We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ultimate Food Journey
19

Book in advance
from
£78.51
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Joo Chiat/Katong
from £78.51
More Info
from £386.52
More Info
from £72.47
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
39
52
15
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
52
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pre war peranakan culture seng shophouse beads mrt shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The Joo Chiat area is another well-preserved Peranakan district of Singapore where a multi-cultural mix of Malay, Chinese, Eurasians and expatriates reside. We strolled past many colourful heritage (pre-war architecture), two-storey shophouses, quaint stores, terraced homes and eateries with ornate facades, intricate motifs and colourful ceramic tiles. There are also great eateries in this area.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Can't miss the multi-coloured double-storey terrace houses with traditional Peranakan style at Koon Seng Road.I'm lucky to live this beautiful and charming area.Every time I pass by those shophouses.I feel like touching local history along with the sweetest fragrance of plumeria in the town.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 755inesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Dined at this compact food hall with my local friend and his family last night (Sunday) and again for coffee this morning. It was busy with tables turning over regularly.

The food hall is on the corner of Joo Chiat and Dunmoon Rds.- there are five stalls with a wide range of choices at really good prices - thoroughly enjoyed the seafood steamboat, honey chicken, chicken wings, spicy squid, prawns, clams, vegetables and steamed rice.

It is family orientated with many local residents dining - opens each day from 6am to 1am the next morning.

If you are exploring the historic Joo Chiat/Katong area it is worth checking out - the Tin Yeang Restaurant is recommended.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank PAC_WestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Joo Chiat and Katong area (Marine Parade) are local resident area with a lot of delicious dining outlets. Also you can find Peranakan culture here (shops, restaurants etc) shows the history of Straits-born Chinese first move to Singapore.

As a tourist, there are not much to see compare to major attractions in town but very nice to chill or walk around the area if you got a day to spare.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank nfong929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I saw the photos on TA and decided it's a worth a stop for the contrasting colors of old Singapore. It's probably worth a read on wiki before you head there as you might appreciate it more when you see it in person. I wish there was some sort of plaque that introduces the history of this area. The colored residences are literally on the same block, I thought there was more. Maybe there is but I ventured here solo and didn't want to wander too much in the humidity. Taking bus #16 from City Hall/Raffles area is easy, can't miss it.

On the way back, if you don't get on the station from 112 Katong mall, the next one is quite a walk away, but that's how I bumped into Dunman Centre, another hawker centre. Always up for more local eats when in Singapore!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank snoozepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews