We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 80 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Looking to stay in Chinatown? This is a good place.

Central to eating, shopping, nightlife, public transportation.

The room was clean and adequate, but super super small. And we didn't even get the smallest room. Wifi worked fine. There is a in-room safe, fridge with free water bottles, and typical amenities.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for The Porcelain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

The Porcelain Hotel Singapore is gorgeous on the outside entrance & reception area also nice however rooms are disgustingly small. The Hotel is very over priced for what you get rooms are 9-12 sq m due to its expensive location would not ever book a Hotel again without checking room sizes prices are over the top for what your getting & nowhere to have a meal or drink??? On the upside the location is terrific walking distance to everything

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rex053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Initially booked the Superior Twin room. Yes, the rooms are small, as stated on their website, so no shock horror. However upon arriving, the room was not clean and was occupied by insects coming through the wood work. The rooms are very darkly lit but modern and to their credit the use of space is very well designed.

After a lot of complaining and refusing to stay, we were eventually moved into the Premier room. A lot more spacious, compared to the standard twin. But it was quite obvious cleanliness is not the hotel's top priority.

It is rather a shame as the hotel is situated in the heart of China town and the Metro is very close , so the location is great. Therefore, if you are not so worried about space and cleanliness, then this is the place for you. If you are, then do spend the extra money and stay a little further out of town.

Staff were helpful and quick to resolve issues.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLuu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is situated in the hart of China Town. At arrival we were issued à room without à window which made you feel totaly locked up and claustrofobic,so we requested à room at the steet side with à window.
The staff were quite wiiling to honour our request.This room too,allthough clean and the bed being comfortable,was very narrow, not luxurieus at all. No chairs to sit on to relax in your room except to sit on the bed .
The bathroom and shower was goed and comforting after à humid day in the city.
A two night stay here is OK but I guess that this hotel is more for younger travellers.

Room Tip: Of you have a longer stay in this hotel, request à room with à window.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Very small single room but it did the trick.

My room was without any windows and pitch black-great to sleep in with jet lag but difficult to adjust and prep to go out and face the day...

Also despite the 150additional deposit if smoke in room,it didn't deter previous occupant-a real struggle to sleep/live in when couldn't clear the smoke smell out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bobmcbobesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We were actually shocked by the size of the room while entering and then confused as to how and where to keep our things. Really really small room, rather I should say it felt as a 'box' rather than a room. The color code was a depressing combination of black and blue. However, the bed was large and comfortable, staff were nice and the hotel was strategically located....very near to the ChinaTown MRT and host of other shops and eateries..all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bima_Choudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I spent few nights in this hotel,it's not a very convenient hotel if you like spending time in your hotel room. Rooms are stringent.
The hotel ambiance and decor is interesting but choosing dark colour for the smallest room in the hotel makes you feel more claustrophobic!
Rooms are extremely small.
And if you are a traveller with lots of luggages, DO NOT UPGRADE your room unless you take the Premier one which I assume,have bigger space. I stayed in a Deluxe room(the cheapest) when I first arrived, and I had at least few space to put some my suitcases below the bed and/or below the table. I decided to upgrade to Deluxe to get more space but also for the comfort of the white colour ambiance of the room. What was my disappointment when I realised that I do not even have space below my bed and not even a study table.
Corridors are labyrinths!you could get lost easily!
Overall, the staff are quite nice but they need more staff I think. Having a porter is very important and which they do not have.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade from Superior to Deluxe. Space is even smaller in the Deluxe, you will just waste mon...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#90 of 316 in Singapore
677 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,562 reviews
Hotel Boss
#148 of 316 in Singapore
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#50 of 316 in Singapore
417 reviews
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
886 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 316 in Singapore
6,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing