We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay at Orchid Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #93 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Quezon City
Level Contributor
229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good stay at Orchid Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room: nice clean room, with ironing board/flat iron, with safety deposit box. Spacious room but wifi connectivity was bad.

Service: good overall service by staff

Location: good location, near MRT Station, a few minutes away from Chinatown. Many restaurants nearby

Breakfast: good continental breakfast but almost the same food for two days. Long queue to buffet table

Washroom: strong water, complete toiletries, cool floor and wall tiles.

Overall: Nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bunko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    182
    88
    13
    5
See reviews for
91
90
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Do me a favor, don't stay in this hotel at any cost. Breakfast was quite terrible, with no creativity shown or choices in dishes. The staff members were rude, and no compassion toward the guests. I'd no choice but to stay there as my company put me up there for 2 weeks. My room was quite weird and difficult to access. They have many visitors from Korea and other Chinese countries so just beware of them- they pass rude comments to other foreign visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salmanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here during our holidays in Singapore and just loved the hotel and location. very convenient for outing and shopping. Rooms are pretty well maintained and offers all amenities. Buffet breakfast was fabulous and just loved the variety everyday, Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Western side has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is good as it is opposite to MRT station Tanjong Pagar.
From here you can go to little India or to Jurong Bird Park.
The rooms were good. Near by a big hotel is being constructed but inside there was no disturbance.
They charge internet for 24 singapore dollar. Also the connectivity on the higher floors is an issue. You get good connectivity at the reception only.
There is a level difference between the outside and inside floors. I hv seen many tourists falling on the ground because of this. They shud do something about this.The breakfast has only continental menu. So if you like Indian breakfast,you will be highly dis appointed like us.
Though the continental breakfast has good choices.
Hope above will help you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dkgupta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed here and found this property simply good. best thing about this hotel is the room size and the view from your room. i would love to stay here again...

nearby attraction - ChinaTown just a walk away, MRT station few blocks away, Bugis in 2Kms. proximity, Little India 2kms, and Marina bay...

downside -
I just found the lighting issue in bathroom area, if you are shaving then the lighting is not that sufficient..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

we had two attached rooms both self contained suite rooms clean with coffee kettle a place to relax after a hard days walking tour of the city, the best part was china town was a stone throw away with lovely street food, the metro station was a block away just opposite the hotel the staff were very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dericrebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The best thing about Orchid Hotel is the location. It stands just on the opposite of the metro exit, quite convenient.

Speaking back to hotel itself, it is really one of the most uncomfortable stay I've ever had. The lobby is quite small and full of tour groups, very crowded and noisy. The elevator is quite small, really small.

The room is spacious enough, but equipped very old furniture.

The most terrible thing is the shower - NO HOT WATER in the day???? How come this could happen? I still can't believe it.

Didn't for go breakfast, but my friend told me that it was poor.

Generally speaking, this hotel is not my cup of tea. But for those who prefers a reasonable price and good location, and doesn't care much about the facilities, Orchild is good to recommend.

BTW, the service is just in standard. I don't remember much of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#77 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#87 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing