We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a good reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #81 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We spent 3d2n at the hotel and found it very nice, especially the location, the terrace infinity pool and the room with a seaview!! On the other hand the service was reasonable and so was the price. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endorphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Endorphius,

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and chilled out at our level 8 poolside.
We do our best to ensure that our pricing offers value to our guests.

Come back soon and take the time to explore the sights around the hotel. Pulau Ubin and Chek Jawa are places which are rare these days. Just a short bumboat ride away.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,539)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,951 - 2,957 of 3,540 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on a stopover in Singapore.
The location was very good being only a 10-15 min taxi drive from the airport. It is on a street that has a great selection of small restaurants which are very popular and buzzing with activity.
The rooms are very nice, a good size, modern and very clean. We liked the Bathroom design with the window out to the room!
The buffet Breakfast was incredible! So much selection and at a high quality.
The shuttle service to the airport the next morning was great, all organised for us on check-in.
The staff were very helpful and sorted a situation with our baggage wonderfully. The service was exceptional.
We enjoyed our stay at Changi Village Hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prad-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Prad-ski

Good day to you and thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your nice compliments about our rooms and breakfast and also our other services. I will let the team know they have done their jobs with prode and it showed!

The area around the hotel gives a real insight into the local scene where Singaporeans spend their evenings on good food at affordable prices. It does get busy especially on the weekends till late but that is the fun part of it!

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon,.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a good hotel for business stayers working in the Changing area. It is not convenient if working or visiting and want to be near central down town. I stayed for 9 nights and was working in local area so it was the perfect hotel for me. Friendly helpful staff and a a very well maintained room. The rooms are designed in a minimalist fashion with an emphasis on timber almost Scandinavian in style. Bathroom is excellent remainder of room well maintained but the wood veneer finishes are showing the wear and tear of 8 years of use since refurbishment but this is a very minor point. If you have to work while staying there is a large desk area, good wi-fi and a self serve laundry on premises. The Saltwater in house restauarant is good with a great demonstration of foods from around the world that in so many ways typifys Singapore. One tip - avoid the Japanese restaurant on premises it is ok food but way overpriced. Overall a good experience, not luxurious, but a well run well appointed Novotel equivalent hotel perfect for business travellers working near Changi or possibly overnighting between flights.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Freshie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Feshie10

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

You have descirbed the design element well! Noted on the wear and tear issues - we are progresively touching up areas that needs work whilst at the same time we are also in the midst of planning for some of the rooms to be refurbished in the 2nd half of the year.

Good to see you tried the Kampong Lunch Buffet and the BBQ dinner on weekends.

Thank you and we look forward to having you back with us on your next work assignment.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here for one night in-between flights.
Free shuttle bus to and from the airport (only at specific times which they don't tell you) Had to wait 50mins at the airport late at night as they are once an hour.
Quick and friendly check in.
Breakfast is at an additional cost depending on the type of room/package you purchase
Modern room and bathroom
Bathrobes/slippers/towels/toiletries provided
Tea and Coffee
Minibar

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear LKPAA25

Greetings from Singapore and thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to see that overall you had a good stay with us and that our service and amenities provided were satisfactory.

Next time round, stay in Singapore for a few nights to see the island and of course stay with the Changi Village Hotel.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The girlfriend and I were looking for a staycation within our own country, so wanting to avoid all the city and urban landscape, we opted for the Changi Village Hotel, hidden on the eastern part of the country.

We did a 3D2N stay, here checking in late on Friday. (Minor whining on my part here - We checked in late (Around midnight on Friday) and did highlight this to management weeks before arriving.

We called their call center to see if any special rate can be applied as it would mean the previous occupant can get a late checkout, so over the phone, a very nice tele officer said it wasn't possible - (A bit inflexible here as another hotel chain we were considering said they'd give us a further discount but I digress), but she'd get us late checkout and breakfast vouchers for two days which we accepted ** => For future reference, remember these requests.

So no matters, lured by the nice rooftop sun set pool and it's proximity to the beach we still checked into this chain.

Reception was manned by 2 people even at the late hour, and check in was fast and smooth, even via online booking. So first hiccup - No breakfast coupons. We didn't get any black and white from the tele sales, so after the reception was unable to confirm, we let it go as it was word vs word and we were both tired.

Room was clean and well maintained, no musty smell, clean sheets, non dusty, fully furnished and stocked, so, that was quite nice. The bathroom has a see through window but there is a blind. The view, even though also requested for a high floor, was given a 4th or 5th and faced forest and service roads.

Everyday, newspaper will be delivered complimentary to every room, so that was a nice gesture.

As we were heading out for breakfast, I proceeded to get a complimentary parking ticket from the reception as I was driving, here's where the service again has a plus minus effect. The first time I tried to get a ticket, the receptionist asked me for my room no, I gave it to him, then for my key, so I was like okay, 2 factors authentication, he then asked me for my first and last name and name of reservation. It isn't as bad as it seems, had I not seen another customer in front of me request a ticket and be handed one immediately. So after I fulfilled all the authentication to confirm I was a present guest, did I get my ticket.

That was the minus, for the plus, on the day of check out - The receptionist was a different person with a different attitude and attended to me politely, courteously and really helpful.

Facilities wise - one should really check out the roof top pool, but beyond that, nothing of particular interest.

Lastly, the night prior to check out, we decided to confirm our concerns again - Our late check out. Remember the earlier part of the post where I remarked about the breakfast and late checkout, well - Not in the system. So okay after a few more back and forth discussion of words, we checked out early the next day.

All in all, to the reader, I apologize for the jumbled expression but it's really a struggle to identify what went wrong and what was right.

Location wise -> if you're looking for a retreat, yes. Nice pool, spa, cozy bar, most rooms I believe come with a tub, nice ceiling shower, makes all of these a really potential packed establishment.

But the services rendered is average at best, short of one or two staff. For the price, and the name it bears, I don't know, I just feel a little disappointed that certain resorts still can outperform in terms of services and promises. A hotel (At least one with as many stars) is supposed to make every guest be they domestic or foreign feel serviced, but this just doesn't cut it.

Room Tip: Should you call their hotline be sure to ask for everything in written agreement, and do bring it al...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trader7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear trader7891

Good day to you and thank you for your detailed feedback.

We are glad that you had a good stay overall and the room was clean and well maintained.
With regard to the service failure on the communication aspect, we will definitely look to tighten our processes so as not to inconvenience our guests.

As to the discount for the late check in, that unfortunately is not our policy as a room will still be reserved for you. For the parking coupon, I will brief all staff to be more polite in handling such requests. For those that we hand over the coupon without checking, it would be most likely that we are aware that they are our in-house guest and that would preclude the need to ask further. However we will strive to be better in our engagement with our guests on these matters.

Hope to have you back with us in the future.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was chosen as an alternative to the airport hotel for a one-night stopover, but despite its proximity to Changi Airport it was a 20 minute drive, so the taxi was dearer than expected; we used the courtesy bus on the return journey.
The hotel seems tired, although parts of it are quite striking - notably the huge atrium with the bar and restaurant - but our room was rather shabby and had a distinctly musty/mouldy smell. The window was in an alcove (doubtless an architectural feature, but it gave little daylight and even less of an outlook), although the room itself was a decent size and quiet with no external noise.
The restaurant was fine for an evening snack and breakfast, the rooftop pool looked attractive, and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
There is a beach area a short distance away, pleasant enough for a stroll on a fine day but it is slightly scruffy and under the airport flightpath.
Overall the experience was okay, but we'll probably just revert to going into the city centre for future stopovers as there is always something new to see and do in Signapore.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the rooms that overlook the atrium and its lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear PMDGlasgow,

Greetings from Sunny Singapore. Thank you for your feedback.

Glad that you enjoyed the restaurant , the pool and that our staff were able to meet your expectations.

Yes we are approximately 15-20 minutes from the airport. Next time take our shuttle that runs from T1 and T2 from 0530-0130hrs. Good thing you took the return leg as it does save you money.

As for the room, we will look to remove the mouldy smell. Thank you for bringing our attention to it. The housekeeping team have been tasked to quickly flag these rooms so that we can take action to refresh them.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

we stayed one night before heading back to london. our choice is not so far from the airport and not in a business district. and this hotel just matching with our criteria! i vaguely remember about changi village, dating back about 10 years ago when crossing with a bumboat from this point to visit pulau ubin.
our room was nice, spacious and had excellent bed, non-smoking preferable, overlooking the sea and planes approaching changi airport can be seen easily--something we like so much. from swimming pool at the roof top, this same scenery as we had in the room also can be found. the staffs are helpful, especially about shuttle bus from and to the airport, check-in and check-out procedures as well. we enjoyed our stay here, also visiting some historical points at changi, including changi chapel and museum. would like to comeback someday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukirsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksuitesManagement, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear ukirsari

Greetings from Changi Village Hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the rooftop pool as well as having the Village experience by having a look at the Changi War Musuem whcih showcases WWII in Singapore. Also very glad that the staff made their efforts felt.

We would be happy to have you back soon. Time for a revisit to Pulau Ubin and Chek Jawa then!

Best Regards
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Changi Cove Singapore
#95 of 316 in Singapore
328 reviews
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#46 of 316 in Singapore
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#36 of 316 in Singapore
4,548 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 316 in Singapore
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Address: 1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Changi offers a breath of fresh air from the other hotels in urban Singapore. The hotel is near the relatively untouched island of Pulau Ubin and the flora and fauna of the Chek Jawa Wetlands, which are both a bumboat ride away from Changi Ferry Terminal. Alternatively, guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll and enjoy the scenic Changi coastline.Located just 10 minutes away from Changi International Airport and 30-minute car ride from the Orchard shopping district, Village Hotel Changi is immensely popular with business travellers attending trade shows at the Singapore Expo, which is just 15 minutes away. With its proximity to the airport, the hotel is also a hot favourite with transit passengers who have a one or two-day stopover in our island nation.Village Hotel Changi's 380 rooms and 17 indoor and outdoor function venues make it ideal for both leisure and business travellers, with overseas meetings from foreign corporations, corporate retreats and team building sessions from local multinational corporations, weddings and solemnisations commonly held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Changi By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing