We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to chit chat”

Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe
Ranked #5,849 of 10,779 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A nice place to chit chat”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My friend and I had visited the outlet in Holland Village. We went there exactly at 11am when it was just opened. The staffs were courteous enought to let us in and even served with a smile. That was unexpected because most of the restaurant staffs do not like customer to come into the restaurant exactly at the time they just opened. The feeling of being welcomed was quite pleasant.

We ordered their signature fried rice, and fried noodle, both were tasty. We also ordered their prawn paste fried chicken which we had enjoyed a lot. Very nice and it was not so salty. We also ordered their wanton soup and yuan yang tea. It was a comfortable dining and chitchatting session there.

This will become another meeting place for me and my friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clanceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor service and expensive”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We used to frequent the Northpoint outlet for dinner or breakfast and joined their Membership for 2 years. Basically, the last few times we went back it got from bad to worse that we didn't renew our membership.

A few things,

The staffs were never attentive(eg. charges $0.40 for the ice water but only refill on request).

Food varieties are plenty but mostly fried/canned/instant noodles quality yet the price is quite expensive compared to other restaurants like BBQ Chicken(korean restaurant) that gives a bigger portion at the same price.

Definitely not your healthiest food choices. Orders comes very slowly as well. Rather go to a food court.

Although this is for Northpoint, looking at the other reviews, it's quite consistent among their outlets.. Enough said, we won't be going back anymore anyway. Try if you want but you've been warned.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dylonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Will go elsewhere”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Sadly the service was not good. No menus given to us, no plates arrived, no one to get bill at end so, like several others had to go to till and wait Food adequate but nothing to write home about. No we know other places which are better

Helpful?
Thank Bugsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most Dissapointed”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stopped by Xin Wang as we were sending some friends off last week. We tried a smattering of their starters and some lite bites. It tatsetd like the food was pre-cooked, it was hard/tough and way too salty. Drinks were quite authentic.

Won't be back anytime soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The food wasn't fantastic. The food was either too salty or too sweet, I don't think that's suitable for the kids or the elderly at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank _giN_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing