We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, quiet place with good food.”

Viet Lang @ the Arts House
Ranked #3,614 of 10,645 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: The Quays
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A friendly, quiet place with good food.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have visited this restaurant a few times through the years, and it has been very consistent as to ambiance, service and food.
We have been sticking to the set lunch, which offers a pleasant, well cooked meal which I believe is genuinely Vietnamese. The room is pleasantly cool and the service is quick and friendly, leaving you the time you need to enjoy your meal and your company. The house wine is good.
We find the price reasonable considering the whole "package".

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food that comforts your soul”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

-This is one of the best meals in a Singapore restaurant and definitely the Vietnamese food in Singapore.
-Each dish was excellent.
- Appetizer (Imperial Rolls), Main course (Duck curry + prawns steamed in whole coconut) + Dessert (Caramelized bananas with coconut gelato + cassava cakes) + Vietnamese coffee.
I would recommend each one of the dishes.
-Service is really quick and efficient.
- The prices are on the higher end- entrees are around $22-28.
- It is located at the Arts House, which is actually Singapore's old Parliament House. It was built in 1872. So in addition to the oh-my-god food, you can have a peek into Singapore's history and the local arts and literary scene.
-After dinner, you can take a lovely walk beside the Singapore river.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pri1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very authentic vietnamese food with a fruendly service :)”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I went there with friends and took spefici dished I like from Vietnam. All dishes were very authentic and delicious. The staff was very friendly and able to recommend the best restaurant specialities. A great place for a night in couple or with friends. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
202 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A quiet place to dine in”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This restaurant is located at the Old parliament house. It was just besides the Victoria theatre which is undergoing renovation now, so you can only see construction in progress if you sit outside to dine.

We went there to have our lunch in a group. That was around 2pm plus and it was over lunch time. The place was quiet, with a few tables occupied. The food was okay but not fantastic. Especially the noodle soup, we all felt that it was not served hot, the soup had already cooled down when arriving at our table. But what I like is their soft shell crabs, it was yummy. The paper roll with prawns was okay as personally I do not like the taste of raw bean sprout. But it was okay. The service of the waitresses was good. Patient, and quite efficient.

Price wise, it was not cheap. You can expect a bowl of noodle soup costs ard 20 over dollars. The food we ordered including deep fried soft shell crabs, mango salad, 6 bowls of noodle soup, paper rolls with prawns, paper roll with soft shell crabs and a few drinks cost us about 300 over dollars and each of us paid $46 for one share. One can order their set lunch which costs ard 30plus dollars.

But as I said, if you can sit down at a quiet and nice environment to enjoy your food with good service, isn't it worth to pay a little bit more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clanceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese food in a good location”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We decided to sit at an outside table as there was a nice breeze for a change. There was some building work going on opposite but it wasn't loud enough to put us off our food. Everything was fresh and delicious, especially the prawn spring rolls, much better in fact than we had in Vietnam! However the standout was the Pho Bho. i have to say i baulked at the SGD 21 being charged until I saw the bowl it came in which was huge and more than enough for two or more people. It was absolutely delicious, perfectly seasoned with a beautifully warm beefy flavour. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Golden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viet Lang @ the Arts House also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Viet Lang @ the Arts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing