We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My bed was not ready when I checked in. The staff was not friendly and didn't bother to bring me around to explain how things work in the hostel. Bed and pillow were hard, my pod was hot and stuffy,(I stayed at the last pod in female dorm) noisy when people were talking in the common area in the midnight. Bathroom was ok. The only good thing is it's located at a very nice & interesting area and pretty close to MRT.

Room Tip: Do not choose female dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leepeng_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matchboxer, Manager at Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear leepeng_e

Thank you for your review. We would first like to apologise for your experience at the hostel and we have since launched an investigation into your feedback. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify that check-in time is at 3pm and when you arrived at the hostel at about 12pm, the housekeepers were in the middle of making the beds and cleaning the hostel. As we understand, the staff had informed you that the floor was wet from the routine sanitising and as the safety of guests is just as important as making sure the premise is clean, we did not show you around immediately but offered to do it when the floor was dry. Thereafter, you mentioned that you had to head out for the day, thus missing the tour of the hostel.

The pods are not completely enclosed, and therefore, are not soundproof - this design helps to facilitate healthy airflow and ventilation through each pod.

We remind guests to keep the volume down after 9pm and we regret that you had to experience otherwise. We will amp up our efforts in communicating this to all guests so that we can keep disturbance to a minimum.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We may be contacted at pillowtalk@matchbox.sg or at +65 6423 0237 if you'd like to chat. Have a nice day!

Best Regards
Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

I'll give it 3.5 stars.

Pros:

Great location. Walking distance to Chinatown but in a classy and quieter area.

It's above average in terms of cleaniless. Everything is spotless and someone makes your bed during the day.

Large attic lounge with comfy couch and lots of large bean bags and flat screen TV with DVDs.

Free 24 hr breakfast of white bread, peanut butter, jam, cereal, milk, fruit juices, tea & coffee.

Towel, shampoo, soap, hot water included.

Staff are friendly.


Cons:

Wifi didn't work most of the time. Seemed to work only if I stood outside in the hallway which was a pain.

Staff are friendly but doesn't seem to go out of their way to offer suggestions or help. If you've been in other hostels, you'll know what I mean. They're just not very engaging. They'd answer your question alright but that's pretty much it. Kinda feels like they just do the minimum.

Mattress very uncomfortable. They sag and gave me back pain every morning.

They leave the remote control to the aircon in the shared room. So some idiot keeps turning it to FAN MODE which was just made the whole room hot and stuffy. My suggestion is to turn it to a reasonable temperature (e.g. 22-23 degrees) and just don't leave the remote in the room.

Pantry very small. If one person is making breakfast, you'll have to wait your turn.


Conclusion:

If you're looking for a no frills, very clean stay, this is it.

Next time I come, I'll try somewhere else for better wifi, more real and friendly staff, a bed that won't hurt my back.

Room Tip: Top bunks offer more privacy, if you're game for climbing up and down all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMonmorency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I would highly recommend this hostel: excellent location, cozy quite streets around still with some night life, everything is close, staff is extremely friendly, rooms and linen are clean, toilets and showers are very well thought of, bed positioning gives you privacy and you don't notice other 11 people in the dorm. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnastasiyaKul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was my first visit to Singapore and very much enjoyed staying at Matchbox. If I visit again and stay at a hostel, I would for sure stay here and recommend it to other travelers.

Positives: nice comfy spacious beds, which actually feel very private with 12 people in 1 room. Air conditioning which each room controls, an absolute must in Singapore. Free shampoo and shower gel and even some make-up and other beauty products available in the room to use. Good common area upstairs with tv and wifi. Oh and also you have your own plug inside your bed to allow for easy and safe charging of electronic overnight.

The location is good and on the outskirts of China Town. It's even not too far of a walk toward the marina. Beware though that the bars in this area can be a bit pricey.

Negatives: wifi often didn't work. There is no bar area. Water was always warm but never hot. The pressure could have been a built better as well. Didn't spent much time in the kitchen but it was small and dint seem well equipped for making dinners.

Although the majority of staff are very helpful, there was a new employee who often had to call someone to ask and then get back to me. Also, since it is a hostel, it would be nice to get recommendations for cheaper activities, places to eat and go out around town. We are after all, mostly traveling on a tight budget.

Room Tip: I suggest the top bunk here for a bite more privacy. Well it's not really a bunk bed but more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelindaBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I go to Singapore at least 4 times a month and each time i'll try out various different accomodations. However, i've finally found my home in Singapore, Matchbox The Concept Hostel. I've been back at least 3 times and this has certainly been my home away from home.

Rooms: Spring Mist.
Although it has I think about 16 people in the room, it sure doesn't seem like it on a full house and it's very comfortable and self sufficient. The mattress is just superb.

Staff:
Very friendly and knowledgable. All of them are very smiley and very helpful. Makes one feel right at home.

Freebies:
The only place i know in town who doesn't charge exhorbitantly for their laundry and dryer services and provides free shampoo and showergel in the toilet.

The place is also spotless and very clean! If there's any dirt anywhere, just call for a Matchboxer crew and it gets cleaned up immediately!

Number 1 place in Singapore!

Room Tip: Springmist is cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is the best hostel in Singapur because of location and bed. Bed is special and private and staff is very helpful. Always ready smile and freundlich I always feel at home when I am here. The place is clean and I love the massage room Best!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Clean! Nice location, helpful staff, enough bathrooms (with shampoo and showergel), lockers, wifi, in your cabin you have your own plug and light, 2 pillows, sheets, towel. Close to food market and bars. Nice design and new!
My friend is singapore was surpised there was a hostel one of his favourit areas in town!
Dislike: 16 in one room (mixed dorm) might wake you up in the middle of the night.... cabins are a little warm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewyAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#13 of 244 in Singapore
624 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 83 in Singapore
259 reviews
Little India
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#77 of 244 in Singapore
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#54 of 244 in Singapore
187 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Capsule Hostel
Wink Capsule Hostel
#7 of 244 in Singapore
754 reviews
Fisher BnB
#2 of 244 in Singapore
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs

Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore (Formerly Matchbox The Concept Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £16 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you a young startup or entrepreneur on a budget, busy building your business venture and need an affordable yet soulful accommodation in the heart of Singapore? Then look no further! Come to Tribe Theory – Venture Hostel where we understand the journey of entrepreneurship. Tribe Theory is a space for you to explore and engage with likeminded people on the same entrepreneurial journey. We are ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel for Startups & Entrepreneurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe Theory - Venture Hostel For Startups & Entrepreneurs Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing