We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome set up for loft suite!!”
Review of The Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sultan
Ranked #176 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome set up for loft suite!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay with my wife. The room is great, comfort level at its peak... we truly loves the stay. Breakfast was ok for light eater... Staffs are friendly and helpful. The location is where we want it to be, affordable restaurants and food market are just walking distance when you are hungry... overall, its worth the stay, definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    137
    67
    19
    15
See reviews for
26
114
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Sultan is in a fantastic location!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ........minutes walk to the Malay Cultural Center and its gardens and just beyond that the old Arab quarter proper with its little shops, restaurants and Mosque .There are great eating venues, foot massage centers and little stores steps away. From the hotel we walked to Chinese district and Indian district as well -cabbed it back though :-). I really loved the ambiance of this little boutique hotel; it is quite charming.The room was sufficient ( I booked the cheapest single that they had - not much natural light) - it was about the size of a moderate room in Kyoto :-). The room was very clean and nicely appointed, as was the bathroom. The service was great, the staff was most helpful with recommendations and directions, breakfast was included and fine. Upstairs in the evening was a nice band playing at the jazz club ( there is a cover or min. drink purchase required). I booked a single room ( one of the cheapest). I truly enjoyed my stay here and will stay here again. I rate this a 5 star for what it is (in its category)....and what it is, is wonderful! Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we spent 2 nights in the sultan hotel. great service, helpful staff and clean & calm rooms. Great for a city trip. the mrt is only a 10 minute walk away. there are two stations in same distance. lavender and bugies, depends on what direction you need. breakfast was ok. perfect for a short trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabea198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant stay. They upgraded us to Sultan Suite with a lovely cake with wishes is given and helped me to print out the letter which I asked them to help. They are very accommodating as I asked for single early check in on 1230 is accepted as I wanted to give my bf a surprise as I dated him to have lunch at their TOOTS BRASSERIE. The receptionist was very excited to say it is very rare that a girl would think to surprise the guy. The room is spacious with a row full length windows to see Aliwal street. The king bed is very comfy with very good linen. They provide very good quality toiletries as the supplier also provide the toiletries to some Hilton, Sheraton, Meridien, Ritz Carlton, etc... However, the toilet is too small and my bathrobe was went in the toilet door handle. However, you might listen horns from the road when there is impatience drivers on the road. however, we are not light sleepers. All I can say is I love this lovely hotel for their good service ad definitely will come again for staycation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GnemLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my 1st visit to The Sultan, and I enjoyed my week there tremendously. The staff was very friendly, and were very patient with my multiple requests and visits from friends. The room is very well laid out with complimentary mini bar, wifi. I must admit I didn't try their restaurant or Jazz bar, as there were just so many wonderful eating joints around, and quaint little shops to explore. Only set back is the occasional noise from the back alley. But nothing too dramatic. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

the hotel room has got good ambiance and layout. and it's located not far away from the MRT at a walkable distance. however, the staff was not friendly at all when i was staying there. me and my friends can't even get extra towels or pillows!

the staff/hotel need to work extra on their customer service.
definitely not going to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights. It was our third visit and Ms Charmaine Ong and her team are still as friendly and helpful as the first time we visited a few years ago. The hotel has wonderful charm, beautifully restored and lovely furnishings. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which is a large room with comfy chair, big bed and comfy pillows. the room is kept spotless. Included in the room rate is complimentary water daily, shower robes and slippers, free wifi (no problems with the wifi either). Breakfast used to be buffet but now they cook your eggs to order so they are nice and hot - our only criticism was that the sausages served with eggs and bacon tasted terrible and the fruit platter was a very small serving. Also the gentleman in charge of the breakfast room was a bit grumpy! But these are minor concerns. The hotel will provide a shower room after check out if you have a late flight. The hotel is close to Lavender and Bugis MRT stations and also buses running along Victoria Road and North Bridge Road, highly recommend buying a tourist pass if you are visiting, for example $30 for 3 days on all forms of transport, you can buy them from Bugis station. We love staying at the Sultan and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#132 of 314 in Singapore
192 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#135 of 314 in Singapore
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Hotel
#130 of 314 in Singapore
59 reviews
Hotel YAN
#54 of 314 in Singapore
377 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#93 of 314 in Singapore
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan

Property: The Sultan
Address: 101 Jalan Sultan #01-01 the Sultan, Singapore 199002, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sultan is a 64-room shop house style boutique hotel, nestled right in the heart of culturally vibrant Kampong Glam. Faithfully preserved and recreated from traditional Singaporean shop houses; The Sultan retains many beautiful architectural features that hark back to a time in Singapore’s past when Kampong Glam was a bustling shopping and trading district and shop houses were magnificently built with great arches and columns to be used by owners as both their personal residence and their place of business. The distinctive building which houses The Sultan’s main lobby is so prized for its historical and cultural relevance, and architectural beauty, that it has appeared on a 1996 Singapore postage stamp. At The Sultan, you won’t have to give up the perks of modern comforts and luxuries to get a taste of old world Singapore charm.Priding itself on good ol’ Singaporean hospitality, each and every single member of The Sultan family looks forward to making your stay one that is truly memorable. Be it a personalized walking tour through Kampong Glam, or just making sure you get your breakfast just the way you like it, The Sultan family hopes that you find in The Sultan a haven from the hustle and bustle, a refuge from the blazing Singapore heat, a home away from home.The Sultan boasts 64 hotel guest rooms, offering 8 different room types to cater to our guests’ different budgets and needs. No two room in The Sultan are exactly the same, spanning different visual themes, views and spatial set ups, giving our guests a little surprise each time they come back to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sultan Hotel Singapore
The Sultan Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing