We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a few exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #41 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place with a few exceptions”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We just spent 5 nights here. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Arrived at 2:20 in the morning and the assistant manager showed us to our room. The room is very nice and modern with a lot of switches which aren't clearly marked. Not a big deal once you learn them. The hotel is not in the City Center but is 100 feet and 2 escalators to the MRT subway system and all attractions are 2-5 stops from this station. The escalators are in a mall which was nice to have next door as well. There's a living room, breakfast area, and rooftop pool just for Club room customers. The breakfast was good with a never ending supply of smoked salmon (my favorite) and the coffee was great.

So pros: Good location. Very nice for the money. Great staff.

The cons: The walls in the rooms are very thin. I don't know how someone can design a beautiful hotel and not put in sound proofing. You can hear the doors in the hall, the motorized window shades from the other rooms and I spent most of one night listening to a high pitch squeal which was the alarm clock from a room 2 doors down.

The hotel was not crowded so the breakfast area was not crowded. They have 88 club rooms and seating for 20-25 for breakfast. if the hotel was full, I could see it being difficult to get breakfast.

The last issue is becoming popular in a lot of hotels. There's a window between the shower and the bedroom with an electric privacy shade. The bathroom door is etched glass. There is no way to turn on the light in the bathroom without lighting up the whole room.


So I really liked this place and recommend it but the sound issue is bigger for me than most and is why I can't give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: We bought the Club Level room upgrade and that was really worth it. We were able to get the Club roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighTide370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    1,282
    303
    84
    40
See reviews for
687
1,258
231
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Spent 2 Nights this hotel, A fairly new property, looks good on the outside, the looks of the lobby is nice with the huge rock wall opposite the reception desk, the restraunt is very small and there was quite a bit of waiting for breakfast, a stones throw away from the novena station and a huge mall across the road. Rooms were spacious and the idea of the coffee machine was great. The bathing shower however didn’t have that much water force. And the pillows were quite hard. Huge windows with automatic blinders that went up and down with the push of a button but the view was of the residential bldg opposite and the pool down below. A few taxi drivers how ever didn’t know the hotel but when we said novena station/ novena mall they would get close by and from there I would guide them to the hotel as u cannot miss the huge glass building with oasia written on top. The hotel has a nice pool and gymnasium on the 8th floor.

Room Tip: dont sekect rooms in the middle as the only view u will get is the building right opposite an dht ep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms bright and very clean, although rather small Overall the rooms are very functional and got what you need. Restaurant too small for number of guests and the quality of the food could be increased (poor red and white house wine, prawns not deveined, ...).
Location is good, but many taxi drivers do not know the hotel (yet) as it is new. A bit more staff at reception would not hurt as sometimes waiting time is quite long. Staff reception very friendly and helpful though..
My only real disasppointment was that, when trying to reserve a taxi for later in the evening, bell desk staff told it was not needed since that time there is ample available. Yet it took 15 minutes before one turned up.
Overall a good bet in Singapore for 240 Singapore Dollar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aries104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is quite clearly a new hotel and is very modern and well designed.

I was travelling with my 6 month old daughter so was keen to get into the room after our long flight. There were 5 receptionists serving 2 or 3 people when I arrived but I had to wait for around 20 minutes and even at that point I had to approach in a fairly forceful manner! The receptionist who served me was very efficient but she didn't smile once and used the word 'can I upsell to you....' I'm assuming she had been on training recently but in my experience they are not words used to customers, they are used by marketeers!!

So on to the good stuff, I was very pleasantly surprised (this almost too away the annoyance I felt at the wait and frosty reception) to be up upgraded, I think it was to a club room and it was great, automatic blinds on the window and in the shower cubicle into the bedroom which was great for me to be able to watch the baby! On the downside they had no cot available for us and my baby had just started crawling and seemed to like attempting to throw herself off the bed. So having to have her sleep with me wasn't especially restful! I would have appreciated a heads up on that before I arrived so I could have made alternative arrangements.

I loved the fact we had a bathtub in the room and also the nespresso machine was a wonderful addition.

The maid was wonderfully friendly and professional and the room was spotless on arrival and also on the second day on our return. I also liked the free newspaper hanging on the door handle in the morning.

The fact that you have to pay for wifi is pretty shocking in this day and age - this service should be free in every hotel, particularly those that cater for business customers. Its S$20 per 24 hours which is extortionate in my opinion but on the plus side is was fast.

Location is great. Only 2 stops to Orchard Road but also if you didn't want to dine in the hotel there are many restaurants in the shopping centre just over the road.

Overall I would go back to this hotel but would hope on my next visit that someone would have a little smile for me :)

Room Tip: Club room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

For the price is there for novena area price. Its not orchard. It supposed to be a business hotel, but expensive for the internet connection, 3bucks for 15 mins. Its too much. Other than that everything is just fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel in October '11. Staff are well trained, friendly and helpful. Located next to Novena Square shopping complex and MRT Station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Modern & nicely designed with proper reading lights and automated black out blinds - bigger sized room compared to other boutique hotels I've stayed at in Spore (eg: bigger than Scarlet Hotel & Innotel) . Particularly love the Thann toiletries provided - adds a touch of luxury to the room. Plus the Nespresso machine was well appreciated too!

Location is extremely convenient despite having to take the train to Orchard. The walk to the MRT is mostly thru a shopping centre which means no sweating under the hot Spore sun. Whereas its sister property Quincy - althou in the city, requires a very sticky & hilly 10min walk to the shops.

Oasia is highly recommended, excellent value - hoping the price doesn't increase too much. Innotel was the same price when I was booking but this place was WAY WAY more worth it. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 2920 had a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 312 in Singapore
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Property: Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Address: 8 Sinaran Drive, Singapore 307470, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Family Hotel in Singapore
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming enclave of the Novena district, Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore is a premier business hotel that offers distinctively elegant accommodations in its 428 guestrooms. Perfect for unwinding or having high-powered business meetings, Oasia's award-winning Club Lounge - The Living Room and its private pool provide Club guests with absolute exclusivity. There is direct basement access to the Novena MRT Station which allows convenient travel to Orchard Road and the Central Business District. Each of the hotel's guestrooms is contemporary furnished with sleek, Asian-inspired designer fittings. Guests at Oasia Hotel Novena also enjoy complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea making facilities and a rain shower in the bathroom with invigorating bath amenities. Facilities include a 24-hour fitness centre, pool and The Marmalade Pantry - a restaurant that is popular for its modern bistro cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing