We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people really make the place”
Review of @ Little Red Dot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
@ Little Red Dot
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great people really make the place”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed in a 'capsule' for just a 1 night stop-over. It's a great idea because you save money by staying in backpacker style accommodation but you still get your own privacy. The bed and room was very clean and the shower block reasonably so too. It was a nice surprise in the morning to find that breakfast was included in the room price as I didn't realize - breakfast was very simple but nice. The dorm room was airconditioned and set at a perfect temperature for sleeping and to escape the extreme humidity outside. The map with directions given to me by the staff was perfectly easy to use to help me get from the train station to the accommodation. It is the private 'capsule' sleeping quarters and the great people I met here that set this backpackers apart from the others for me. I usually don't enjoy dorm-room accommodation but would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musli_Motorrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    139
    62
    21
    17
See reviews for
13
52
137
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellant staff, always there to help you. The rooms were clean along with the rest of the hostel and there is a 24 hour reception. There's large social area which has 3 computers with internet and the whole hostel has free wifi. You also get breakfast included which is great! Good location as well

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Unlimited tea & toast for breakfast, a personal favorite combo of mine. Very comfortable, good air con and a nice social common area. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Located in between Lavender station & Farrer Park. Close to Little India too for a great variety of food. Jonathon was a lot of fun & very generous. He is a little bit too obsessed with cats tho... maybe the hostel needs a pet?

Room Tip: Very friendly, cool pods which are new and clean. Check out photos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

While the staff was above average, pretty much everything else was what I expected. Nothing terribly impressive. The location was OK. I like walking so it was not a huge deal for me, but if you're not into walking then it is a bit away from what most might consider "the main attractions" (ie, Chinatown, Buddha's tooth temple, Little India, Marine Way ect.) Cleanliness was average. I'm sure it is a massive deal to keep a place clean with the constant influx of ppl coming in and out. I guess, my only real complaint is that the bathrooms were quite under maintained in my opinion. The doors weren't the sturdiest in the first place and then with the constant use, and presumably, mis-use, they were not that easy to close, coming off the sliding tracks every time. Also, the floor was incredibly slippery, nothing that a few more mats couldn't help though. Lastly, the walls and ceiling were being overcome by mould and fungi. In a humid environment such as a bathroom, and being in Singapore on top of it, I don't know what could be done to control it more, but it was fairly gross.
On the positive side, the price was ok and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhiannoncwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Pod design was cool and comfortable, but it is a room with lots of pods - maybe 20? So there were bags all over the place and light switches and people still make a bit of noise - but everyone made a real effort to be quiet and make it possible for everyone to sleep.

Bathrooms were clean for the number of people using them. No complaints. Common area upstairs was open, airy and had a good vibe. Breakfast was nothing special.

Overall - good place to stay in Singapore. A great value for the money and good place to meet people and make your base while in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Since, we only get back to this place just for some night sleep, i can't review their overall services. The "receptionist" could be more warm, since i consider he a bit ignorant. But, the bed was great concept, the clean sheet, cool air con room, fresh bed. It was all you need just to rest your tired body. They did good on maintaining the bathroom clean, so you can take your private time nicely.

The situation is walking distance from MRT or bus stop, nice. The surroundings was pretty quiet, nice to stay. We didn't have our breakfast there, instead we go straight to Bugis area. Overall, it was quite a good quality sleep i have @little red dot in lavender. (since there's also one little red dot in Bugis, but they said it was different hotel.).

This is the first time my friend and i stay in budget hotel, but, having experience stay @ little red dot, makes me feel overwhelmed about how cozy and clean the budget hotel was. Also, the capsules that was frightened makes me claustrophobia, turns out NO, i even can sleep longer. The point is, i'm having a good experience staying at this capsules @ little red dot.

But, i guess it was only OK if you stay with your group of friends, and not family.

Room Tip: Try their capsules concept of bed, instead of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in Singapore and the little red dot definitely provided a perfect base camp. I would suggest going for a pod style room as these are well equipped, comfortable, air conditioned and provide you with a level of privacy. You have free wifi which was the most reliable I've come across, breakfast is by no means gourmet but completely satisfactory. Jonathan the host is a bit of a ledge. He will make sure you see the best attractions in the city. You may well end up going out and he will take you to singapoures best watering holes.. All in all hugely recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomathawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#55 of 231 in Singapore
207 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 231 in Singapore
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#15 of 231 in Singapore
246 reviews
Traveller@SG
#61 of 231 in Singapore
171 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#46 of 231 in Singapore
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Little Red Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Little Red Dot

Property: @ Little Red Dot
Address: 125 Lavender Street, Singapore 338734, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — @ Little Red Dot 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsules At The Little Red Dot is conveniently located in the inner city area at Lavender Street, it is a 1-minute walk from the Malaysia/ Malacca Bus Terminal and a 5-7-minutes walk from Lavender MRT(Subway) Station. At The Little Red Dot is in walking distance to two tourism zones- Little India and Kampong Glam. You can even take a romantic walk to the Marina Bay Sands by the river in less than 30 mins.We provide both clean modern Private Single Capsule Beds, Lovers Private Capsules, Queen Sized Mezzanine Lofts and dorm beds which are all air conditioned At The Little Red Dot. Rates includes a free breakfast and if there are free walking tours on every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday.You can enjoyed good discounted rates to Universal Studios, Night Safari, Singapore Flyer and many more attractions when you stay with us.Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. In the common lounge, guests can play X-Box 360 games, watch award winning movies or use Wi-Fi, all for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your @ Little Red Dot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ Little Red Dot Hotel Singapore
@ Little Red Dot Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing