We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky place in Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 78 Singapore B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A quirky place in Chinatown”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Land being the premium it is in Singapore, most hotel rooms are small, and this was no exception!
But if you just want somewhere to stay for a few days whilst you explore, then this is a great place. The rooms are small, but they're clean and even have tea and coffee making facilities. It doesn't provide breakfast, but is situated in an area with very many places to eat. Our beds were on a raised platform, about 18 inches high, so as long as you're mobile enough to get up and down from that, then this is a great place to stay (and maybe other rooms don't have raised sleeping areas).we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    295
    299
    105
    68
See reviews for
76
297
155
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I book this hotel one night before arrival via my iphone. I didnt really expect anything cos my budget is small. Lacation is first thing i make dicision.
But when i check in i found it quite immpressive especially room was very functional. Minimalize but fuctional. Good design amd just perfect for budget traveller if you want to go sentosa or universal studio.
It is in china town and easy to find food even early morning. Close to under ground train and night life at clearkey.
Very reccommend for foot massage in hotel. They took all my pain after walking all day away. Thank you soooo much!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sraphong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Ok so I read the reviews on here and quite frankly I honestly don't know how anyone can say good thongs about it apart from the location and only then if you want to be in China town.

So I checked in on a Monday havin.g booked a deluxe queen room. When I walked into the the hotel reception my initial thoughts were 'why is it so dark in here'. I checked in and was handed my room key. I had to ask which way to go. Although not unfriendly the hotel staff were certainly not helpful until asked specific questions. I took the lift up to the second floor and thought 'Why is it so dark in here'.....the corridors were dark and dank.......I was then dreading what the room was going to be like. Upon entering the room my fears came true. They had given me a room for an Umpalumpah. There is literally nowhere to put anything and the small wardrobe is waist high. The bed was clean and reasonably comfortable. The shower is over the toilet so if you are a super efficient person then you will love it as you can take a sh1t and shower at the same time.

Next morning I asked could I have a bigger room. I was shown an 'Executive' room ( their term not mine) they said I could upgrade to this by paying the difference....I laughed...and told them I would check out. They gave me the upgrade (not sure which part was the upgrade, as only the bathroom was bigger) for free. This room was no better. No wardrobe, no drawers, just a bed hemmed in on 3 sides.

The place is quite frankly no better than a cheap hostel, but charging mid-range hotel prices. I paid £82 per night plus taxes.

Overall opinion is its a dump. Stay away.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it very good, location was excellent with the mrt station beside the hotel which was great to get around, alternative eating options are available just outside the hotel, the rooms are small but very comfortable. The staff is kind and nice with very professional behaviour. I would realy recommend for everybody who wants to taste the real flavour of Chinatown. The only disadvantege is absence of restaurant. But around the hotel there are many small chinese foodshops where it is possible to buy meals.

Room Tip: Superior rooms may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is very new, room is small but clean.The location is AWESOME, just next to Chinatown MRT station, plenty of bus to go anywhere, Its very convenient to go arround Singapore, Sentosa just a view stop, orchard,clarke quay,Bugis,Suntec easily reached. Food stall all arround the hotel from morning till night.Alot of nice food arround there, you can go to Smith street hawker center at 2nd floor, behind the CK department store, there got alot local famous food and its very cheap. Also you can visit a very good dessert next to Mc Donald. or you can go to OG, arround there also got a nice hawker center and very cheap.If you dont mind to walk, you can walk to Clarke quay at a night time :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

My room was really nice. I booked a single room but got a double bed for the same price, cause the single ones were full. It was clean and modern and the bathroom was beautiful! the rooms might be a bit small if you are more than one person and the bathroom is all made of glas walls, but for a single traveler it is great. You get free wifi and safetybox in the room. The price is quite high, but I did struggle with finding anything cheaper and still good quality. I would stay here again if I ever go to Singapore again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesswalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Clean hotel, without kitchen so don't expect breakfast. There are no windows, you have to sleep whit air con, a bit claustrophobic. The EXECUTIVE room we booked had just enough space to walk around the bed.
The bathroom was clean and the shower big. Make sure you're in confidence with your roommate since the bathroom can be seen and heard from the room: only a sliding satin glass door is not enough to give you some privacy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#56 of 312 in Singapore
332 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 312 in Singapore
660 reviews
Hotel Boss
#143 of 312 in Singapore
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 312 in Singapore
6,375 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
831 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing