We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was not a good experience for my friend and I. We checked in for one night and when we entered the room it was the size of a very small bathroom except for that there were 10 bunk beds crammed in there. There was air but it was hot and sticky and the room smelled like mold. The towels smelled like a dog had pissed on them (to say the least). The bathrooms were mixed so the privacy is little to none. But, I guess if you are backpacking and you dont mind not having any space or privacy than this is an ok place for you to chill. Basically the pictures on the website seem to be a bit deceiving. The ONLY good thing I can say about this place was that the staff was very kind and the location was amazing. For my friend and I it was not worth it to stay for another evening there no matter how much of a budget we are on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 924ashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    93
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
43
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

If your looking for something cheap but not wanting the usual hostel, this is one of the better hostels in Singapore.

Great location, near MRT, food and shopping as well as Chinatown.

Staff are very helpful and polite. Unlike Wink hostel they did provide free towels and bathroom amenities.

The condition of the hostel appears to have been overlooked over the last few months. My light in the room did not work, the light behind the bed only worked on one side, the AC while on full blast the whole day never cooled the place off, especially the top bunk, and the splattered residue of some sort of liquid on the walls was not too enviting.

The mattress was a very normal thin foam matteress that seemed to have a life of its own. The relaxation room with the massage chair is well worn as well and hotter than hades.

Bathrooms are excellent, somehow giving great privacy in a coed environment.

Overall matchbox hostel was a good place to stay on a budget but not up to the rave reviews in GQ and on other sites.

I believe Wink hostel has them beat by a margine

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Matchbox is located in a quiet and clean road just off of Chinatown. It's close proximity to Maxwell Rd hawker centre is a bonus for cheap, authentic Singaporean/Chinese and Asian cuisine.
The hostel itself is very clean and tidy, and never felt crowded, even though I was in a 10-pod dorm. I really enjoyed the good night's sleep being in a pod afforded, and having your own reading light and charge point without disturbing anyone was great.
The hostel is situated round the corner from two metro stations, and there's a simple free breakfast on offer.
My only complaint is the website advertises 'laundry and drying facilities which you can use for free' which isn't true, you have to pay for it. So take it off the site if you are reading, Matchbox!

All in all very nice place, helpful staff and well situated. Not cheap, but as with all hostels you usually get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We heard so much glowing rebiews about Matchbox from blogger-travellers which convinced my husband & I to give Matchbox a try. The hostel did not disappoint. It was w/in walking distance of the MRT, it was near a great food center, and was located in a quiet street. The place itself was charming: I fell in love w the indoor swing at the attic. The cube concept worked...beds are comfortable & my "room" had enough elbow space. Had a very pleasant sleep. If you're charging your phones or other gadgets, though, make sure you get an adaptor plug. You have the run of the pantry, too, where you get free all-day breakfast. Best of all, if you're a design buff, Matchbox is a hop & skip away from the City Gallery and the Red Dot Museum. All these for a very reasonable rate. We'll definitely be back. :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seraphimium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

If you are travelling solo, like I was, this is an excellent option for you. The rooms are large, but the beds are setup in these small "pods", so you still have a fair amount of privacy. It's extremely clean and the location is excellent, 5 min walk to the subway and 2 min walk to the heart of chinatown.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I made a reservation at this hostel after struggling to find decent and affordable hotels in Singapore that corresponded with my budget. I had no regrets as the location is great relative to restaurants and shops, there are lots of transport options nearby, and Chinatown is just around the corner. My room and bed were small - they were clean and did the job, but you just need to make sure you are in hostel mode and don't have unreasonably high expectations.

The service was good e.g. I was allergic to the room deoderiser and when I reported this, it was turned off with little fuss; getting my boarding pass printed was not an issue etc).

Potential areas for improvement are:
*Keeping the toilet stalls which double as shower stalls as well clean and dry on a more regular basis. It was kind of icky stepping on a wet floor and dealing with a wet toilet seat.
*The website and my subsequent e-mail correspondence with the hostel indicated that the laundry facilities were free. However, when I enquired again after checking in I was told I would have to pay separately for the washing machine and tumble dryer. I felt that this was misleading advertising on their part, particularly because I had factored in the 'complementary' services when comparing the Matchbox with other hostels before making my decision.

I would def recommend this place as the above were relatively minor inconveniences for me.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank fm123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

nothing much to say as too many opinions will make it seems like too reluctant.. one word to describe, "GREAT"! u will feel the GREAT when u experience it urself.. =) really a big thumbs up for this hostel..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_wyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Chinatown
Box Capsule Hostel
Box Capsule Hostel
#121 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#96 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Chinatown
No photo provided
Heritage Hostel
#153 of 223 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchbox The Concept Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Property: Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near Chinatown, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer MRT Stations, Matchbox The Concept Hostel is the best one-stop pod hostel to stay at during your adventure in Singapore. With two famous hawker centers - Amoy Street Food Centre and Maxwell Road Hawker Centre -located just minutes away from our doorstep, you can definitely eat your fill of the many delicacies of Singapore. If that's not what you are looking for, fret not, as we are certain that one of the surrounding cafes, restaurants and bars will be able to satisfy your cravings. Besides that, we also provide complimentary daily breakfast, as well as, free flow of coffee, tea, milk and juice to kick-start your day. Not sure where to go to after having your meal? Feel free to check with any of our friendly staff who will be more than happy to provide you with maps, tips and information on the best places to visit in Singapore. No matter whether you are more interested in culture, history, shopping, entertainment or relaxation, we are absolutely sure that we will be able to find something that will suit your needs. In addition, enjoy special discounts when you purchase attraction tickets from us during your stay. After a long day of exploring Singapore, we know that your feet and back might be sore. Hence, Matchbox offers you exclusive complimentary use of our full-body massage chair, neck massager and foot massager. Moreover, we also provide you with two pillow choices - hard and soft pillows -to ensure that you will have a good and comfortable rest for another day of adventure. Want to say a few words to your friend sleeping in the pod beside you before you sleep? Simply unlock the creatively designed peep holes that we offer between our pods. However, if you are too lazy to entertain your chatty friend, you may wish to lock up your side of the peep hole so that he/she won't disturb you (Kidding! We hope you won't do that to your friend! Haha!). For added privacy, Matchbox also offers satin curtains for each of our pods as we believe in providing you with a good night's sleep. So what are you waiting for? Book with us now as our friendly team can't wait to welcome you at our hostel!:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing