We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Second time back to this hostel as was pleased with my first. What I liked about remains there - clean, cosy, great location, wifi throughout and just love the nice hangout area on the outdoor patio (truly love this part and great for hanging out). Seems it's quite well booked since I had to shift my schedules around to get the beds I wanted. But guess that's only natural.

Oh and staff service was excellent! Commendable really since they really were service-oriented and looking to ensure you have a good stay. Thanks everyone and keep it up! Look forward to my next stay!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alvinchia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear alvinchia79,

Many thanks for posting your second review on 5footway.inn Chinatown 1! We are humbled by your continuing support, which only spurs us to strive harder in meeting and exceeding expectations of valuable guests like yourself. We apologize for the inconveniece caused by you having to shift your schedule just to secure a booking with us, and we are sincerely gratified by this.

On behalf of the wonderful staff at Project Chinatown 1, I thank you for being a delightful guest to host, and we greatly look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Perhaps on your next visit, you might want to give our new property, Project Sultan Mosque, a try.
Once again, thank you very much from the bottom of our hearts, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Perfect location,less than 1 min walk from Chinatown MRT.

Nice room though a bit small. Very comfortable bed~

Great common place and very nice staff.

Just the wifi is not strong enough and can't get online in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear travelchu,

Thank you for your review on 5footway.inn Chinatown 1. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our very prime location, and we regret that our rooms may not be overtly spacious. However, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our common areas and our friendly staff.

It is in our recognition that the WIFI may be weak in certain areas of the hostel, however, guests are always welcome to use our 2 Macs located at The Attic. Free of charge!

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community, and we sincerely hope to be able to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel for two nights, the pictures on the website I found very deceiving.

My biggest dissappointment was the bathroom/showers. The toilets are not cleaned regularly and have a very bad smell of urine.
The showers are also unclean and have a very bad smell, they are littered with past guest shampoo etc. The showers are broken and go cold whilst washing.

We heard drilling at 1:45am that kept people awake.

The mixed dorm I stayed in was very small, we had to open the door for natural light. Guest leave their shoes near reception which leave a very bad smell union entrance.

Other than that, beds are comfortable, attic room has Mac and large TV. Location is great but night-life is pretty dull.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TruthBTold991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear TruthBTold,

Firstly, we apologise for any bad experience you had during your stay with us. We have always placed great emphasis on cleanliness and the comfort of our guests and the reviews by other guests can attest to that. Our cleanliness levels have always been higher than described and we do apologise if that was lacking during your stay; it definitely isn't the norm. Nonetheless, your feedback is invaluable to us and we will step up the monitoring and upkeeping of the shower/toilet areas to ensure they are in tip-top condition at all times for our guests.

We do not allow noisy works to be carried out after 6 pm and we believe that the drilling you heard was from outside the property.

Lastly, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again and allow us the opportunity to improve the experience for you.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.

5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The location is right near the Chinatown train station literally 1 minute walk away. Other than Chinatown nothing else is in walking distance. The mixed 6 bed dorm is so cramped only 1 person can stand up at time which is very annoying. The showers were broke not much hooks and the toilets smelt of pee all the time. Someone even found a dirty sanitary towel out on the floor. The staff need to check on the toilets more often and keep the hygiene level to a much higher standard. The beds were quite comfy but doors didn't look and someone stole my friend medication even though the staff managed to find it somehow we don't know the story behind that. The attic is nice with bean bags sofas tv and 2 mac computers that the noises are never charged up properly. You do get free wifi so that's not too bad. But I would not stay here again, it's not worth the money. I'm sure there are better places in Singapore to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenwillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Owner at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Wenwillz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your valuable feedback.

We are surprised to hear that you find our location not within walking distance to some other interesting places in Singapore, as we hear otherwise from other guests who have stayed with us: we are just 5 to 10 minutes' walk to Boat Quay/Clarke Quay where you will find a wide selection of restaurants, pubs and bars by the beautiful Singapore River. We are also a short 5 minutes' walk to Ann Siang Hill where you can find excellent hang-out spots. We have had many guests tell us that they quite enjoyed the walk to slightly further areas like the Marina Bay area and even Little India.

We truly apologise if our staff did not get a chance to provide sufficient advice or directions you might have needed to take full advantage of our central location.

As a result of our prime location, space is unfortunately rather limited and we tried to achieve a balance between personal and communal space for all our guests. We are glad you found the attic a pleasant area as we intended for it to be a comfortable rest area for our guests to interact and share travel tips.

Your experience with our showers/toilets was most regrettable as cleanliness is, and has always been, our utmost priority. We will conduct a thorough review of our cleaning and inspection processes to ensure our high standards are maintained at all times.

We only provide keys to female dorms for added security but all beds do come with lockers with keys and guests are advised to keep their valuables locked. I have checked with the staff on duty regarding your case and they reported that they found the medication at the Terrace area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again after this response of ours.

Sincerely,
Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

5footway offers a very good value of money since we know that Singapore is a very expensive city especially when it comes to accommodation. The hostel design is nice and very clean, and I got a room with window (pagoda street view). My fave part is the open space where we can have breakfast and where they provide nonstop Nestle hot drinks! I had a pleasant stay at 5footway and will definitely stay there again if I have Singapore on my Agenda.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prayudita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear Prayudita,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown to share with the TripAdvisor community. Positive feedback from guests like yourself is always a motivation for us at 5footway.inn to further improve ourselves to achieve even great satisfaction of our guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope for Singapore to be on your agenda soon, in order for us to be able to welcome you back, at either Project Chinatown or Project Sultan Mosque.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to be able to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Went to Singapore last Feb. 29 to March 4 and stayed at 5Footway Inn, three of us friends. The place was great! It has the best location, just a few steps outside Exit A of Chinatown MRT Station. Location is a great deal when choosing a place to stay and that is why we chose 5Footway Inn.

The free breakfast was very yummy, you will have lots of choices. Cereals, Fruits, Bread and Jams. Lots of it!!! Plus the unlimited hot drink of 6 choices! Damn that was Great!!

The bathroom was clean enough and never had to wait a long time to get a bath.

Things to improve: I hope you could have hot showers on night time where a hot bath is badly needed after all the walks throughout Singapore. Hot shower was only available during morning.

The rest was great! The bed and room was always clean and I love the soft comforter!
Had a great sleep, just the best!

Will definitely go back to 5footway inn, that's for sure!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glendadavao73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Glenda,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are delighted that you are pleased with our location and staff, definitely 2 things paramount for customer satisfaction.

We hope the wide array of breakfast selection had pumped you up for your consequent exploration of Singapore. But from the looks of it, we're sure it did!

Cleanliness is also a high priority for us, and we're glad that we have met your standards. We strive to keep and uphold a 100% for our beds, rooms and communal areas, for maximum comfort of valued guests, like yourself.

We regret that you could not get to have your hot shower after a day throughout Singapore. However, please allow us to take this opportunity to clarify to you and all our future guests that hot showers are available 24/7, all our guests have to do is to switch on the hot shower button at the entrance of our bathrooms.

We will, however, learn from this, and make it a point to clarify with guests at check-in, how they may enjoy hot showers all around the clock. We do not want to miss any opportunity in ensuring maximum comfort and satisfaction for our guests. Especially before they retire to their warm beds to rest for the night!

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on us, and we hope to welcome you and your friends back to either of our outlets, in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel, the staff are friendly, the room and the bathroom are clean, they provide free water, breakfast and wifi. I only disliked being placed on the upper bed, maybe next time I should tell them my choice of bed.

Room Tip: I think you should choose the room at the second floor because there is no elevator, so it will be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suniwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Suniwati,

Apa khabar? Thank you for taking time to post a review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it makes us at 5footway.inn encouraged to strive even harder to please and satisfy every guest that makes us their choice of accomodation in Singapore.

We regret that you disliked being placed on the upper bunk of the bed. However, we will always respond to guests' requests for a certain desired bunk placing, and we will try our best to accomodate, provided that there is availability.

As there is no elevator available in our hostel, our friendly staff will always be at hand to help elders or guests with large luggages, up to their designated rooms. After all, we are all about fostering the community spirit through daily close interaction!

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to post your review and we look forward to having you with us again soon! Terima kasih.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Fisher BnB
#2 of 244 in Singapore
435 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#11 of 244 in Singapore
625 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £14 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing