We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not allowed to serve water" ??”
Review of Divine - CLOSED

Divine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An elegant selection of modern European dishes featuring the freshest possible ingredients and thoughtful presentation. All day dining in style – from a light breakfast, fulfilling lunch and an indulgent dinner to late night grazing. For drinks, the journey starts with our inspirations from the Arts Décoratifs — a locally roasted espresso to a tulip of fine Champagne, to grand cocktails inspired by hallmarks of the Art Deco era. At ATLAS, we are delighted to propose beverages and dishes suited perfectly for each occasion.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Not allowed to serve water" ??”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have been to this place 3-4 times. The main attraction is the building architecture -- Art Deco styled and really stunning. The bar itself in the lobby is okay. Good to bring clients. The wine selection is good. Food we have tried is edible but not recommended.

On our most recent visit we had a bizarre run in where we ordered a 250$ bottle of wine and ice water (a perfectly normal request in Sing since you CAN drink the water). The server told us we "had" to order a bottle of water bc "they aren't allowed" to serve regular water. We pushed back politely but firmly and she
Continued to repeat they aren't allowed to
give water, you must order the $12 bottles of water. It was the most bizarre encounter I have had. In the end, we got our ice water. If you encounter this,
please push for ice water, as their "policy" was non-sensical and it's perfectly acceptable to drink Singapore's tap water.

Helpful?
4 Thank bellabruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    3
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Footscray, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gotham City in Singapore”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Not cheap but this bar is worth a visit for the Art Deco interior. You could definitively imagine Batman dropping from one of the galleries

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank texWerribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambience, selection and surroundings”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is truly my favourite interior in any bar I have ever been to, the decor is fantastic, opulent and truly fantastic art deco style, having read the below review stating this was built in 2001 I was surprised too.

The wine menu is extensive, they offer bottles from all good wine regions of the world, however, don't expect to find a bottle under $100, it is obviously for the connoisseur rather than the average joe. The cocktails are good, well presented and tasty and on a par in price with the bars in the city's top hotels such as The Fullerton and Raffles.

We arrived to live Jazz music, something that I have come to expect in bars of this standard, and to my delight the music was of good quality too.

The seating options are extensive (yes it does sounds strange), let me explain, every table is scattered with an assortment of chairs, that are well matched, but offer different heights, comforts and feels, it's very well constructed though, the furniture is classy but varied in style, very unique.

The staff are friendly and well attired. As mentioned there is a "wine fairy" that scales the 12m high wine fridges to collect the wine for you, another totally unique featuer of the bar.

All I can say is, if you fancy a unique drink in a unique bar then this IS the place to come, there is nothing like this I have ever seen before and I can imagine it's fairly unique worldwide! But don't expect to go home with your wallet totally in tact, it's not cheap!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard_In_Singap0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Art deco-fabulous”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The only thing more stunning than the interiors of Divine is to find out that it was built in 2001!
Parkview Square is a wonderful tribute to Art Deco and the mid-war style, the hunting Greco-Deco friezes on the roof of Divine, the golden viewing balconies and acres and acres of mirrored wall.

Gimicky but no less impressive is the Divine Wine Angel who is hoisted 30m up the wine wall to retreive your bottle of choice. The higher she flies, the more you pay!

What Divine oozes in uniqueness, it lacks in self publicity. Divine has no website and sems to survive on word of mouth alone. I have been several times but it has never had any more than a handful of guests - perhaps this is why the wine selection is a little more expensive than elsewhere in town.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gotham City in Singapore”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This bar shows the Asian love of the weird and bizarre. It is like being in Gotham City and you expect Batman to appear at any moment. If you order wine you are served by the 'wine fairy' (search on YouTube for the wine fairy) who takes the order, hooks herself up to a winch and zooms up a wall (at least 15m high) to a vast array of wine and picks up your bottle. Then after zooming about for a bit she returns with the wine. Did I mention she is dressed as a fairy with wings? This place is really worth a visit. WARNING it is expensive even by Singapore standards.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregskerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Divine also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing