don't want to, that was the worst mistake I did on this trip.

I did take some photos of the room using the iPad, so will upload them as soon as I can figure out how ...

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to a Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boosook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have a standard twin room. Small beds. Cold room because cannot adjust aircon degree. Only switch on or off. I saw a cockroach run into telephone. The bathroom is ok though has stain. Ofcourse I didn't have comfortable sleep. Reception is helpful and quick.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibinguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

For the price in singapore it is very good as long as you have the right expectations! In good are close to mrt and with millions of shops and restaurants everywhere! As a budget traveller the room was clean enough for me and it is small but we were pretty much only there to sleep anyway! Staff are also friendly!

Room Tip: We booked standard room but got given room 304 which has a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Do not believe the NEGATIVE COMMENTS that you read, AMRISE HOTEL is the best budget hotel in the CITY of SINGAPORE. The hotel is located Sims Avenue, Geylang & accessible either by train or bus. The area is safe & clean. The food being offered at the surrounding places are affordable & delicious. We will definitely go back to AMRISE HOTEL. The place is great for budget travelers like us. Way to go AMRISE personne. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: power adapter can be bought at the shop right next to the hotel for $1.70. Try the CHILI CRAB, Singa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 22vaughn6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hotel is turn from a shop house to a hotel.Full of durian stalls.6+No lift, if you have luggage request for lower floor,standard room is quite small without window, deluxe room with additional 2 feet wide with minibar & window but both type of room has only 19 inch LCD with limited channels,mattress is already run down and soft,bad for your back,one old brown blanket provided, toilet only with big roller tissue and soap dispenser, water is not hot but just warm enough for a short shower.Lots of Chinese hawker restaurants nearby which is full in the evening caused this is where the ladies from china look for their clients, wont be nice if you walk with family members especially Muslims. For Muslims suggest you walk to the road behind which you can find lots of mamak stall. Location is 15 min walk to Aljunied MRT which have nice cheap food to eat SGD 2 for nasi lemak. For mineral water suggest you buy from a mini mart, other place charge SGD 1 for 500 ml bottle.

Room Tip: Room no 330(king) 329(twin) with road front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

the room was quite small but enough for family with one children... toilet clean with hot water, soap & shampoo, tissue and towels. AC and LCD TV with cable TV operated good. Distance with MRT stations not too far, but i suggest if you travel with child under 3 years old better go there with bus rather than walking. If you like chinese food, there's a lot of restaurants around hotel area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielPW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

small room with no window, AC is good, toilet is clean with hot water + tissue + towels, TV kabel, and there is coffe maker with coffe sachet. for bedroom not to comfortable but there is blanket.
but arround this hotel there are a lot of food that you can find.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
BudgetOne Hotel
#230 of 319 in Singapore
10 reviews
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#271 of 319 in Singapore
139 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#184 of 319 in Singapore
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#251 of 319 in Singapore
55 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#200 of 319 in Singapore
152 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#226 of 319 in Singapore
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrise Hotel

Address: 112 Sims Ave | Geylang, Singapore 387436, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amrise Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrise Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing