We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
lefthandwillie
Surrey, United Kingdom

Clean, Comfortable, Quirky and Good Value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2024via mobile
Given the huge gulf between good and bad reviews I thought I’d add my thoughts following a 2 night stay in Feb 2024.

I found the check in staff to be brisk (in a good way) and friendly. I really think you make your own luck with hotel people and generally ignore reviews that complain of rude staff.

The room was certainly compact and quirky. I travelled solo; two people would have to do a kind of intricate dance to move around. Also my regular sized suitcase did not fit right under the bed, a quarter of it stuck out so I had to negotiate this when getting out of bed.

And yes, the signs on the walls are very confusing but with a certain charm. Instead of a sign to the pool saying This Way To The Pool it said something like How Do You Know What’s Out Here If You Don’t Look?

The pool…brilliant. Self service towels, plenty of room and looking out over leafy colonial buildings instead of the back of the skyscraper next door. Wonderful; calm and relaxing.

There is a shared kitchen which was widely used, and excellent coffee from a machine in reception. Tap with your card…who uses coins these days?

Location was superb, right next to One North station and there was even a food court in the station.

No fridge in the room, but there was no room in the room for one so for S$2.5 I bought a big bag of ice from the supermarket in the station and cooled my beers in the sink. You work it out; $2.50 for a daily bag of ice or $100 per night for a swankier hotel with a room fridge.

This was by miles the most affordable Singapore hotel that I found that had a proper swimming pool, which was one of my must haves. I enjoyed my time here and would certainly come back.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cynthia Lim, Owner at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this review
Responded 24 Feb 2024
Hi lefthandwillie,

Greetings from lyf one-north Singapore! Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback of your 2 nights stay at our co-living residence on Tripadvisor.

All of us are heartened to learn you had a pleasant stay with us, and you found your stay to be of good value. We are indeed glad to learn you enjoyed spending time at our pool area and you liked the tranquil and relaxing environment surrounding this area.

We sincerely thank you for your feedback about our team’s service. We are grateful that you see the positive aspects of our service and we assure you we have also taken note of the brisk manner our team attends to our residents.

Following your feedback, we will definitely improve in the way we communicate with our guests, and we will remind our team that friendly, proactive and patient customer-focused service and effective communication are quintessential in our industry and residence, as these service attributes help to build rapport with our residents and create positive experiences.

We thank you for your feedback about our rooms and facilities. To share, lyf is a co-living brand designed and managed by millennials for millennials and the millennial minded. It signifies a new way of living and collaborating as a community, connecting guests with fellow travellers and change-makers.

The lyf concept of co-living is one that comes with no frills. That generally means that a comfortable and space efficient room is designed with just the essentials included. Thus, we have provided larger fridges as a shared amenity at Bond, our social kitchen, and an added convenience of a smaller fridge on every floor.

Separately, we do hear you on the design of our bed with its storage space and we assure you this design element is something we will consider going forward.

All of us are truly grateful you have chosen to share your experience staying at our serviced residence because listening to customers is an important part of our on-going development of our products and services. In fact, seeking continuous improvements is an integral driving thrust of our serviced residence's mission for quality service. Thank you.

All of us are truly grateful you have chosen to share your experience staying at our serviced residence because listening to customers is an important part of our on-going development of our products and services. In fact, seeking continuous improvements is an integral driving thrust of our co-living residence's mission for quality service. Thank you.

Our doors are always open, and we earnestly look forward to welcoming you back here for your next set of adventures at lyf one-north!

Sincerely,
Cynthia Lim
Social Media Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£213
  • Expedia.com
    £246
  • ZenHotels.com
    £196
  • Hotels.com
    £229
4.3 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£106
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £106
  • Agoda.com
    £104
  • Expedia.com
    £106
4.2 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£156
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Hotels.com
    £157
  • Vio.com
4.1 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
Booking.com
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
    £118
  • Trip.com
3.4 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Pool
Restaurant
Facade
Booking.com
£112
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £110
  • KLOOK
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £112
5.0 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • ZenHotels.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
    £112
5.1 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£142
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • Algotels
    £186
4.0 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£140
  • Yotel
    £150
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Expedia.com
    £150
3.0 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£505
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £567
5.0 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Pool
Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £251
  • Trip.com
4.6 miles from Lyf One-North Singapore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
9
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mrt entrance water dispenser lobby area coffee machine swimming pool usb microwave plug dryer laundry pros cons convenience desk mall pillows gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2024

This hotel is specifically designed for solo backpackers and is recommended for stays of up to 2 days. However, our experience as two couples on a leisure trip to explore Singapore was not as expected. We made an online reservation after being enticed by the rooms showcased in the photographs with unique round windows and appealing wallpapers. Reservations were made with misleading information (photos and text) on the official website, leaving us disappointed upon arrival. Payment was made prior to check-in; however, to our surprise, my card was charged additional fees without any prior notice. We brought this issue to their attention, and they eventually refunded the amount back to my card, although it was unnecessary to put us through that hassle.

Unfortunately, upon entering our assigned rooms, we quickly discovered that they were not as depicted online. Instead of the vibrant and inviting ambiance we were promised, the rooms were plain white in color and significantly smaller than what was depicted in the photographs. The cramped space made it necessary for us to jump over our big suitcases just to reach the bathroom, which was incredibly inconvenient. The limited size of the room and lack of storage space left us struggling to find a place for our luggage, making it clear that only a cabin bag would be suitable for such small quarters. Additionally, the bed frame was larger than the mattress itself, posing a constant threat of painful collisions due to the already constrained space. These disappointing discoveries shattered our initial excitement of capturing Instagram-worthy moments and sharing our experiences with friends and family, let alone recommending the hotel to others. It was undoubtedly the most disappointing and terrible accommodation experience we had encountered in our many years of travel.

Despite the shortcomings in the room, the hotel's location was somewhat redeeming. It was conveniently situated within walking distance of the MRT and bus stops that took us to nearby malls and Quiet Street. However, even this positive aspect was not enough to overshadow our overall impression of the hotel. We couldn't help but feel that Lyf One North was attempting to present itself as an expensive and luxurious option, despite being more fitting for a budget hotel. It appeared that they still had a long way to go before achieving their desired image. Given the exorbitant rates they charged, we could have easily booked a few other nearby hotels that could have guaranteed better service, at the very least.

Moreover, our dissatisfaction extended to the lack of security or staff presence outside the hotel to assist us with our luggage or provide guidance. It was disheartening to have to handle our own luggage and load it onto a trolley after a long journey before even entering the lobby. To add to that, the reception staff did not welcome us warmly or display any enthusiasm during the check-in process, further dampening our initial excitement.

Our concerns about the discrepancy between the room description and the actual room were met with a dismissive explanation from the hotel staff. They claimed that the online images were merely "show rooms," which was clearly misleading and dissatisfying. Additionally, we were troubled by the absence of telephones in the room, as no orientation was provided regarding hotel emergency procedures or the location of public phones. This lack of clear communication and guidance only heightened our frustrations.

Furthermore, the housekeeping service left much to be desired. We had requested room cleaning, but they only provided fresh towels without properly wiping the floors or making the bed. Such basic hygiene practices should not have been overlooked by a hotel. In addition, the bidet shower in the bathroom was leaking, indicating a lack of attention to detail and proper maintenance. This not only caused us discomfort but also wasted water unnecessarily.

Moving on to the lobby area, it was decently furnished, and we were able to purchase coffee and snacks, although we had to use card payments as most transactions were cashless. However, the staff in general were not friendly or welcoming. A simple greeting as guests passed through the lobby would have made a significant difference in our overall perception of the hotel. Moreover, the housekeeping and other public area staff struggled with English, which is understandable, but basic directions regarding hotel amenities and facilities could have empowered guests to navigate and take care of their needs independently.

Upon checkout, when we requested a room extension for a couple of hours, our request was denied on the grounds of the hotel being fully occupied. However, when we showed willingness to pay for the extension, suddenly a room became available. This inconsistency was disappointing, and it would have been preferable if the hotel had offered some flexibility for late checkout, especially since we were occupying two rooms.

In conclusion, our experience at Lyf One North Singapore fell far short of our expectations, and we would strongly advise against it for couples or longer stays. The misleading information, lack of security and staff presence, disappointing room conditions, poor housekeeping service, and overall lackluster hospitality left a lasting negative impression on our trip to Singapore.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gynan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cynthia Lim, Owner at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Dear Gynan M,

Greetings from one-north Singapore.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at our co-living residence on Tripadvisor.

We deeply regret to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and we sincerely apologise for any shortfall in our service and facilities you might have expected during your stay. As guest service is our utmost priority, we would like to take some time to respond to your feedback.

To share more with you - lyf is a co living brand designed and managed by millennials for millennials and the millennial minded. It signifies a new way of living and collaborating as a community, connecting guests with fellow travelers and change-makers.

The lyf concept of co-living is one that comes with no frills. That generally means that a comfortable and space efficient room is designed with just the essentials included. Our rooms are purposefully designed to provide our residents with a comfortable stay. Beds on raised platforms allow our residents to stow away their luggage neatly and we separated the wash basin from the bathroom with the intention that 2 individuals staying in the room will be able to use both areas at the same time.

We would like to share as we want our residents to know about the size of our rooms before they decide on their stays with us as we understand the size of our rooms may not be ideal for some residents’ stay requirements or preference, the information about the room size can be found on our property’s landing page on the website of all online travel agencies that feature our co-living residence. We seek your kind understanding in this matter.

That said, we hear you regarding your feedback on the in-room facilities. Instead of TVs, we provide high speed Wi-Fi in our rooms and all public areas for our lyf residents (guests) to stream their online content seamlessly. Alternatively, we also encourage our residents to ‘live your freedom’ (lyf!) and thus, our functional social spaces aim to promote interactions and foster new friendships with other fellow residents during their stay.

We hope the above explanation paints a better picture of what lyf is about, as we do pride ourselves in offering our guests a new way to belong and to embrace the concept of co living.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our team’s service and please accept our sincere apologies regarding the lapse in service standards of our lyf guards (front desk staff). As our lyf guards play an integral role and are a big part of the lyf experience, we recognize this as an area of improvement for us and we assure you the necessary retraining efforts will be undertaken to ensure that the team delivers the high level of service we advocate at our property.

Separately, we note your feedback regarding information and the photographs uploaded on the website of the online travel agency you made your reservations through. As we would like to investigate this matter, we would like to seek your kind assistance to write to us to provide us with the details of this online travel agency so our colleagues in the relevant department can investigate and ensure information is correctly uploaded on this website.

We understand and respect that every resident has a different requirement, and we will strive to improve our overall stay experience.

We assure you that your feedback will allow us to further improve our product offerings and service standards and we sincerely thank you for it.

Once again, we apologise for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced while staying with us.

We wish you well.

Sincerely,
Cynthia Lim,
Social Media Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024

The main pro: Comfortable room for that price. It is very small but has most of the things you need if travelling single. If you are two, it will be a sardine squeeze. There are many cons, which may not be cons for young people accustomed to the latest technology. The main one is unfriendly and indifferent staff, especially the male reception staff. The whole environment is unfriendly and cold because there is no human element -- everything is automated. There is no phone in the room for you to contact anyone, and the foreign migrant worker cleaning staff are stupefied at any human contact. You feel like living in a future dystopia. Also, the building is just awful. Not only is the exterior the ugliest ever block of concrete I have ever seen in my life, but the interior is a whole zigzag maze of confusion, making it difficult to locate where you are and where your room is. The signs do NOT help because it's indecipherable. Why not just say "reception" instead of "Say hi"? For goodness sake, use common language that everyone understands!! Also, there is no real TV. The few channels that are available do not telecast smoothly and are very choppy. Otherwise, you'd have to stream something from your own device -- again, not everyone is young and hip and subscribe to the latest technology, and understands what to do with devices. Another poor aspect is the location. Well, it is in a very peaceful and quiet area with an underground station at its doorstep BUT the whole area is totally dead. There are a few office buildings in the vicinity and by evening and during weekends, the whole area is a ghost town and deserted. There is no way of finding anything to eat and drink. The hotel is absolutely inflexible as to its policy of: no cash allowed and minimal physical and human contact. Again, not everyone is up-to-date with the latest technologies and transaction methods. How about elderly travelers? Are they not welcome and given space to do transactions the traditional way? It seems this place is suited for long-term guests who have some business in the vicinity. Due to its location, it is not suitable for tourists.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cynthia Lim, Owner at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Dear FMoz,

Greetings from lyf one-north Singapore.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay. We’re so sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, and we would like to take the time to address some of your concerns.

It is disappointing to know that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, and we sincerely apologise for any shortfall in offerings and services that you might have expected during your stay.

The lyf experience especially when interacting with the lyf team is one that we wish to hold to the highest standard and this is certainly not what we had intended for your experience to be like. We assure you our management will investigate and counsel our team member concerned. Following your meaningful feedback, please allow us to assure you that the necessary retraining efforts will be undertaken to ensure that this remains an isolated incident. We strive for our guest experiences to be as lyf-ly as possible, and we will work hard to adhere to a high level of service excellence.

To share a little more about who we are and what we do - lyf is a co living brand that signifies a new way of living and collaborating as a youthful-minded community, connecting guests with fellow travelers and change-makers such as technopreneurs, start-ups as well as creative professionals from the music, media and fashion industries.

Every brand within the Ascott portfolio is unique in its own right, depending on the product. lyf centers around a community building and engagement experience. Our emphasis is on catering a hassle-free stay experience and providing various communal spaces which aim to facilitate bonding and interaction, for all guests on property. An example is that of our social kitchen, BOND, where we have shared fridges, cooking stations and a common dining area to facilitate the needs of our guests, catering to both short and long stays. Instead of TVs, we provide high speed WiFi in our rooms and all public areas for our guests to stream their online content seamlessly from their devices.


We hope the above paints a better picture of what lyf is all about and why some things may be a little intentionally different.

We understand and respect that every guest has different requirements and will strive to improve our overall stay experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share with us. We take all feedback very seriously and your meaningful feedback allows us to continue to improve our service standards, the products and facilities we offer our guests.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in future, our doors are always open.

Yours sincerely,
Cynthia Lim,
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2023

i LOVE the hotel. 1000/10 for the staffs because they’re so friendly and helpful. the whole area is also very clean!! the price is also affordable. i won’t forget to mention, THE FACILITIES!! the gym, swimming pool, the shared pantry & everything here are excellent!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GoPlaces06335776052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kaitlyn Lim, Guest Services / Front Office at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Hi there,

Greetings from lyf one-north Singapore!

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay and your kind words, we hope you had the time of your lyf!

Our doors are always open and we look forward to welcoming you back here for your next adventure. Come back anytime!

Cheers,
lyf Guard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2023

PROS :
- The property is pretty much very convenient for travellers who took public transport around Singapore.
- Bus station is right in front of the hotel
- MRT is right accross the hotel
- The place is quiet and peaceful
- Front Desk is very helpful and friendly
- Gym, Laundry and Shared Pantry is open 24/7 which is very convenient
- There is no loud noise allowed after 10PM which is very good
- Each floor have their own mini pantry (2 small fridge, water dispenser, small microwave, ironing board)
- Shared Pantry have Ice Box Maker where the Ice is 24/7 created which is very convenient

CONS :
- The floor can be quite cold at night due to the aircond and there is no hotel slippers available. You need to bring your own. Maybe if the hotel can upgrade to have the cheap slippers given, that would make the hotel 10/10!

Room tip: -There's luggage storage for visitors if they arrived early and check in is not ready yet. - The bus station and MRT is near
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TinieBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kaitlyn Lim, Guest Services / Front Office at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Hi TinieBP,

Greetings from lyf one-north Singapore!

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay, we're glad you enjoyed it! We believe you have shared the same feedback with us on another platform, and we have responded to it accordingly.

We do believe that in lyf, the joy is in all of the little things and thus, have purposefully designed spaces that are not only functional, but sparks joy! Thank you for noticing and sharing all the details, we're so glad it made your stay!

Our doors are always open, come back anytime!

Cheers,
lyf Guard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2023

Very good location as it was near an mrt (One north). Also loved how convenient the mall was to the hotel. There was a cold storage where we could get ingredients and use the central kitchen to cook. When we visited, there was an event where the staff treated us to free pizza. The vibes were food and we made some friends. Overall, good experience!

Room tip: The pool has beautiful sunsets so do remember to catch a view in the evening
Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sushigongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kaitlyn Lim, Guest Services / Front Office at Lyf One-North Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2023

Hi sushigongg,


Greetings from lyf one-north Singapore!


Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay, we hope you had the time of your lyf!


Our doors are always open and we look forward to welcoming you back here for your next adventure!


Cheers,
lyf Guard Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews