We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought it was okay, but I understand the negative comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed for 3 nights and already read the reviews on TA so was prepared for some of the negatives. Firstly the location was excellent on a quiet street in Chinatown. It was close to the MRT and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. There is also an excellent 24 hour internet cafe across the street which was dirt cheap, $2 per hour. The bedroom was indeed tiny, but the room was well designed, I managed to store my luggage (a huge backpack, wheelie suitcase and daysack) quite easily under the bed. The bathroom had the glass doors and window as described by others in TA, however a black smoked effect was on the glass, this could be a retrofit, based on negative comments. There was a 32" tv on the end of the bed, however the channels were a bit limited I think there was 8 in total a mixture of english and oriental language. Overall this was good value for money, I paid US$110 per night which was pretty good compared to other hotels. However if you want more room you will have to bite the bullet and pay more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

Looks so nice from the outside. Thats it. Inside is a dungeon thats dimly lit and not many rooms even have a window. The room is the size of a jail cell. There is NO space for your luggage and the toilet is see through. I seriously do not recommend this place. We left immediately and the THIEVING staff still charged my credit card for full stay. I have reported them for fraud. So stay away from this crap or you will be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank red433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel rates was relatively cheap compared with others of same ratings, good location within walking distance to Chinatown MRT; beautifully renovated antique building in white painting; free local telephone calls and good wifi connection; Sharp LCD TV and hotel guests are mainly young and chic foreign travelors...

However, the room size is surprisingly small, navy blue wall and black tiles toilet make it look even smaller; also glass-walled bathroom is just next to the bed; there was noise from old Chinese music and cars late at night so better wear ear plugs before bed..

In summary, I don't mind coming again if I sleep with my earplugs, cause the hotel rates is quite attractive...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The ingenious design of this space delighted us. The room we had on the first floor had a LOT of windows. The entry hall of out T shaped room had window either side, to the street and to an internal air well, the bed alcove formed one half of the T, and had a high window on each side, and the bathroom also had a window to the air well. The bed was comfortable, bathroom a good size with a great shower, air con worked well, and there was plenty of storage. noise was not a problem.
A feature which might bother some was that we had to climb into the bed over the end, as it was wall- to- wall. And my pet hotel frustration - a doona with no top sheet! In Singapore, I ask you!
Reception staff were helpful, and luggage storage was provided after we checked out.
Access from the airport via metro to Chinatown worked well - the ,metro does stop running before midnight. There are of course plenty of cheap good late night eating options.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuefromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Rooms are very small because the building is a conservation shophouse. Select rooms with window as there are those without window. If you have the rooms facing the front of the building, it might get a little noisy at night when the road cleaners come. Stay on 3rd floor and above only. Check room size before booking as there are variations. Hotel is clean and there is free bottled water ,toiletries and wi-fi. Right next to Chinatown MRT with convenient 24 hour local food stalls everywhere and a Coffeebean & Tealeaf and McDonalds 5 min away. Recommended for short stays because of room size. Get a slice of local life in the midst of Chinatown.

Room Tip: Book the 3rd floor and upwards for best stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minivan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

For me good location right on the border of China town. I ignoredthe other reviews thinking I could handle the small room. The room size isn't the bigest problem if you claustrophobic, not having a window, I found out how important that can be in a small room. First off you have know ideal what the weather is like till you get outside. Second you have know idea what time of the day it is if you don't have a watch on, the room is pitch dark without the lights on day or night. Really no place to put your clothes, but to leave them in your bags under the small space under the bed. Bathroom also very dark even with all the lights on, part of these was due to the black tile walls. The room was however clean with a comfortable bed that was basically the size of the room. The staff was kind and friendly. I would probly try some else if I went back to Singapore.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meeko-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

In order to make a reservation at this pricey hotel, one has to pre-pay through a website. Upon checking in, I was issued an 8 sq m room -- yes, you read correctly -- eight square meters. This room had NO WINDOWS, very poor ventilation -- and this was for US$120+ per night! The 3-4 sq m queen size bed occupied half the room, while the other half was occupied by the bathroom, ill-designed with the shower head directly above the toilet bowl soaking the toilet paper holder upon showering. There was no closet or luggage rack -- only two lonely hangars hanging on a wall hook -- and a tiny bedside table covered with glasses, tea kettle, etc. Having paid in advance, I was forced to endure six sleepless nights due to substandard wall and door construction, which allowed noise from the corridor to be easily heard throughout the night.

While the hotel boasts a no-smoking policy, my cramped room was constantly filled with cigarette smoke smell from the nearby hotel outdoor terrace which does allow smoking -- the smoke somehow gets sucked into the hotel. While smoke detectors and two exit stairs are provided at each floor, I cannot imagine how this hotel procured an operating license without an automatic sprinkler system and broom-closet sized guestrooms with no windows (from the fire evacuation plaque, windowless guestrooms comprise around 20% of the total rooms).

A backpacker inn a few doors down offered private rooms for around US$50. / night, which I am sure would have delivered a better experience. The only redeeming quality of this hotel is possibly the location (and even that's debatable), color-coordinated interior finishes, and the presence of a "Spa" (i.e. foot massage parlor; similarly overpriced) at the ground floor. This hotel felt like a smoky KTV lounge with very poor lighting in which beds had been installed. The space beneath the bed (the ONLY place for storing luggage) had various mismatched socks from previous guests lurking in the dark corners. Not surprisingly, housekeeping services stop at 17:00.

This has got to be one of the poorest values for money I've ever run across in Asia ... PLEASE don't waste your money and don't be fooled by the slick website. This hotel should be priced commensurate for what it is: a backpacker hostel.

Room Tip: Give this hotel a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bumbling_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 82 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: £60 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing