We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good to Stay but need little improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bohemian Chic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Good to Stay but need little improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed 1 night at Heritage for the rush trip. I'm happy with cleanliness for overall and very close from Chinatown MRT.

However, this hostel needs something to be the the best hostel for me.

- No hanger for towel in the room for each bed. We need it.
- Flow of drain should be fixed asap. I need to wait for a long time for the floor dry and leave the shower room
- Few shower room per room (2 rooms per 5-6 rooms)

hope the staff hear that and fix them :)

Bank

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank charathbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    77
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
13
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hostel is well located in Chinatown a 2 minute walk to the nearest MRT station with connections to other places in the city, a 10 minute walk to the CBD, 5 minutes to Maxwell Food Centre (would definitely recommend the Hainanese chicken rice from Tian Tian, and sweet potato dumplings). It is clean, the wifi works perfectly, there are laptops upstairs with webcams, there is a good lounge area on the top floor where you can chill out if you dont want to sit downstairs.

Plus the moment I walked in the door I felt welcomed by the very friendly receptionist who greeted me. This place made my stay in Singapore that tiny bit better than it already was!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

It's a busy hostel right in Chinatown. It's nothing fancy but it provides the minimum at a satisfactory level. Bed sheets were clean, room was air conditioned, towel and locker was provided. Breakfast is included but it's just toast and I did not find it appetizing. It's generally clean. Some staff are nice. I bothered me a little because the hostel was too busy and the people were kinda noisy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hostel is very clean and tidy, I lived here one night, 35 SGD each person for female room because they said it was weekend, we couldn't find available room so I decided to live here although it somewhat expensive ( my friends said they only paid 10 USD for one night in hostel in Sing. There is wifi in room, anyway, it was better than many hostel here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vuthithuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Good location. The 10 persons dorm has many windows and is clean. Towels and sheets are given. Toilets are clean. Simple breakfast (bread and butter).
Overall , quite nice but felt that 27 Singapore Dollars is too much for a dorm bed even if it is normal according to singapore standarts.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Location of hostel was very good as it it was minutes for the subway stations. Hostel itself was comfortable and the staff were friendly. It is a bit strange that the showers and toilets are so far apart but you get used to walking through reception in your pj's! Hostel is not designed for rain which was heavy for some of our stay. We got wet going to toilet and there wasn't much room to sit as main table is outside on balcony part (which in sunshine is very pleasant). Toaster desperately needs updating as it is really slow (about 10 minutes!) and there was often a queue. Also rooms did not have shutters or curtains on the windows so we had to hang up towels to cover them.
That all being said hostel was clean and tidy and internet was quick. I would happily stay here again with a better toaster and curtains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexxy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location, awesome service and comfortable beds! I loved the place! I really like how they have a quiet period from 11pm to 7am ensuring that you can sleep comfortably. The wifi is high speed and even accessible in the toilets ;) I was served by Go and he was friendly and good to chat with. If I have any complaints, it is that the breakfast could include cereal as well and it would be nicer if we can play around with the airconditioning temperature. They say to keep it at 24 degrees which I found to be slightly hot. All in all, a great place and I highly recommend staying here!

P.S. For those who use water instead of toilet paper, they have hand bidets (shataf/muslim shower/hand showers) as well which is quite a rarity in Singapore!!

P.P.S. My first night's sleep was AMAZING. However, second night some late checkins happened and those people made a lot of noise. I guess a mechanism should be there to shut people up after 11pm if they don't follow the rules :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalalTQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#9 of 222 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 222 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Chic Capsule Otel
Chic Capsule Otel
#11 of 222 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 222 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Chic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Chic Hostel

Property: The Bohemian Chic Hostel
Address: 40 Mosque Street | Chinatown, Singapore 059518, Singapore (Formerly Pillows & Toast)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillows & Toast is a cosy hostel in the heart of Chinatown. Just a 3-minute walk away from the Chinatown MRT station, we are near the must-see places of Singapore. Coupled with friendly & helpful staff, comfortable amenities, Pillows & Toast is your choice hostel in Singapore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bohemian Chic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillows & Toast Hotel Singapore
Pillows And Toast
The Bohemian Chic Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing