We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy for a reason”

Chinatown Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #646 of 15,014 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Think Chinatown, Think seafood! Best black pepper crab/chili crab in Singapore. Chinatown Seafood Restaurant.
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This is busy restaurant there are lots of tables so you can usually get a seat. The food is really good and served quickly and it is not expensive nor is the beer (for Singapore - which is one of the most expensive cities I have ever visited). A good restaurant choice and not just frequented by tourists as there were many locals there as well.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tobywasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 504 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

An open air street corner diner with plastic tables and chairs and passing pedestrians within arm's reach.
But, an extensive (illustrated Asia-style) menu with a wide range of fresh seafood (some still swimming in tanks) beautifully cooked and very tasty. We didn't even look at desserts, and paid under $50 for a great introduction to a few days in Singapore. The fact that it was packed with locals speaks for itself.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Being in the heart of Chinatown, we decided to try this restaurant and ordered the restaurant's signature dish Chili Crab. We ordered a 1kg big crab and asked to see the live crab before cooking. The waitress showed us a nice big crab and we were happy until we saw what we got on the plate. Instead of the 1kg crab we were shown, we got a very small 600g crab with very little crab meat. We didn't bother to complain as the waitress was very rude. It's a real pity that this restaurant with such good location has to cheat its customers. Obviously they don't seem to care about returning customers.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Quamsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This place is definitely worth a visit if your looking to try the famous Singapore Chilli Crab. After researching trying to source the best experience for the chilli crab feast, this place stood out.
I wanted to go somewhere that not only provided delicious food but also had a great atmosphere. We were seated out the front of the restaurant so we could people watch as the bustling chinatown streets come alive around us.
Staff were a bit pushy and very much just wanted to get customers in the door, so if you expect that on your visit you won't be disappointed.
The food however was utterly delicious, the juicy chilli crab had just enough heat so it wasn't to spicy, especially if you can't handle your heat that well. There were pieces of crab meat all throughout the generous sauce and the crab itself was very tasty. The minimum price for the crab was approximately $55 SD which I thought was fair. Make sure to order the fried buns with the crab as this is an amazing accompaniment.
The Seafood fried rice was also very tasty.
Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank 947rebeccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We asked for a 1 Kg crab and got a crab weighting 600 g including the sauce and the take-away plastic container. The waitress was very unfriendly and tried to cheat us. She promised us several times that the crab was 1 kg. Finally we could weight it and it was 600 g. Restaurants like this should be closed.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarlosGomez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Chinatown Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.