We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ultimate Food Journey
19

Book in advance
from
£78.51
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Joo Chiat/Katong
from £78.51
More Info
from £386.52
More Info
from £72.47
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
39
52
15
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
52
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pre war peranakan culture seng shophouse beads mrt shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This place is different than others in Singapore. Very colourfull of peranakan building. Katong is not favorite amoung tourist caused is downtown in Eastcoast Singapore. But is worth to visited.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank silvianisrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2017

If you are interested in local colour, shophouse heritage architecture, unusual shops and local delicacies (such as Peranakan kueh - sweets), spend a few hours exploring Joo Chiat Rd and neighbouring streets. Worth the trip if only to taste the exquisite curry puffs at the tiny Mastura Bakery.
Hope my photos will speak for themselves show you the delights of the area.

Date of experience: March 2017
4  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Great place to walk around and enjoy the old with the new. Many local restaurants up and down Joo Chiat road. And day time has a VERY different atmosphere than a night.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This enclave is filled with colourful heritage shophouses and terrace houses with ornate facades. This Peranakan and Eurasian area has an amazing number of restaurants and traditional coffee-shops offering a range of cuisines.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank nellielim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The Joo Chiat area is another well-preserved Peranakan district of Singapore where a multi-cultural mix of Malay, Chinese, Eurasians and expatriates reside. We strolled past many colourful heritage (pre-war architecture), two-storey shophouses, quaint stores, terraced homes and eateries with ornate facades, intricate motifs and colourful ceramic tiles. There are also great eateries in this area.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews