We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made the right decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forest by Wangz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Coming to Singapore for 2 weeks to visit our daughter, we found the choice of hotels totally bewildering. We decided to go for the Forest by Wangz because it was rated so highly on tripadvisor. We certainly made the right decision. We loved the fact that the hotel is small and slightly out of the centre (although walking distance from Orchard Road and also on the excellent 124 bus route). We found the atmosphere at the hotel completely relaxing. We booked an apartment room which had everything you could need including a bath and a very well equipped kitchen. The furnishings were modern and spotlessly clean. The pool area was delightful, as was the rooftop lounge, and we also had our own large balcony. Above all, though, the staff were quite outstanding, striking the right balance between friendliness and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beaucaire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Beaucaire2,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted to have met your expectations and that the environment and staff provided a relaxing and amicable accommodation experience for you.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back when you plan your next visit to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Forest by Wangz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here for 7 days in January. Even though the design and the quality of the rooms were adequate, I thought it was one of the most overhyped hotels on Tripadvisor I have stayed at. The location is far from ideal (very few taxi driver knows where it is, walking to Novena Square still takes 10 minutes), and more importantly, unless you work in healthcare, there is nothing really interesting around here, it is situated amidst a sleepy residential area. The Forest appears to be a hybrid between an apartment and a hotel, featuring both the good (service almost everyday, even though you will quickly run out of soap since this is only replenished once a week, friendly staff and excellent breakfast) and the bad (small size, not ideal location) of both typologies. I left this place to stay at the WangZ hotel, which has a similar look-and-feel and compact design standards, but for me, works better, as it presents itself unambiguously as a hotel, and is located at a much more interesting location (Tiong Bahru, with its unique art deco feel and hip locales, and Chinatown), with direct access to the AYE.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear J H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at both our properties during you recent business trip to Singapore.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at THE FOREST BY WANGZ. Please allow me to address some of the comments mentioned in the review. Unlike a conventional hotel, we, as a serviced apartment, only provide weekly replenishment of Molton Brown bath amenities and offer limited facilities. We understand that some travellers prefer a more vibrant surrounding, but the quiet residential area we are located in also has some appeal for longer staying residents who prefer to unwind in a home-away-from-home at the end of the day.

Nonetheless, we are happy that you had a good stay experience at our sister property in Tiong Bahru and appreciate your compliments for WANGZ Hotel in this review.

Once again, we appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you to a WANGZ property in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have to say this place is great. Staff are friendly and accommodation A1. Rooms size about average and have that modern Singapore feel. Being a small serviced apartment it has good size fridge freezer, microwave, hob, small grill/toaster and kettle. I'm only staying 4 days, so not as if I need this, but Definitely a place I would stay if I was in town for a few weeks. Good pool and gym, a little small, but works. 5 minute walk to shopping centre, area feels safe and close to MRT.
Breakfast also good selection.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Italianjob744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Italianjob744,

Thank you for choosing to stay at THE FOREST BY WANGZ during your recent business trip to Singapore. We are delighted you had a pleasant accommodation experience and hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

it was a four nights stay with my husband; The place is so beautiful, clean and staff was very nice; Breakfats was a dream; it is located in the very center so easy access to the most important places; Modern decorated as I like; highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear caroline w,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted you and your husband enjoyed your experience at our serviced apartment and all of us look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A real home from home. The most friendly kind efficient staff I've ever met. Excellent location. Beautifully decorated. Clean and cosy. I would highly recommend it! Great swimming pool, long enough to do laps. Nice gym and a lovely is breakfast is served in the communal area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Granada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Granadabeach,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

Your compliments for the team’s service and the pleasant experience at THE FOREST BY WANGZ is much appreciated.

All of us look forward to your family’s return home in the very near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

When we first arrived at this hotel, after previously staying at the Quincy Hotel which laid on EVERYTHING, I was disappointed. No breakfast service on a Sunday! The room doors banging were loud, the handbasin in the ensuite was ridiculous, pool too exposed, breakfast/rec lounge not enough "proper seating",, No complimentary magazines in room, no room service, no coffee in room Shuttle times were dreadful.............
Thereafter:
Oh wait a minute, this place is really nice, and relaxing and not too in your face and wow, that Mr Gideon cooks a mean breakfast and is so pleasant, and hang on a minute, I just had a bottle of water delivered to me pool side and didn't even ask for it, was that the chap at reception who just left it without being annoying and asking me how my day was going?
Hey, I kinda like this afterall.....
Off to Nouvena shopping centre, its a short walk and onto the MRT train system to go anywhere within Singapore, so convenient, so cheap, so safe.
Loved the rooftop, great for popping open a bottle of bubble and looking out onto the Singapore skyline. Loved the breakfasts, loved the comfortable room, loved the amenities (Moulton Brown) and just loved being left alone to enjoy our holiday, knowing if we wanted anything, the very competent, friendly and obliging staff were there to help.
Would I go back there?
Yes
Would I recommend it to you and your family and your business?
Absolutely!

Room Tip: Rooms on the breakfast side are a lot quieter than road side (that by reception) TIP: write down th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear shazhunter,

Thank you for choosing to stay at THE FOREST BY WANGZ during your recent visit to Singapore.

I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at first impression but am happy to know all that changed for the positive as the days passed during your stay. As we operate as a serviced apartment, breakfast is unfortunately not served on Sundays and local public holidays, and in-room dining services are unavailable.

Due to space limitations in the apartments, we are unable to offer in-room coffee and magazines. However, residents have ready access to complimentary coffee and tea plus a selection of magazines in the Residents’ Lounge throughout the day.

Your feedback concerning the slamming doors is being looked into and a revision in shuttle service timings will be considered by the Management in the coming months.

Once again, we thank you for taking time to write this review and your recommendation is appreciated. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Wangz is beautifully designed and has excellent service. OJ especially made our stay a joy. The fact that we could also use the gym, which was small but had everything you need was brilliant. We loved breakfasts with the 'crazy chef'. The good thing about the Wangz is that it is a little out of town, so you can really relax while being in this big and bustling city. The underground is 5 minutes walk away and so are some shopping malls with lots of places to eat out and a super market to stock up on groceries. With small children it is ideal to have a small kitchen and a washing machine. I could not think of a better place to stay then this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jantien553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Jantien553,

We are honoured to be your ‘best place to stay in Singapore’. Thank you for complimenting OJ and Chef Gideon and for sharing your memorable experience with everyone.

Please visit us again when your travels bring you back here. All of us at THE FOREST BY WANGZ look forward to your family’s return.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#9 of 316 in Singapore
1,247 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#14 of 316 in Singapore
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest by Wangz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest by Wangz

Address: 145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £103 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest by Wangz 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FOREST BY WANGZ is an exclusive 38-apartment boutique serviced residence offering flexible short term and monthly stays in the heart of Singapore. Ideal for the expatriate on project assignment or relocation, the residence is located just a short drive from the vibrant Orchard Road, the financial district and medical research hub at Novena.Offering comfortable, modern style accommodations including a separate open plan style living and dining area with a fully-equipped kitchenette, the residence also has excellent leisure facilities such as a fitness centre, an outdoor infinity-edge lap pool and a rooftop garden with spectacular cityscape views.Residents at THE FOREST BY WANGZ are pampered by a dedicated team providing attentive and discreet service as we invite all to stay inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Forest by Wangz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest By Wangz Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing