We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“200 $ deposit ? For what ?”
Review of Park 22 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park 22 Hotel
Ranked #283 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just stayed there for half a day before flight. The room was smelly, tiny, with no window, and the bathroom designed by someone who never intended to use it - water from hilariously big shower was covering everything.
And what is more outrageous they charge $ 200 as a deposit, so for two weeks they are on your credit card. For what ? Breaking the non-existent window ? Dismantling the smelly a/c ?
Not recommended, try sth else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here last August during medical. I chose this hotel most of all because of its location (near the hospital - I can walk on foot to the hospital), then the price, and lastly the pictures on agency website. First I was given a room at 1st floor which is too tiny even than my imagination, and it is very loud at night. Next day I asked for changing to another room at higher floor, first the staff told me there was no spare room but I tried again later and finally succeeded to change to another room which is both quieter and bigger. The location of the hotel is not only near to the hospital but also near the China town which is very convenient. The staff were also very supportive, I kept on emailing for get my stuff print and they always welcome me with smile. Breakfast is also nice. The time I spent here the hotel was re-painting the walls but no inconvenience caused, the painter smiled with customers all the time. However comparing to the price I expect better for the room.

Room Tip: Higher floors would avoid loudness better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flicka1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgAungSan, General Manager at Park 22 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for all your reviews over the past months.

Through listening to your reviews, we are delighted to learn that you particularly like Park 22 hotel's:

- Excellent location – In the heart of Chinatown with heaps of cool cafes, themed restaurants and famous attractions literally at our doorstep or just around the corner. Some of you who need to visit the Singapore General Hospital or the clinics within its complex tell us you truly appreciate that it is only 10 minutes away by foot.

- Close walking distance to two MRT stations – Outram Park interchange linking both the East-West and the North-East lines and Chinatown station, both connecting you seamlessly with tourist attractions – like Sentosa (1-stop), Orchard Road, Marina bay, Zoo, Night Safari etc. – as well as Business districts of Raffles Place and City Hall.

- Friendly, helpful and supportive staff – you appreciated them for their always-welcoming smile, helping with complimentary printing, local-knowledge directions to various attractions and the many other small ways they make you feel welcome and taken care of everyday.

- Free high-speed in-room cum public area WiFi, complimentary use of internet-terminals and free local calls in the lobby – just some ways we are helping you stay connected and productive.

- "Pretty shop-house style heritage building" with its clean and contemporary interiors. You told us it is "much nicer" than a "clinical modern-style building", devoid of character.

Thank you for your kind reviews. They encourage us and help us be better each day for you.

At the same time, listening to your reviews, we have also learnt that you wish for certain improvements to be made.

We have listened and taken action.

We are delighted to announce we have recently completed a wide-ranging refurbishment of our rooms! The many improvements completed include:
- Re-painting the rooms in refreshing hues of blue
- Installing new carpets & curtains also in soothing hues of blue
- Providing fluffier more comfortable pillows
- Using higher thread-count bed sheets for even more comfort
- Intelligently employing energy-saving LED lights that provide targeted illumination.
- Installing writing tables, with thoughtfully placed power plugs, in more rooms for greater productivity
- Installing bedside light and padded headboards in most rooms for added comfort.

Check out photographs of our Newly Refurbished rooms!

Better still come experience our newly refurbished rooms for yourself! Just Book Directly and securely with us to enjoy our Best Rates, unavailable anywhere else.

We look forward to welcoming you to Park 22 hotel.


Yours sincerely,

Ng Aung San
General Manager, Park 22 hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The Place is very good from the Hotel, but the rooms are very small and my room dont had a window but was okay with the AC. The straff is okay. When I come back it was at 5pm was my room not cleaned. At 5.20pm asked the housekeeping but than was to late! Next time I would go in a other hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Michael_Munich_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgAungSan, General Manager at Park 22 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for all your reviews over the past months.

Through listening to your reviews, we are delighted to learn that you particularly like Park 22 hotel's:

- Excellent location – In the heart of Chinatown with heaps of cool cafes, themed restaurants and famous attractions literally at our doorstep or just around the corner. Some of you who need to visit the Singapore General Hospital or the clinics within its complex tell us you truly appreciate that it is only 10 minutes away by foot.

- Close walking distance to two MRT stations – Outram Park interchange linking both the East-West and the North-East lines and Chinatown station, both connecting you seamlessly with tourist attractions – like Sentosa (1-stop), Orchard Road, Marina bay, Zoo, Night Safari etc. – as well as Business districts of Raffles Place and City Hall.

- Friendly, helpful and supportive staff – you appreciated them for their always-welcoming smile, helping with complimentary printing, local-knowledge directions to various attractions and the many other small ways they make you feel welcome and taken care of everyday.

- Free high-speed in-room cum public area WiFi, complimentary use of internet-terminals and free local calls in the lobby – just some ways we are helping you stay connected and productive.

- "Pretty shop-house style heritage building" with its clean and contemporary interiors. You told us it is "much nicer" than a "clinical modern-style building", devoid of character.

Thank you for your kind reviews. They encourage us and help us be better each day for you.

At the same time, listening to your reviews, we have also learnt that you wish for certain improvements to be made.

We have listened and taken action.

We are delighted to announce we have recently completed a wide-ranging refurbishment of our rooms! The many improvements completed include:
- Re-painting the rooms in refreshing hues of blue
- Installing new carpets & curtains also in soothing hues of blue
- Providing fluffier more comfortable pillows
- Using higher thread-count bed sheets for even more comfort
- Intelligently employing energy-saving LED lights that provide targeted illumination.
- Installing writing tables, with thoughtfully placed power plugs, in more rooms for greater productivity
- Installing bedside light and padded headboards in most rooms for added comfort.

Check out photographs of our Newly Refurbished rooms!

Better still come experience our newly refurbished rooms for yourself! Just Book Directly and securely with us to enjoy our Best Rates, unavailable anywhere else.

We look forward to welcoming you to Park 22 hotel.


Yours sincerely,

Ng Aung San
General Manager, Park 22 hote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were overcharged by $238 on the credit card because they made a mistake. Two weeks later, they still haven't refunded the money even when they promised to.

The room was very small. No ventilation. The shower had no barrier to block the water so the water went everywhere when you shower (not very hygienic). The bathroom was poorly designed so you couldn't even lean over it to wash your face.

Although it's cheap, it's not great value considering all the hassle.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgAungSan, General Manager at Park 22 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Ms Jess K,

Thank you for your review.

Working in tandem with our bank, a Full Refund was completed on 25th March 2014, as promised. We apologize for the oversight leading to the overcharge. We have since further tightened our processes. So, thank you for helping us be better.

Separately, we are disappointed to learn that your residence in our Deluxe Rooms did not meet your expectations. On your next visit, we hope you will consider our roomier Superior Rooms with windows that cost only just a little more.

We look forward to welcoming you again. Just remember to book directly with us to enjoy the best online rates unavailable anywhere else.

Once again, thank you. Wishing you safe and fruitful travels always.


Ng Aung San
General Manager, Park 22 hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The card reads fine but words such as 'confluence', 'contemporary' and 'modernity' should ring warning bells for you.

My friend has a room which is pretty much considered as closet space in proper hotels and the power keeps tripping on his kettle and his hotel phone never worked when he was staying there.

He drew the short end of the straw because he was single and only needed a single bed so they gave him the tinest one. For 6 foot 2 inch tall man, that's quite torturous as there is literally 30 centimetre of walking space around the bed.

The staff do try their best and there are free wifi and modern looking computers for internet use in the lobby (no chairs) but that doesn't and can never compensate for the quality/size of the room - and yes there is a cafe but they probably have problem staffing it so no meals/breakfast and certainly no snacks during the day.

It really is pretty much a hostel like accommodation jazzed up to budget hotel prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtw1tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel is located in Chinatown area..... Safe and excellent location if you like oriental culture and close to 2 MRT stations - Outram park (2 mins walk) and china town station (5 Mins walk)

The rooms were clean with functional amenities, which was really the only saving grace.The service is good enough and helpful/friendly stuff.

The room were tiny like a rabbit hole in general, Choose only if you find nothing else, and just need a clean and hygienic place to sleep.

The bathroom was pathetic with the shower over the toilet - No Place to move.

My Kitchen is bigger than this room. No Window or ventilation in the room at an average rate of $95

Hotel has been recently renovated and has a small cafe which serves breakfast and snacks, WiFi is good, free local calls and the south-Indian receptionist were friendly enough to provide the direction to various places and other info useful for tourist.


Over priced hotel - Stayed during the peak season 27 Dec 2013 to Jan 1st 2014.
Paid $95 average rent per night without breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammedali_2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked a single room, knew about the tiny room and tiny bathroom. Room gets clean daily, wifi is good... Didn't care about the free breakfast since this is singapore, there's good breakfast out there to try.

Only complain is the bed, it is the same size as the door... Feels like one too.. And also one pillow only

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Robertlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#187 of 317 in Singapore
356 reviews
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#186 of 317 in Singapore
35 reviews
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#274 of 317 in Singapore
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#222 of 317 in Singapore
257 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Keong Saik Hotel
#136 of 317 in Singapore
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park 22 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park 22 Hotel

Address: 22 Teck Lim Road Park 22 Hotel Chinatown, Singapore 088392, Singapore (Formerly Mercury Boutique Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £50 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park 22 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 56-room contemporary Boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Chinatown, Singapore that exemplifies Excellent Location and Affordable Comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park 22 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park 22 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing