We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in sia?”
Review of Amrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amrise Hotel
Ranked #276 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in sia?”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I was at this hotel on 20th Jan 2014.
The room was filthy. 1 sheet only on the bed, no top sheet or duave only a dirty blanket.
There was mould up all the walls, i have pictures but unable to show, i am in Veitnam
his was a combined flight + hotel with Tiger Air, i nave contacted them so no one else is sent there.
Thanks Mike Pugh

Room Tip: Just don,t go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikepugh312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    55
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
17
77
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stay only if you are on tight budget or do not want to stay at backpacker hostel. The place is in bad shape although still functional.
Con: No lift, got to climb the stair. no air-con remote, even have to loan from the reception. The crappy TV has bad reception and simply too crazy loud (at min volume) which give me a shock when I first on the TV. 1st time i did not watch TV in hotel room.
Pro: Many power outlets (think got 6). Super good wifi in room! The hotel is located in between 2 Kallang and Aljunied MRT (walking distance) and quite a few coffeeshops, restaurants (mainly chinese food) around.
Conclusion: Itt would be terrible if not for the good wifi speed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bekasi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I came to Singapore in a group of 19 and we all got the room in the second floor, close one another. The service was nice, the receptionist was able to speak english quite good so there wasn't any trouble in communicatiing. The room was nice also, even though it is a little bit small, but for me it really is comfortable. With water heater on the bathroom, cool air conditioner, tv, and also thermos to cook water so I can make hot milk/instant noodle in the room. The hotel was close from the airport, I used taxi from airport to the hotel and it only cost me about $15. The closest MRT is Aljunied (5-10 minutes of walk) but it was quite far from the city and tourism destination in Singapore, ex: Merlion, Chinatown, Clarke Quay, Harbour Front, etc. Another thing that annoys me is the voices, since its located in Geylang, its still quite loud in the middle of the night. But after all I quite enjoy my stay in this hotel. One more positive side is their wifi is really good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms will have a little bit of trouble on getting the wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Don't expect more in Expensive City if U R backpacker traveler. This place ones of good accomodation in Geylang area.
*not recomended for female group traveler to stay in this area (Geylang). Night life and prostitution area as known... *lol*

From Bali - Indonesia with ?

Helpful?
2 Thank Albertus P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on 14th Oct 2013 for 1 night. Reception was decent. The nice man gave us 3rd floor. There is no lifts so me and my girlfriend had to climb the steep stairs. Upon reaching the room, I was thinking that this was pretty decent until I realize that this hotel doesnt provide any toothbrush. There is only shampoo. The room is very small and not much space for me and my girlfriend to move around but knowing that we actually paid $60 for it, I guess we can't complain much. Surrounding the hotel is a red light district, and of course some good foods. We manages to eat delicious food there. At night, the hotel seems a little spooky somehow. All in all, this hotel is worth just that. Only $60. If you expect more, don't book this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked from booking.com and i don't know the price exclude vat+tax. This is the small hotel in the swarm street. A lot street food near hotel and grocery shop. Free wifi is good in the first day of my stay but I couldn't use the next day. Far from MRT, in red district light and no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pungpung60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The room is very small, but it's worth because this is the cheapest hotel we found in Singapore. There is only the hair shampoo provided. The clean towel, wifi and water heater is also provided. It's more suitable for Chinese because it is surrounded by Chinese restaurant around this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own soap & toothpaste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artzleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#251 of 312 in Singapore
130 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#187 of 312 in Singapore
117 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#241 of 312 in Singapore
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BudgetOne Hotel
#238 of 312 in Singapore
7 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#244 of 312 in Singapore
53 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#248 of 312 in Singapore
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrise Hotel

Property: Amrise Hotel
Address: 112 Sims Ave | Geylang, Singapore 387436, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amrise Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrise Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing