We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”

Hotel 81 - Lavender
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 81 - Lavender
Ranked #46 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The bathroom is super tiny so everything pretty much get wet whenever i had shower. The room is so small i almost did not have space to put my luggages. And i cannot turn off my air con from the room. Thats weird and frustrating so i called the front office and they turned it off for me. Also, it is pretty far from the MRT station. Disspaointing for such a price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We've stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights with my girlfriend and her mom.. The room is very clean. We have 1 queen size bed and additional mattress, Cable TV, hair blower, electric kettle and air-conditioned room.There's a complimentary coffee for the 3 of us. We payed PHP 20,000.00 for our whole stay (without complimentary breakfast) too pricey ..

The location is a bit far from the nearest MRT station, you have to walk 10-15 minutes just to reached the MRT. Lavender food court is just across the street as well as the bus stops. You can visit and see lots of shopping center (malls), just walked 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Before booking, we saw many reviews saying this hotel was a 'by the hour' type of place. We did not encounter these types of people during our three day stay. If we did, they were discreet.

We booked via Hotel Club and got a cheaper rate than booking directly with the Hotel. Check in is at 2pm - we arrived at 12pm and the Manager kindly checked us in.

While we appreciated this, the room looked like it hadn't been occupied for a while. there was hair on the floor and dust everywhere. We had to wipe the place down.

Also the sheets and towels looked very threadbare. For some reason, the sheets had little rips in them in multiple places. The mattress is wrapped in leather which is great in terms of cleanliness but awkward to sleep on because the sheets tend to slide all over.

We booked a Superior Double Room. The difference between a Standard and a Superior is a window. I'm glad we forked out a little bit extra because a window makes a lot of difference! Our room 0406 overlooked the Lavender Food Court which was packed pretty much all the time. The hotel lights shone up into our room but there were heavy curtains to draw for those who need absolute darkness to sleep.

Complimentary toiletries are provided including a toothbrush, comb and shower cap. Also a bottle of water, and tea and coffee facilities.

In terms of space, it was quite tight. There is a long window bench where we put both our suitcases, leaving the limited walkway clear. We're athletic so it was ok. People with wider berths may not find the room so comfortable.

There's a small desk which is great for laptops. We had free wireless during our stay.

The bathroom took some getting used to. There is no shower or shower cubicle; the shower head is mounted right next to the toilet. It is inevitable that the toilet will get wet when you have a shower. Toilet paper comes in a commerical-case in a huge roll; the type you see in public toilets so it will not get wet. A dispenser mounted on the wall is marked 'shampoo and shower gel'.

There's not much hanging space; only two hooks outside the bathroom door.

The location isn't too bad - there are many food places downstairs including the Rendezvous Food Court. The Thai shop makes a lovely mango salad.

There are also two convenience shops downstairs.

It's a 10minute walk to City Centre Mall where the train station is located. Also close to Mustafa Centre and Syd Alwi Rd which is the pick up point for the sightseeing bus tours.

25minute walk to Bugis.

On our second day there was an issue with payment. The hotel had only received payment for two nights whereas we had paid Hotel Club for 3 nights. This was quickly solved when we provided our Hotel Club booking print-out to the staff.

The hotel will not call a cab for you so take down a cab company's number to keep on hand for when you depart.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edamames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

For me, its like a budget hotel because the rates are not so pricey. Their rooms are clean at reasonable price but a small. We also dont really comfortable with a bit transparent bathroom door that just in front of dressing mirror. We have to covered the door with blanket. There also only a small window inside the room. The place not near to MRT station as mentioned. We walked about 30-40minutes to MRT station or take bus just 10 minutes from hotel. And at night, you absolutely can see night life along the road in front of the hotel. As we know here is red-spot area. So, make sure you return before night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unnie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived at this hotel at 1:00AM in the morning via taxi after discovering our pre-booked hotel room elswhere was under renovation. The foyer was nice however the hookers standing near the front doors should have given it away as a 2hour booking hotel for hookers and their clients.
Unfortunately we were too tired to notice what was going on even after seeing couples coming and going until after 2:00AM.

The rooms were foul and after requesting alternative rooms discovered the alternatives were even worse. Everything about these rooms were discusting!

Holes in the sheets, mould everywhere, smeared staines on the curtains, stinking of smoke, the list just goes on.

Worse still, having arrived back in Australia, i now have Bed Bugs!!!

I am completely and utterly disgusted with this place that is effectively a brothel.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travlinman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#202 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Lavender
#265 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#234 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#142 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#191 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Lavender

Property: Hotel 81 - Lavender
Address: 85 Lavender Street, Singapore 338716, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Lavender 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 81 - Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing