We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but rooms are too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Singapore B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location but rooms are too small”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This boutique hotel is located in the hearth of Chinatown, one of the most attractive areas of Singapore. Rooms are clean and sort of stylish, but definitely too small: we booked a deluxe room and still there was no space to move, the bathroom is really small too and without a single window. Generally, the whole hotel is quite dark and absolutely not recommended for claustrophobic people!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    289
    294
    104
    67
See reviews for
75
290
151
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iluka, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Well, if you are expecting 200 square metres of space....its more like 2. That said, it is more than enough. I stayed in a single room and it was excellent. It's not the type of hotel that you would want to spend all your day in, but why would you? If you came to see Singapore and want a central base with a good bed, shower and secure storage then this is it. If you want a resort hotel: stay home and save your air fair.
Good things: CENTRAL- 2 min walk to MRT ( the best underground railway system, which goes everywhere, all the time and is really cheap{about $3.00 SGD single fair to anywhere}, close to the middle of Chinatown with shops and food and stalls and lots of stuff, but not too close, so that at night, even though I had a front windowed room, it wasn't too noisy and you could sleep; MODERN- my room looked like it had been recently done up, and had newish fittings: small fridge for water etc, tea making, jug etc. really good shower, but the hot water only lasts so long. A/C is really good.Interior style is black, very black, but nice black; SECURE- room has a small safe which works on a PIN you make up or card swipe ( I wasn't keen on that idea), all rooms work on a smart card, so if you remember which room your in and lose your card, no one can work out which room the card will open. SERVICE- friendly and in good english, rooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels, linen, bottle of water etc. room was clean. Had shampoo etc and travellers pack of toothbrush etc, just in case you forgot.

Bad things: VALUE- about $100 AUD per night - but this seems to be the norm for Singapore- all accommodation is exy. SIZE- small, but if you want to stay in a hotel room, go to a resort.

Room Tip: Frontage rooms with windows will have some street noise, but Mosque st is one of the quieter streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bull W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

the hotel is located in chinatown as you can always get to eat there. Many food stalls and restaurant there. Subway is only 1-2 mins walk away. only a station away from clarkequay or you walk there. the room is clean plus free wifi. reasonable price. just a bit too small.

Room Tip: Have Chilli Crabs at JUMBO restaurant (first floor) at Clarkequay Subway Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank miwwmiwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

First of all, if you are staying in a standard room with someone-make sure you like the person. You will be like two peas in a pod in these tiny rooms. The only place to be in the room is the bed, so just make sure you can tolerate being right next to the other person if you choose to stay here!

I thoroughly enjoyed my cozy little room, and the location, free wi-fi, and service more than made up for the lack of a sitting area. We stayed in room 105, right on the ground level, and had no problem with noise from other guests. Your room will get a tad messy, but there is a shelf divider between the sink and bed that you can store clothes and other items on. A small closet is available by the sink, and I'm not sure why-- but there are teacups and tea available, but no hot water pot? Still trying to figure that one out.

The bathroom has a sprayer attachment or an overhead rain shower, but the bathroom will get soaked either way. The Porcelain isn't for everyone, but for two people that are ok sharing space it's ideal. We searched extensively for a non-dorm option close to the MRT and this was the most affordable option. If I return to Singapore I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a corner away from other rooms-- we were in 105 and had almost no noise that other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I was a little anxious about staying at this hotel, after having read a couple of recent reviews. Thankfully, my experience was different from the others.
We arrived at 5:00 a.m., after a four our flight delay, and upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and efficiently checked in. Up to our rooms we went, and yes, the rooms are small. We had four rooms total, and some of our group were in smaller rooms, some in medium rooms and one even landed a suite, though we all paid the same (though some booked directly with the hotel, others with an online agent). Yes, the rooms are small, but this is a boutique hotel.

We were in a medium room, which means that it’s about 8 feet wide, but 18 feet deep. The small rooms were 8 feet wide, by about 12 feet wide. The suite was about 12 feet wide, but had a Jacuzzi tub and separate seating area so… Our room had a separate shower area, in the bathroom. The beds (two twins) were on a raised platform, with a small desk/counter space. Arriving late and getting up early, didn’t spend much time in the room the first night. However, it was quiet, didn’t hear any noise from the hall or the street.

Returned the next evening, to find that our room had not been made up. A little disappointed by this, as we had left before 9:00 a.m When I mentioned it to the Front Desk they apologized, but didn’t really explain why (something about because we checked in so late). However, some of our groups rooms were made up so… not sure what happened. Second night, exhausted, we all crashed, and again, had a very peaceful night. Did not hear anything.

All told, the facilities are nice and clean. Staff is helpful and the location (in the heart of Chinatown) was amazing. Steps from the Chinatown MRT station with numerous local (i.e. cheap) food options around. And the Chinatown Market/Night market a block and a half away. Great value, great location, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade to a 'medium' room. The extra space makes the rooms feel that much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Rooms are SMALL but effecient. Calling it boutique is probably a bridge too far, but nice and clean in a lively neighboorhood (Chinatown).

No restaurants in the hotel, but plenty in the neighboorhood.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rroms are without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed in many hotels and this one would have to be the most noisy ever for internal noise. Showers running, toilets flushing, doors banging. They have blocked out any noise from the street but seem to have forgotten to do the same with the paper thin walls.

and yes the rooms are small but that is well known and not a problem really - unless your tall. Im 175cm and my feet were at the edge of the bed!

There are some good points:

Good location
Relatively clean and fresh
Cheap compared to other Singapore hotels
Internet connection is free and fast

But overall would I say here again - Not if I wanted to sleep.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floors is probably best as the noise seems to travel down. Dont' get "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Naumi Liora
#98 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing