We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but traffic jam for breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #41 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location but traffic jam for breakfast!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was my first stay at Oasia thanks to recommedation from a colleague as well as proximity to the office.

This is a fairly new hotel, so everything seems newish. I like the high ceiling in the lobby, which is kinda small really, but the high ceiling sort of compensates from a visual perspective. The stone/granite walls and the wooden planks at the lobby, I really like. Security is good with key card access required for the elevators. Cleanliness is also what you'd expect from a hotel such as this, very clean indeed. Location is also outstanding with a direct access to Novena Square (decent shopping mall) which is also right on top of Novena MRT station. I also didn't have to wait more than 1-2 minutes every morning for a taxi.

The room is not large but not small either, sufficient for 2 people. There isn't much room for putting your suitcase though and if you have a large suitcase, you're in trouble. Bathroom is interesting... it is separated from the room by glass and frosted at the centre sections (but you'll still be able to see silhouettes), so not good if you're sharing rooms with a colleague, for example. The problem is that if you switch on the light in the bathroom, it sort lights up the entire room too, again only a real problem if sharing the room.

Internet access is a real rip-off if you don't have internet included in your rate. I mean ~$S10 for 15 minutes to ~S$24 for 24 hours. Come on! Ridiculous.
Breakfast is decent with a good spread of food, including an egg station. The major problem for breakfast is the number of people. Finding a table is a challenge and then moving around to get your food is another. Ambient temperature in the restaurant can be improved too, i found it rather warm in the restaurant.

Check in and check out was uneventful for me, nothing fantastic, nothing bad. Smooth and efficient it was.

I would probably stay here again, but only for the location and "new-ness" of the hotel. Service was just average to me.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, you'll get one that's all the way at the end, which is a good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezzMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear TezzMezz,

Thank you for your detailed review concerning your recent stay with us.

We apologize that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we have reviewed your feedback on the areas of concern and will put in place measures to ensure that our guests have more enjoyable experience in our hotel.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    1,305
    309
    85
    43
See reviews for
713
1,282
235
768
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed in Oasia few times already, I was usually one of the long staying guests there, visiting mostly on business.
My last trip was a holiday though, I came to Singapore for the beginning of the great sale, together with my girlfriend. Thanks to good experience from my business trips, I selected Oasia for my holiday without a doubt.

Also this time everything was good from the beginning, we have been welcomed at the checkin by Jocelyn who recognised me as I was approaching the counter, its so nice to be greeted by name when you come back to the hotel after few weeks.

I remembered her from my past stays, also this time she was smiling and helpful.
And help was needed as its a bit different to stay in the hotel on business and on holiday, in the past I didnt really use the swimming pool area or the gym, was also not aware of the restaurants that opened in the same building. It was only my girlfriend who kept asking for details and Jocelyn helped us a lot. Really, this girl is a true gem in this hotel.
Finally after all paper work was done she handed over the key to our room and the holiday started.

Our room as always: spacious and clean, according to my girlfriend bed is a bit too firm but perfectly fine according to my standards :)
I love the design, apparently from some well known japanese designer.
Designers are very important during the singapore great sale :) we had fantastic time shopping and then resting at the hotel, glass of wine at the nice seating place by the window was our favourite.

If I had to find one thing I do not really like is the crowd at the breakfast, but then they are busy hotel and staff seems to be doing all they can to help.
Checkout was done by the same girl, again with the smile and all was ok, we left back home happy.

I am sure I will be back there on business but I am also sure I will go for the same place for private stay in Singapore next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room if possible, its really nice. Remember the name: Sinaran Drive. Taxi driver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Th3Trav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Th3Trav3ller,

Thank you for your review.

We are we are delighted that you have enjoyed your overall experience and it was certainly a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We will pass on your appreciation to our Front Desk associate Jocelyn who has exemplified the service standards of Oasia Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your future visits.

Kind Regards,
Richard Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed on the 20th floor- nice compact room- clean, good shower-glass doors to loo /shower maybe issue for some- separated bedroom by a glass wall too...Good toiletries/towels and tea/coffee facilities. I agree with some minor grumbles re poor air con... and 1 very solid pillow.
The breakfast was great- everything you could wish for.

The pool on level 8 is exposed- and overlooked by rooms and residential flats...this did not bother us.
We requested a room to shower and dress in after checkout- as we had a 10pm flight... reception advised we could use the shower facilities in the gym. We did this-- but it has NO soaps/shampoos/hair dryer etc....it is just a shower.

the location was great- mins walk into the shopping centre/MRT....we would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dera Julieei,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall experience.

We have noted your feedback concerning the absence of bathing amenities and will ensure that this is corrected.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel looks fresh and new, room was nice but small. Would have been a great place to stay had it not been the bad experience with staff at the counter.

Was checked in into the hotel by a Priscilla. Extremely unfriendly and unprofessional attitude (makes one wonder why was she hired in the first place). Not even a friendly smile by her upon reaching the counter and she didn't even bother explaining the facilities that was provided in the hotel!

Check out was handled by a Jocelyn, who was curteous and friendly. It was nice of her to offered me access to the gym on the 8th floor if I wish to have a place to shower after informing her that I have a late flight.

Might consider coming back but then, maybe not as there are many other options to choose from in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj7784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Jj7784,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on your recent stay and please allow me to apologize for your arrival experience.

We will definitely put in place corrective measures and ensure that our front line associates are trained in the areas of guest interaction and experience respectively.

We sincerely hope that we will be given another opportunity to win back your confidence and provide a true Oasia Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The natural elements (wood, stone, water) are given centerstage in this brand new hotel. Can you spell relaxation? That's what you get when you step in Oasia. Got a club room and the express check-in in the club lounge is a nice touch. Were given refreshing drinks while waiting to be checked in. Enjoyed the exclusivity and the special care we got from the staff. Had our fill of Asian noodles when hunger pangs hit late in the evening. Breakfast was adequate and very classy. Drank cup after cup of coffee (you get to choose how you want it-hot,cold,cappuccino,latte,etc.) The room was modern with so many hidden cabinets hiding surprises but a bit on the small side. Good for 2 persons max otherwise it could get tight. The rainshower was heavenly. The bed was firm and will ensure good sleep as you cannot feel the other person moving. Enjoyed the pool both on the club floor and 8th floor. Since Oasia is located in a quiet area of Singapore, the peace you get when you go back after a day out adds to the charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mba a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Mba a,

Thank you for your detailed review of Oasia Hotel.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and indeed, it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We certainly hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently whilst in Singapore for the "Great Singapore Sale". It's new and the location is very near to the main shopping hub of Orchard. Location is very good considering the MRT is located barely 100meters from the hotel. (Although getting to it takes some exploration and the nearest route to the MRT is NOT following the signages)

the building by itself is a bit funny, sharing part of the building with a Hospital, hence floors 2 to 7 is occupied by the hospital, rooms are above the pool and "garden" which is located on the eight floor" .

Rooms are pretty decent, chic and modern is the theme, and all amenities of a 5 star hotel is present, there is even a coffee machine in the room similar to nespresso's where thy provide 2 pods a day. Unfortunately one is decaffienated. 2 bottles of drinking water is also provided and some tea as well.

Toilet is ok, although I reckon it's a bit embarrassing for some since everything is glass and the sliding glass door either closes the shower or the WC. All in all, everything you'd expect in a reputed 5 star hotel.

One thing that I find utterly disappointing is that the bed is super firm and one of the pillow provided is as hard as a wooden pillow, hence reducing the sleep quality.

On thing though, the view from our hotel room overlook the pool and the opposite condominium and if anyone is thinking of going around "au naturale" i suggest to close the super cool electric blinds.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercuri2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Mercuri2000,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that your overall experience was a pleasant one. We have noted the areas where we fell shorts of expectations and will work towards measures to ensure that our guests have a more enjoyable experience with us.

We look forward to having another opportunity to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Richard Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, ME
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Oasia is one of the newest hotels in Singapore. Service and decor were excellent. The shower was great. The breakfast buffet was very good. Location is convenient to the metro, food, and shopping. One odd thing is that there are no drawers for clothes in the room. The small gym has modern equipment and the pool on the 8th floor is cool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BD-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear BD-ME,

Thank you for staying with us at Oasia Hotel and we are happy to know that you had pleasant experience with us.

We look forward to having another opportunity to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Singapore
942 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Property: Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Address: 8 Sinaran Drive, Singapore 307470, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming enclave of the Novena district, Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore is a premier business hotel that offers distinctively elegant accommodations in its 428 guestrooms. Perfect for unwinding or having high-powered business meetings, Oasia's award-winning Club Lounge - The Living Room and its private pool provide Club guests with absolute exclusivity. There is direct basement access to the Novena MRT Station which allows convenient travel to Orchard Road and the Central Business District. Each of the hotel's guestrooms is contemporary furnished with sleek, Asian-inspired designer fittings. Guests at Oasia Hotel Novena also enjoy complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea making facilities and a rain shower in the bathroom with invigorating bath amenities. Facilities include a 24-hour fitness centre, pool and The Marmalade Pantry - a restaurant that is popular for its modern bistro cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing