We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Reviewed 13 December 2013

5footway.inn is extremely convenient located just 5min walk from the MRT. The hostel is centrally situated at the busy Chinatown too! If you are looking for conveniences, just go ahead to book on this premise. If you are looking for more privacy and less busy holiday, please look for somewhere else! There are a few hostels near Clark Quay which are hidden within the busy Singapore! Otherwise, just spend a few extra penny for a 3-star hotel, at least you are guaranteed with an ensuite BATHROOM and a BIGGER ROOM when stay in a hotel instead of a hostel. Listen up guys... your girlfriend will appreciate it!

Room Tip: Ask before hand the bed configuration to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was the first time we travelled independently with our group of friends, so we had to budget carefully and didn’t want to splurge too much on accommodation. Given the limited area of the Red Dot, lodgings do not come at a low price as in its neighboring countries, thus a three-night stay at 5footway inn (as suggested by a friend of mine who had been here before in January 2012) seems to be the best option for us all. Actually, we didn’t expect much from the inn but somewhere to store our luggage, take a shower, and finally lay our head on bed after a shattering day roaming the streets of Singapore. However, 5footway exceeds our expectations for some reasons.

As for location, 5footway is at an advantage because it is literally only steps away from the main exit of Chinatown MRT station. You’ll be able to spot it right away from afar the moment you climb up the MRT escalator. Setting amidst the hustle and bustle of Chinatown also adds some characteristics to 5footwayinn. Souvenir shops full of tourists can be seen lining up one after another. Chinatown is such an ideal place for people who are in a rush to grab some last-minute gifts for friends back home, have some “late” dinners with friends as night descends, or buy some Bakkwa at Bee Cheng Hiang, whose seller (one large- built Indian man) caught my attention with his “chanting” (he seemed to introduce his ranges of products, yet spoke in such a super fast way that I didn’t really get it until he showed me the price list on a leaflet). You can also experience the peaceful and quiet Chinatown when all activities come to a halt in the morning if you wake up early enough and stroll along this alley.

Regarding service, the staff especially the manager (or so I think, named Monet) is very nice and accomodating. After the check-in procedure, he showed us our room (#13) and offered to carry our 4 suitcases upstairs, which was a real relief since we were totally exhausted lugging our baggage stations after stations from Changi Airport. Upon our departure, it was also him who helped me color print our e-airline tickets after I failed to ask another girl to do it for me the night before. So if anyone has any problem, don’t hesitate to ask for his help, for he’s a real “trouble-shooter”.

In terms of amenities, I can say that our beds are clean and neat. What I like best is the Internet is super fast and you can do the surfing in your own room, not to mention the 2 iMac installed in the communal room.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone who’s travelling to Singapore with groups of friends cuz this hostel gives you a friendly atmosphere at a reasonable price.

And guess what? We are coming again this January 20, 2014!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manouph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Near the MRT station, come of of the Pagoda street exit then you can see the black and white of their shop sign.
Who sleep on the upside bed is easy to knock their head especially to who are tall.
But we four people inside a room only get one locker to use.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Chinatown and very close to the metro station. The staff is nice and nothing to say about the cleanness of the rooms/showers.

The rooms are however very noisy and the free breakfast very limited (it only consists of toast/jam and coffee, they could add at least some juices/fruits and a few other basic things).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiflar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The staffs are very good human relations. They are good service.I stayed in 6-bed dorm,room and toilet are so clean. It's good location and comfortable for transportation. It's near MRT station and Chinatown.It's a nice hostel and a good price.It's high quality,if compare the price.If I have plan to travel Singapore again,This hostel will be the first choice in my heart.I like your hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fine-Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

To be honest, when I booked 5footway I don't expect to much for the room and the staffs. But when I stayed at there I can't help to fall in love with this hotel. First the staff is very helpful and the room is so clean and the mattress is so soft and don't forget about the location, it is very good location very near mrt and in the middle of market at chinatown. I have one experience, my friend left her belonging at the hotel while we already checkout. She remembered it on the way to the airport. Then she rushed back to the 5footway to get her belonging and guess what, the nice cleaning service found it and kept it to the receptionist. We really appreciate for the honesty of the staff at 5footway. For additional we already booked this hotel again for our next trip on 6-8 june 2014 at singapore... See u soon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyah ayu sukmarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm with my sister and this is the 1st time we having our stay in a budget/backpackers hostel in Singapore. The location is superb because there is just few steps to reach the MRT stations! The environment is quite nice with some art paintings hanging at the wall and the front desk service is good, they also provide printing service (about 20 cents) so I can print my Universal Studio tickets without searching for printing service anywhere. They also provide breakfast, even it is almost the same meal everyday but it was okay. I hope there is place for backpackers to hang up our towels for dry. Overall is good! In addition, for native Chinese speaker who doesn't fluent in English, do not need to worry because the staffs can communicate in Mandarin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 237 in Singapore
612 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £14 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing