We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Update, Still Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Hotel Singapore
Ranked #111 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needs Update, Still Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here last in Mar 2013. This time, I was given a really small room, uncomfortably small and strange arrangement. I've attached pictures of the black scuff marks all over the bottom of the wall. So dirty and unsightly. And such an easy fix. BUT, the hotel common areas are clean as is the outside and entrance. This is a smart/clean place, nothing fancy. Harbourfront location with easy access to ferries to Indonesia and the Cruise Centre. The staff are especially helpful and pleasant. The minibar is free with a couple of beers and soft drinks and juice. A perfect and thoughtful amenity for guests who arrive late and don't feel like searching for an open store or bothering with room service. BOTTOM LINE: For the rate I paid, it's still a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a higher floor facing the harbourfront/mall/water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelSingapore, Front Office Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Firstly, allow me to apologize for the condition of the room that was assigned to you. We are currently undergoing preventive maintenance which allows us to refurbish the wear and tear of all our rooms and keep it in sparkling shape for all our valued guests. Please be assured that your next experience with us will be truly beyond your expectation. Our standard room which you were booked for is at 15 sqm , our deluxe rooms are at 23sqm and our suites are at 35sqm in size.For bigger room space we would recommend our deluxe and suite rooms.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's excellent location, the mini bar facilities and that the service levels of our staff were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and looking towards your return.

Yours sincerely
Nigel Vsandh
Front Office Manager
Bay Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    367
    216
    69
    50
See reviews for
174
261
64
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at the deluxe room in 9th floor with my wife & 2 kids (aged 1 & 3). Man the room was so small we barely have enough space to move around. I honestly think the 23sqm room size as advertised in the hotel website is somewhat misleading. I have stayed at other hotel with my whole family in 23sqm room size and its definitely a lot more bigger than this one (i.e Radisson Hotel, Brunei).

I read the other reviewers about small room size but couldn't 100% sure as the hotel website said otherwise. But its actually true & i hope the management could do something on the website details so that the customer can at least prepared for it.

No offence, but i think the room is almost as big or perhaps a little bigger than Tune Hotels room.

The bed is somewhat smaller than Queen size. We used to sleep on the Queen bed back at home & it can fit all of us comfortably. But this one, its not so much :(

The shower room is small and can only fit one person at a time. So if you want to shower the kids, you have to struggle a bit.

The breakfast is okay, not much choices but still enough. The croissant is a must try. In fact you should try all their pastries. Its damn good!. The table setting & chairs is cozy looks. The waiters are very attentive. They provide a kid chair when we come in without asking.

The hotel wins on its location as it sits just accross the Vivocity Mall (5 minuts walks). You can also walks to Sentosa Island via the Sentosa Boardwalk (around 30 mins walks).

Overall i must say its still a pleasant experience if you prepared what you would expect.

Room Tip: no rooms is good as its all small :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilyasishak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayHotelSingapore, Front Office Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We thank you for the feedback and have taken all aspects of it and on a positive note we are delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast, the restaurant ambience and the service standards that we pride after.
Our rooms are recommended for a 2 person stay. However, for guests with children staying with us we would normally and strongly recommend our family rooms. What sets apart from the normal door to door connecting rooms are that our family rooms were well thought of and designed especially for family travelers giving a very private atmosphere.
We have also updated on our website which not only states the size of the rooms it also indicates the floor plan for each category of room type.

Although there were certain aspect of your stay which was not to your satisfaction we do hope that you would give us another opportunity and stay with us for your return visit.

Yours sincerely
Nigel Vsandh
Front Office Manager
Bay Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
324 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We selected this hotel because is was suppose to be close to the cruise ship pier. Turns out that was not the case. It does provide easy and close access to Sentosa Island, but the size of the room killed it for us. We had a much larger room on a cruise ship! The staff was friendly and helpful...room was clean and neat...location was OK for us, but not great. We stayed at another hotel at the end of our cruise that was much nicer and a bit cheaper...with a much better location in the central business area of Singapore.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a major highway. Our room faced the highway and was quite noisy. Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Our first reaction when we came into the room was that it was much smaller than it had seemed in the photos online. The room was clean though and had everything you could wish for, coffee/tea making possibilities, clean shower with good water pressure (only in the ceiling nozzle though, the hand shower had no pressure whatsoever though).
The staff was excellent and very friendly, service was great.
We had room service one time and ate in the hotel restaurant one time, both times the food was excellent and the service was good.
The hotel has a nice rooftop pool which is nice to have in a hot and humid city like Singapore.
According to the information the hotel is supposed to have a gym to, however I wouldn't go far as to call it a gym, it is more like a closet with a couple of dumbbells and a all-in-one machine, but nevertheless it is there if you should feel the need to exercise.
Other than this the location is great, walking distance to Sentosa Island and 5 minutes from the MRT station Harbour Front.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flaflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Right from the reservation to the stay, Bay Hotel just doesn't cut it.

Having e-mailed the request for a one night stay, I received lacklustre attitude and confusing instructions on the promotion packages and reservation instructions. Doesn't help when their replies are inconsistent amongst the staff and I had to resort to calling the hotel directly to clarify on the emails.

The stay was less than pleasant. Cemetery facing and slow turnover of the rooms, resulted in long waits (i.e. beyond the 2pm official check-in time). Despite various enquiries by the guests, the hotel staff doesn't appear in a rush to ensure their promises are fulfilled.

Well, suffice to say, I will not be doing any staycation at Bay Hotel again. Nor would I recommend any one to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelvinL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel in November 2013. It is located exactly in front of Vivo City Mall (you have just to cross the street) and from here you can go to Sentosa Island via Sentosa Station. The staff are super friendly and almost everyone will greet you wherever they meet you. They provided free flow mini bar which was a luxury for my son and very high speed internet access. The breakfast selection are the combination of Asian and western style, so i presume every visitors can get what they want to have for breakfast. However, one thing that I could find as the drawback was, the room is too small. Just nice to place two single beds in a room, one glass door fitting room size shower room, no wardrobe. In fact the TV is placed at the shower room glass door :). In fact you will find it is difficult to even place your luggage and shopping bags. But, personally, that shouldn't be a problem for me as most of the time, we were only be in the hotel to sleep. Overall, it is great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbuEmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

So my wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last week as we were struggling to find affordable accommodation around the New Year period. All I can say is how surprised we were from everything that we had read about this hotel. The staff were amazing, The rooms were so clean and amazingly well maintained. I know that people say the room were small but we had enough room for our bags and walk around, the shower/toilet set up might be difficult if you weren't close to the people you are staying with (you can't see anything but you can hear). To top it off there was the free minibar and unlimited wifi which made the journey so much better.

The biggest surprise was how close it was to everything. While we were there the weather wasn't the best but all you have to do is cross one road and you will be in the Vivocity shopping centre which has every store you could imagine. From here you can also catch the monorail over to Sentosa Island but it is actually better to take the board walk because when we turned up there were no queues to buy any tickets and walked straight in which was better than waiting for a few monorails. Also some amazing dining options were the Food Republic stalls (one in Vivocity up on level 3 or the outdoor one located opposite the hotel).

Even checking out was easy and a cab waited to take us to the airport even though it was 5:30 am. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the size of the standard room get the next size up. Try to get a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
2.0 mi away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#66 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#206 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Ville Hotel
Harbour Ville Hotel
#228 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Re!
Hotel Re!
#126 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.5 mi away
ZenRooms Bukit Merah
ZenRooms Bukit Merah
#292 of 308 in Singapore
2.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel Singapore

Property: Bay Hotel Singapore
Address: 50 Telok Blangah Road Bay Hotel Singapore | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the gateway to Sentosa, in the heart of it all. The diamante-inspired facade, Bay Hotel Singapore, sets the stage for a pleasant stay of convenience in a modern boutique hotel. The 11-storey hotel comes fully equipped with its own set of modern comforts and facilities, home with 333-rooms offering stunning views of Sentosa or verdant embrace of Mount Faber through its panoramic bay windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing