We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service & poor room condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Classic
Ranked #210 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service & poor room condition”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just show nice photo at website ..not satisfy the actual room condition..no towel, no showel gel & blanket ( oh...I never seen before such a bad blanket )...so regret to stay at this hotel... Old model tv & condition! Must patient to stay even one night!! I'm not satisfy at all...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
17
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pathankot, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 day, the first day we reached Singapore. We originally booked Hotel Fragrance - Oasis, but were asked to shift to this hotel as we reached the hotel before the check-in time (which is unusually late: 3PM) and they did not have rooms in Oasis. I think, this is their way of up-selling their not so famous cousin (Fragrance hotel Classic). On reaching Classic, we were told that they had only one room left and it is the biggest room that they have. However, the real shock came when we entered the room, it was so small that it had only space for opening the door. You cannot stand or move if you have luggage. The facilities are minimal. The air conditioner was almost taking its last breaths. Minimum toiletries. The cabs are also hard to get in the area.
BTW, for early check-in, you need to pay half the room rent.

All in all, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Woodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for short time (2hours) alone on a rainy night in Balestier district as the public transport network has ceased operation. The room was comparable to its rival Hotel 81, incidentally the aircon was also like my previous stay at H81 without a lid at the air emission component, making it an aesthetic oddity but still in operation, which was not the case of when I was staying at its rival across "Stanley Park". Fragrance has mineral water of its own brand in the room which add a decent touch compared to a cheapo bottled air minuman offered by the other. Not to mention Dilmah tea. Basically comparing banana to banana, the Derby match is evenly matched. Which is good as I do not want H81 and Fragrance engaging in a race to outdo each other for short stay accomodation and pushing the price up.

Sir Richard Branson said the front desk executive is a hard act to duplicate through automation. He is dead right!

Ms Krena was patient and helpful, lending me a phone charger and a umbrella belonging to herself. For a city nomad, looking for a rest between the inner city sojourn I seldom meet nice customer service people. Hopefully the MOM is reading this, ASEAN integration starts with upping the quota for Filipino staff!

With relatives coming over to Singapore for Chinese New Year, I am considering this hotel. It is value for money and does not have the other less wholesome ingredients in the Balestier area.

The balance of power between the 2 top dogs on the island looks to be shifting to the team in Yellow-Green. Fragrance gets customer service, Hotel 81 does not.

Room Tip: get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petanipattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very polite staffs and good services
We love the location because it's nearby two famous restaurants "文東記海南雞飯" and "發起人肉骨茶" ...! Besides, going by taxi to Orchard road, Clarke Quay, Marina Bay ..etc. is not so far.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed in Fragrance classic hotel for 3 nights and it was
a wonderful experience.
The hotel lobby smells nice , staff are outstanding with a high level of customer service which made me pretty satisfied especially Fai Marwan at the reception he was quite professional explaning to me singapore city map , all the addresses, bus stops , train stations and all tourist attractions.
I personally appreciate Fragrance classic hotels' service and wish them all the best in future.

Thanks
Khaled Rafiqi ( Sydney Australia)



  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhaledRafiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

i love staying in this hotel aside for a nice and clean room and place. I also enjoy my stay here bcoz of the receptionist is very accommodating specially FD marie and Jessica....Tnx to both of them for helping me so much while staying in the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My mom and sister would like to thank the hotel staff for taking them in over the weekend, as there were no hotel accommodation available throughout due to the F1 weekend. Even though there was no windows or slightly uncomfortable at first they still feel happy and sends their regards to the hotel and their staff but especially Kris at the Fragrance Hotel CLASSIC ...

Thank you for taking care of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhibhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.3 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#176 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#183 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Value Hotel Nice
Value Hotel Nice
#188 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Kovan
Fragrance Hotel - Kovan
#279 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#163 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Value Hotel Balestier
Value Hotel Balestier
#168 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Classic

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Classic
Address: 418 Balestier Road, Singapore 329808, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Classic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Classic Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing