We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3-star hotel with strategic location & fabulous Chinese deco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good 3-star hotel with strategic location & fabulous Chinese deco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

A good & well decorated 3-star hotel with its traditional Chinese Opera theme is perfectly located in the heart of Singapore Chinatown which is strategically near to subway MRT station & bus station, is suitable for budget travelers, young couples & adventurous families.
Room is relatively small but very clean, and equipped with all daily & modern efficient amenities (standard toiletries, & functioning flat-screened TV, air-conditioner, water heater & safe box.)
The only negative aspect is the walls separated the guest rooms are quite thin & not sound-proof, whereby you could hear other guests talking along the corridor & from the next room.
Overall this hotel is strikingly beautiful with its traditional Chinese exterior & interior architecture, and its reddish ambience in the lobby area & big Chinese lanterns along the corridors' ceilings give you a nostalgic old Chinese palace feel & evoke the mood of Chinese New Year!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    498
    340
    90
    64
See reviews for
182
290
285
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good value for money.
Small rooms (it is difficult to enter the room since the door barely clashes with a corner of the desk), but with the basics you need (double bed, all-in-one bathroom and air conditioner) to keep it cheap and super central at the same time. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Good location. Easy to take MRT. Even this place not new bit still clean.For the people who need to spend much time in the room I think this is not the place for you cause the room is so small.But the point is this place is value for money and convinient if you travel by MRT

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchavaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This small hotel is in the very heart of Chinatown. Restaurants, street markets etc. are right at the door. It is also just 400 metres from the Chinatown MRT (train system) so access to/from the airport and most Singapore attractions is easy. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are tiny (the norm for this level of hotel in Singapore) but very clean. In a common area there are facilities for you to help yourself to instant coffee/tea at any time. Not all rooms come with a window – you need to ask. From the windows, you look out to traditional Chinese shophouses across the road. The hotel has a Chinese opera theme, which gives it some interest and character. I found the staff helpful, and check in/check out was easy. But be aware that the main entrance is actually on Temple street. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a room with windows to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable.
We value your feedback and hope it won't be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location is great and we had kept within our budget for a hotel within the town area.
However, try to avoid getting corner rooms as the shower and room tends to be smaller than the others of the same category. Also avoid getting the 2nd level along the road as noises from the pub/bars opposite will definitely be disturbing for light sleepers. Other than the small shower and noises, there's really nothing to complain about. Definitely worth the stay if you are on a small budget.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd level corner rooms along the main road for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Overall is ok, the environment is ok, make me like staying at home, so comfortable, but one thing I wanna say is no warm water at 2 nights to shower, that's I'm not satisfied, but I like this hotel overall, I will come again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avis0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We appreciate your time to write us a review. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have stepped up our equipment maintenance and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Your feedback is valuable in helping us improve our service quality and we look forward to welcome you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is close to Chinatown MRT and is very easy to find. It is also walking distance to Clarke Quay and other attractions nearby. We found the shower a bit too small to our liking, the shower head is virtually above the toilet seat! It is a basic room with all the essentials for short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We recognize some of the rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we encourage guests to use the lobby area which is quiet to relax and enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wi-fi service.
We appreciate your feedback look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#164 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#114 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#267 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing