We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”
Review of @ Little Red Dot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
@ Little Red Dot
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed there two times during our holiday trip through Asia and we enjoyed it a lot. The place was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We even had the opportunity to enter the infinity pool which made the stay in that hostel extraordinary. We totally recommend staying at the Little red Dot Hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi11187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Location; 5-10mins from Lavender Station, 10mins from Little India. Couple of minutes from busy hawker food centre.

Breakfast; Included. Basic affair of bread/toast, cereal, tea and coffee.

Pros;
+ Free access to 3 PCs and free wifi throughout.
+ Good discounts for local attractions.
+ Aircon in rooms.

Cons;
- Aircon is turned off from late morning to late afternoon and charged at S$4 p/hr during this time if you want it.
- Kitchen area is almost non-existent. Just one hot plate for all.
- Only a small blanket offered for sleeping under (Just a few feet x a couple of feet).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed in the capsules room (from a partner website, to book for the capsules room look for capsules @ little red dot). Some websites do not list the capsules room. The capsules are not a true capsule, more like a wooden cabinet with a mattress and a sunshade. Capsule length is rather short, fits snugly my height (170cm). Overall quite clean, staff does his job but not exactly friendly. Cash only! Shared bathrooms, quite clean but could use upgrade. If staying solo would absolutely do this again.

Room Tip: Capsules are worth the extra. but the air conditioning is quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rotundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed in a 'capsule' for just a 1 night stop-over. It's a great idea because you save money by staying in backpacker style accommodation but you still get your own privacy. The bed and room was very clean and the shower block reasonably so too. It was a nice surprise in the morning to find that breakfast was included in the room price as I didn't realize - breakfast was very simple but nice. The dorm room was airconditioned and set at a perfect temperature for sleeping and to escape the extreme humidity outside. The map with directions given to me by the staff was perfectly easy to use to help me get from the train station to the accommodation. It is the private 'capsule' sleeping quarters and the great people I met here that set this backpackers apart from the others for me. I usually don't enjoy dorm-room accommodation but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musli_Motorrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellant staff, always there to help you. The rooms were clean along with the rest of the hostel and there is a 24 hour reception. There's large social area which has 3 computers with internet and the whole hostel has free wifi. You also get breakfast included which is great! Good location as well

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Unlimited tea & toast for breakfast, a personal favorite combo of mine. Very comfortable, good air con and a nice social common area. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Located in between Lavender station & Farrer Park. Close to Little India too for a great variety of food. Jonathon was a lot of fun & very generous. He is a little bit too obsessed with cats tho... maybe the hostel needs a pet?

Room Tip: Very friendly, cool pods which are new and clean. Check out photos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaRennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

While the staff was above average, pretty much everything else was what I expected. Nothing terribly impressive. The location was OK. I like walking so it was not a huge deal for me, but if you're not into walking then it is a bit away from what most might consider "the main attractions" (ie, Chinatown, Buddha's tooth temple, Little India, Marine Way ect.) Cleanliness was average. I'm sure it is a massive deal to keep a place clean with the constant influx of ppl coming in and out. I guess, my only real complaint is that the bathrooms were quite under maintained in my opinion. The doors weren't the sturdiest in the first place and then with the constant use, and presumably, mis-use, they were not that easy to close, coming off the sliding tracks every time. Also, the floor was incredibly slippery, nothing that a few more mats couldn't help though. Lastly, the walls and ceiling were being overcome by mould and fungi. In a humid environment such as a bathroom, and being in Singapore on top of it, I don't know what could be done to control it more, but it was fairly gross.
On the positive side, the price was ok and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhiannoncwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#153 of 317 in Singapore
376 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#156 of 317 in Singapore
563 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#120 of 317 in Singapore
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#184 of 317 in Singapore
314 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#218 of 317 in Singapore
169 reviews
Little India
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#54 of 235 in Singapore
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Little Red Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Little Red Dot

Address: 125 Lavender Street, Singapore 338734, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £8 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — @ Little Red Dot 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsules At The Little Red Dot is conveniently located in the inner city area at Lavender Street, it is a 1-minute walk from the Malaysia/ Malacca Bus Terminal and a 5-7-minutes walk from Lavender MRT(Subway) Station. At The Little Red Dot is in walking distance to two tourism zones- Little India and Kampong Glam. You can even take a romantic walk to the Marina Bay Sands by the river in less than 30 mins.We provide both clean modern Private Single Capsule Beds, Lovers Private Capsules, Queen Sized Mezzanine Lofts and dorm beds which are all air conditioned At The Little Red Dot. Rates includes a free breakfast and if there are free walking tours on every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday.You can enjoyed good discounted rates to Universal Studios, Night Safari, Singapore Flyer and many more attractions when you stay with us.Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. In the common lounge, guests can play X-Box 360 games, watch award winning movies or use Wi-Fi, all for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your @ Little Red Dot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ Little Red Dot Hotel Singapore
@ Little Red Dot Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing