We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Classic
Ranked #218 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tiny room”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights and very surprised with the size of the room. It's tiny. Generally I know hotel rooms in Singapore can be small but the superior room I got from this hotel totally redefines small. The first night I shared the room with a friend of mine, so basically there's wasn't much room to move around with our luggage on the floor. The room is perfect for a one person stay but for 2, it can get squeezy, however the bed fits 2 persons perfectly fine, just the space of the room is small. The bathroom is tiny too. As much as the room's size shocked me, but cleanliness wise is fine. You can forget about watching tv because the reception is poor. Luckily this room has windows (but you can't open it). For those who takes Odyssey bus from KL would find this hotel very convenient because the station is just next door. However, in general there's nothing much on Balestier road. The MRT is far (novena station), you need to take bus number 21 or 131 from opposite direction to get yourself to Novena station otherwise you have to spend about 20 minutes to walk there. Wi fi is not free, I was charged 10SGD for 24 hours usage on one device only. The chicken rice right opposite the hotel is very delicious, worth lining up for. You can go to Shaw plaza, which is about 5-10 minutes walk, nothing much there, but you can get KFC, McDonald and the movies. Not far from the plaza there's a place call American diners, I didn't try it though. The hotel receptionist (Krena) is a very sweet and polite lady. Very helpful too. But the one that works night shift, is not as pleasant as Krena. Overall, I am happy with the cleanliness and Krena's politeness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We booked Fragrance Rose which is nearer to MRT but they moved us to this Classic claimed that some of their rooms undergoing renovation. Classic about 2-3 bus stops away. The room is about the same size but its without windows. during our previous stayed in Rose, we were quite satisfy with it. But this Classic, at the time we opened the rooms door, stuffy smells and room without window.
With the budget price, we feel that is the draw back we had to take. We were wrong.
We can hear everything outside the room. People walking around, the lobby staffs chit chatting and talking on the phone, the night time music playing through out the whole night. We cant really rest. what even worse? the power trip. First night, it took them more than an hour to recover the electricity and second night, two times (around 12am and 6am) and this round had some improvement, they only took about 40mins to recover the electricity.
This is the worse hotel stayed experience we ever had. We checked out the hotel with black eyes due to not enough of sleep and the staffs dont even bother to apologize.

The only good point is the housekeeping lady did her job well. The room is tidy and clean.

Room Tip: water heater will start to lower down the temperature, so make sure you took the shower fast enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Classic, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
I am truly sorry about the experience you had during your stay at the hotel.

I enclosed the below mentioned email correspondence, in response to your feedback, which was also sent directly to the hotel.

'My Duty Manager had already reminded all staff to be mindful of the music and chattering to avoid disturbance to our guests. Regarding the power trip, it was an unexpected occurrence that involved the earth circuit relay and we are in the midst of engaging our electrical contractors to rectify and service the fault. To make up for the inconvenience caused to you, I am offering a 50% refund of your stay. I shall be contacting the online booking agent to get in touch with you soon. Please have my assurance that this is an isolated incident and I hoped you will continue your patronage at Fragrance Hotel.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

For around $45-55 per night I bet you could not ask for more. I was amazed by the tidiness and also the friendliness of the staff here. Of course rooms are not large, but it's okay for the price. However my room, though it has windows, but I really don't enjoyed them much cause the loudness of the traffic on the streets, made me pretty hard to get to sleep.
The hotel has a convenient store downstairs (7Eleven) and is also close to Novena MRT (10-15 minutes of walking) so that's the way you could quickly get to the Central of Singapore and discover more of it.
If you want to save money on accommodation and spend more on shopping or attractions or food, then this hotel is not a bad choice for low-budget visitors at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoangunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We too had originally booked Fragrance Oasis and were moved here when we arrived.

The front desk staff were very pleasant, particularly Marie, able to assist with any queries that we had.

The rooms are small but I understand this is common in Singapore. They were cleaned daily, had good air conditioning, bed sheets and our room also had a window.

The bathroom too was very small but again- nice and clean.

The location of the hotel is a 15 minute walk to Novena which is on a handy line which links directly with city hall, orchard and marina bay. Very safe feeling neighbourhood. 7-11 next door and restaurants dotted around nearby.

Accomodation is pricey in Singapore, compared with the price of other hotels we thought the room was more than acceptable for the price paid.

Hotels are

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

First of all, it's one of the cheaper hotels (where quality and cleanliness are not affected) in Singapore. If you book via the fragrance website, it is cheaper than competing booking agencies, and includes free wifi. We would not have known this without the reception at their sister hotel (which was full) telling us. The staff were quick to help with all our transportation and tourists questions. One of the ladies went out of her way by breaking a bill of mine into small change from her own purse so that I had coins for the bus! Wow! It's about a 25min walk to the MRT, or you can catch the bus in front of the hotel. There are restaurants and a small mall within walking distance. The rooms are super tiny (it's singapore), but really clean. Request a room with a window so you don't feel as cramped. Overall we were pleased that we returned for a second night.

Room Tip: Room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Classic, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel!

For the traveller's information, I wished to explain the complimentary Wi-Fi is a promotional offer for guests who book their stay in the hotel website, and is only valid during the month of Apr only.

I welcome you to return to stay with us again during your next visit to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I booked Fragrance Oasis about half year ago, but when we went there last week, suddenly they said that the hotel was under renovation and we were transferred to this hotel, which was located accross the street from Fragrance Oasis. Actually we were fine about the fact that we had to move to another hotel, but at least they should informed us first before we we went there. And there was no refund was made for the rate difference, because they said the rate was the same (which I believed it wasn't). But anyway, because it was high season, and most of the hotels in Singapore were fully booked and if there's any available, the price has already went up, so we took this hotel eventually. The recepsionist was fine, though. She gave us direction pretty clear about how to get to the hotel from the closest MRT station (which was in Novena). The hotel was pretty far from the MRT station so you should take bus no. 21 or 131, ride it for about 5-10 minutes and drop off right in front of the hotel.

How about the room? No need to explain, as most of the cheap hotels in Singapore looks like, the room was very small. It's even smaller then Fragrance Elegance @ Little India, the hotel where we stayed last time we went to Singapore. We can hardly walk around in the room. The bathroom was even smaller (of course). We had to put the towel outside the bathroom every time we took a shower, or they would get wet. The bed was hard, it's like there's no sponge in it, just springs only. The pillows were too thin. The TV only had about 10 channels and there was no movie channels that I like, such as HBO, Fox Movies, Star World etc. If you want to watch movies, don't forget to bring your own DVDs, though. Others than these things I mentioned above (such as hairdryer, AC, hot water, sink, elevator) worked just fine. The only good thing about this hotel is that they had 7 Eleven right next door, so you don't need to worry if you're out of mineral water. And the bus stop was located right in front of the hotel. Across the street there were some chinese restaurants where you can get breakfast or dinner. Pretty tasty too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel have a very small room so it's not recommended for family who bring their children to stay in one room. We also have to take a bus before reaching MRT station in Toa Payoh . The another weird thing is I didn't get any invoice or settlement when I was check out. They said all is settle so no need invoice.

But the price is reasonable compared to what we get during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niarparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.3 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#177 of 306 in Singapore
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#172 of 306 in Singapore
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Value Hotel Nice
Value Hotel Nice
#188 of 306 in Singapore
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Kovan
Fragrance Hotel - Kovan
#282 of 306 in Singapore
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#163 of 306 in Singapore
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Value Hotel Balestier
Value Hotel Balestier
#171 of 306 in Singapore
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Classic

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Classic
Address: 418 Balestier Road, Singapore 329808, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Classic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Classic Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing