We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satisfied!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location, cozy room (they provides BOTH fan and ac), clean bathrooms, humble and helpful staffs. I was lucky coz the wi-fi is strong enough in my room. The attic is somehow really useful for those who don't bring any laptop, we can use the latest iMac there for free. I love the open terrace used for breakfast, nice and comfortable, a good place to start the day. It's a pleasant place, I recommend you to stay here when you travel to Singapore :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor get strong WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Annisa,

Terima kasih karena mengambil masa untuk menulis tinjauan anda tentang 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied enough with your stay with us, to give us the full rating.

On behalf of the staff at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, thank you for choosing us to accomodate you during your stay in Singapore, and being a delightful guest to host. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    317
    142
    34
    33
See reviews for
86
86
196
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our group stayed for 3 nights. We liked that we were given rooms with windows facing Pagoda St. which was relatively quiet in the evenings. The bunk beds were fitted with white comforter sheets and a pillow each. We always had a good night's rest.

We had breakfast at the open terrace. There was an adequate selection of bread, spreads, jams, cereals, milk, and you can have as many hot drinks as you want from their coffee machine. The terrace also functions as an all-day lounge area for guests. Staff were friendly and helpful, we had a nice chat with them. The place was fully booked during our stay but there were enough bathrooms, so we didn't have to line up for our turn. Shampoo and shower gels were provided in the shower areas. Although there was some renovation work being done in some of the bathrooms, disruption was minimal.

The attic was also a nice place to relax, a selection of DVD movies is available. Two Macs are provided which you can use to check your mail or browse. Wi-Fi is available all throughout the place but some locations have weak reception. Given its prime location in Chinatown, we had a nice time walking around and checking nearby attractions. It is also very accessible to the MRT station, some 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Elizabeth C,

Mabuhay! Thank you for taking the time to post your review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown, and for allowing us the opportunity to host you during your visit to Singapore. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and it only serves to spur us on to further please and impress future guests like yourself.

Should you be planning another trip to Singapore, you may wish to look out for our third and fourth properties opening later on this year. Keep a lookout for us on TripAdvisor!

Salamat, once again, and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

Magandang araw sa'yo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Second time back to this hostel as was pleased with my first. What I liked about remains there - clean, cosy, great location, wifi throughout and just love the nice hangout area on the outdoor patio (truly love this part and great for hanging out). Seems it's quite well booked since I had to shift my schedules around to get the beds I wanted. But guess that's only natural.

Oh and staff service was excellent! Commendable really since they really were service-oriented and looking to ensure you have a good stay. Thanks everyone and keep it up! Look forward to my next stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvinchia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear alvinchia79,

Many thanks for posting your second review on 5footway.inn Chinatown 1! We are humbled by your continuing support, which only spurs us to strive harder in meeting and exceeding expectations of valuable guests like yourself. We apologize for the inconveniece caused by you having to shift your schedule just to secure a booking with us, and we are sincerely gratified by this.

On behalf of the wonderful staff at Project Chinatown 1, I thank you for being a delightful guest to host, and we greatly look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Perhaps on your next visit, you might want to give our new property, Project Sultan Mosque, a try.
Once again, thank you very much from the bottom of our hearts, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Perfect location,less than 1 min walk from Chinatown MRT.

Nice room though a bit small. Very comfortable bed~

Great common place and very nice staff.

Just the wifi is not strong enough and can't get online in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear travelchu,

Thank you for your review on 5footway.inn Chinatown 1. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our very prime location, and we regret that our rooms may not be overtly spacious. However, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our common areas and our friendly staff.

It is in our recognition that the WIFI may be weak in certain areas of the hostel, however, guests are always welcome to use our 2 Macs located at The Attic. Free of charge!

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community, and we sincerely hope to be able to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel for two nights, the pictures on the website I found very deceiving.

My biggest dissappointment was the bathroom/showers. The toilets are not cleaned regularly and have a very bad smell of urine.
The showers are also unclean and have a very bad smell, they are littered with past guest shampoo etc. The showers are broken and go cold whilst washing.

We heard drilling at 1:45am that kept people awake.

The mixed dorm I stayed in was very small, we had to open the door for natural light. Guest leave their shoes near reception which leave a very bad smell union entrance.

Other than that, beds are comfortable, attic room has Mac and large TV. Location is great but night-life is pretty dull.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TruthBTold991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear TruthBTold,

Firstly, we apologise for any bad experience you had during your stay with us. We have always placed great emphasis on cleanliness and the comfort of our guests and the reviews by other guests can attest to that. Our cleanliness levels have always been higher than described and we do apologise if that was lacking during your stay; it definitely isn't the norm. Nonetheless, your feedback is invaluable to us and we will step up the monitoring and upkeeping of the shower/toilet areas to ensure they are in tip-top condition at all times for our guests.

We do not allow noisy works to be carried out after 6 pm and we believe that the drilling you heard was from outside the property.

Lastly, we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again and allow us the opportunity to improve the experience for you.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.

5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The location is right near the Chinatown train station literally 1 minute walk away. Other than Chinatown nothing else is in walking distance. The mixed 6 bed dorm is so cramped only 1 person can stand up at time which is very annoying. The showers were broke not much hooks and the toilets smelt of pee all the time. Someone even found a dirty sanitary towel out on the floor. The staff need to check on the toilets more often and keep the hygiene level to a much higher standard. The beds were quite comfy but doors didn't look and someone stole my friend medication even though the staff managed to find it somehow we don't know the story behind that. The attic is nice with bean bags sofas tv and 2 mac computers that the noises are never charged up properly. You do get free wifi so that's not too bad. But I would not stay here again, it's not worth the money. I'm sure there are better places in Singapore to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenwillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Owner at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Wenwillz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your valuable feedback.

We are surprised to hear that you find our location not within walking distance to some other interesting places in Singapore, as we hear otherwise from other guests who have stayed with us: we are just 5 to 10 minutes' walk to Boat Quay/Clarke Quay where you will find a wide selection of restaurants, pubs and bars by the beautiful Singapore River. We are also a short 5 minutes' walk to Ann Siang Hill where you can find excellent hang-out spots. We have had many guests tell us that they quite enjoyed the walk to slightly further areas like the Marina Bay area and even Little India.

We truly apologise if our staff did not get a chance to provide sufficient advice or directions you might have needed to take full advantage of our central location.

As a result of our prime location, space is unfortunately rather limited and we tried to achieve a balance between personal and communal space for all our guests. We are glad you found the attic a pleasant area as we intended for it to be a comfortable rest area for our guests to interact and share travel tips.

Your experience with our showers/toilets was most regrettable as cleanliness is, and has always been, our utmost priority. We will conduct a thorough review of our cleaning and inspection processes to ensure our high standards are maintained at all times.

We only provide keys to female dorms for added security but all beds do come with lockers with keys and guests are advised to keep their valuables locked. I have checked with the staff on duty regarding your case and they reported that they found the medication at the Terrace area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again after this response of ours.

Sincerely,
Boon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

5footway offers a very good value of money since we know that Singapore is a very expensive city especially when it comes to accommodation. The hostel design is nice and very clean, and I got a room with window (pagoda street view). My fave part is the open space where we can have breakfast and where they provide nonstop Nestle hot drinks! I had a pleasant stay at 5footway and will definitely stay there again if I have Singapore on my Agenda.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prayudita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Prayudita,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown to share with the TripAdvisor community. Positive feedback from guests like yourself is always a motivation for us at 5footway.inn to further improve ourselves to achieve even great satisfaction of our guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope for Singapore to be on your agenda soon, in order for us to be able to welcome you back, at either Project Chinatown or Project Sultan Mosque.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to be able to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 230 in Singapore
596 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 230 in Singapore
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Property: 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing