We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice clean place and a super friendly staff that can help with almost everything! The location is good and about 7 min walk to 2 different metro stations. The box concept gives you more privacy which I'm a big fan of.
The downside was my mattress which was really worn out and flat in the middle and that they only put on the air-con on from about 7 pm to 11 am and it smells a little like a basement.
Overall a really nice hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaToendering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Matchbox The Concept Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent a few times in this hostel based in heritage shophouse perfectly located in the heart of the city near to Tanjong Pagar MRT and within very short walking distances of all kinds of eateries.
I valued very much the assistance and flexibility of the management, as well as the clean and neat rooms, bathrooms and all common areas.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: any room looks fine; the pod style beds provide you a good night sleep even when someone comes in la...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koenraad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Matchbox is an excellent hostel, in line with the latest and newest hostels one can find in Hong Kong, Singapore and other cities. The bed is comfortable, not too hard so can sleep, and the "box style" give some extra privacy. There's plenty of space and a surprising set of two massage chairs, first time have seen that in a hostel...

It's near Chinatown and right next to the "party street", so it's very convenient, and the Maxwell food court is just awesome mmmmh

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduardJTur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Good location - centrally located between two MRT stations. Very near with food centre and pub is only walk away. Nice and friendly staff. But the most important thing is the hostel is clean. Love to visit again. Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The location is perfect. On one corner a lovely neighbourhood food court of 40 odf choices. The other has some of the best quaint eateries in Singapore. 2 mrt train station within walking distance. Great management at the hostel who even helped me plan a last minute trip to Indonesia's Batam island. Great place people. Ps love the oddity of the pod concept for a backpackers!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teve-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My friend and I booked this hostel hours before we arrived in Singapore. David was great and stayed up late awaiting our arrival. The staff were all so friendly and personable, they provided us with great advice of what to do while in Singapore and the cheapest ways to get around. The dorm beds were comfortable and super cute.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I'd say that this is probably one of the better hostels in Singapore given it's excellent location and cleanliness. The nightlife in the area is pretty happening, mostly expats in the area though. Outside the hostel, food choices are plenty ranging from cheap eateries (maxwell food centre) to expensive restaurants. Near two mrt stations, tanjong pagar and chinatown. Staff here are very friendly and helpful. I didn't bother bringing an umbrella with me when I went to Singapore and they offered me an umbrella to use when and flip flops when I wanted to go outside. Internet connection is bad though; hard to get a good connection. Beds are quite private and enclosed which in paper should be good but I found to not be. Made it hard to socialize with other people. Still made good friends though so it really is not that big of a problem. Overall, a good hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal Jordan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,563 reviews
Chinatown
Box Capsule Hostel
Box Capsule Hostel
#90 of 234 in Singapore
10 reviews
Chinatown
Heritage Hostel
Heritage Hostel
#124 of 234 in Singapore
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Royal Hostel Singapore
Royal Hostel Singapore
#70 of 234 in Singapore
126 reviews
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#89 of 234 in Singapore
76 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 234 in Singapore
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchbox The Concept Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £17 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near Chinatown, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer MRT Stations, Matchbox The Concept Hostel is the best one-stop pod hostel to stay at during your adventure in Singapore. With two famous hawker centers - Amoy Street Food Centre and Maxwell Road Hawker Centre -located just minutes away from our doorstep, you can definitely eat your fill of the many delicacies of Singapore. If that's not what you are looking for, fret not, as we are certain that one of the surrounding cafes, restaurants and bars will be able to satisfy your cravings. Besides that, we also provide complimentary daily breakfast, as well as, free flow of coffee, tea, milk and juice to kick-start your day. Not sure where to go to after having your meal? Feel free to check with any of our friendly staff who will be more than happy to provide you with maps, tips and information on the best places to visit in Singapore. No matter whether you are more interested in culture, history, shopping, entertainment or relaxation, we are absolutely sure that we will be able to find something that will suit your needs. In addition, enjoy special discounts when you purchase attraction tickets from us during your stay. After a long day of exploring Singapore, we know that your feet and back might be sore. Hence, Matchbox offers you exclusive complimentary use of our full-body massage chair, neck massager and foot massager. Moreover, we also provide you with two pillow choices - hard and soft pillows -to ensure that you will have a good and comfortable rest for another day of adventure. Want to say a few words to your friend sleeping in the pod beside you before you sleep? Simply unlock the creatively designed peep holes that we offer between our pods. However, if you are too lazy to entertain your chatty friend, you may wish to lock up your side of the peep hole so that he/she won't disturb you (Kidding! We hope you won't do that to your friend! Haha!). For added privacy, Matchbox also offers satin curtains for each of our pods as we believe in providing you with a good night's sleep. So what are you waiting for? Book with us now as our friendly team can't wait to welcome you at our hostel!:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing