We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Sexy Boudoir”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #141 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Sexy Boudoir”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Efficient front service, excellent bellboy/concierge and polite, knowledgeable staffs.The moment I stepped into the hall, I was immediately transported back into time where Chinese Emperors engaged his lovely Empress and Concubines. The ambience invokes passion with it's sexy red furnitures and fittings. The comfort of guests was not forgotten as there are lounges to make your coffee and tea in common area where you can sit and relax, or encourages you to mingle with other guests. Room facilities are at its simplistic with plenty of amenities (towels, shampoo, bath gel) to lasts for days in the room. The toilet is shared with the bath and basin. Perfect for solo or couple. Not far from MRT station, a step out of the hotel, you will be basks with the festivities of Chinatown market and the whiff of delicious food is everywhere. I will definitely return as Santa Grand hotel chains had never fail to impress me every time I stayed with them.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet night's sleep, don't go during Chinese New Year. Or choose a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to know the décor in Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen appeals to your liking as we seek to emulate the nostalgia of a chinese opera house in the early days of Singapore.
Our service team is very encouraged by your positive review and certainly looking forward to welcome your back soon!
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    504
    342
    94
    65
See reviews for
187
292
290
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As soon as I arrived, I was checked in very quickly and the staff were very helpful and efficient. I got a standard single room and as the name suggests, it was average, nothing fancy. The room was small but the important thing was that it was clean and suitable for sleep after a long day of sightseeing. It had no windows but the aircon was working very well. The bathroom was clean as well and was suitable for a short stay (e.g. one week). The walls were very thin and sound gets through it very easily, however, I didn't have any issues with that since I would go straight through sleep due to exhaustion caused by a whole day of sightseeing. Lastly, the WiFi was fast and efficient and greatly reduced my dependence on 3G connection (although it is not that expensive in Singapore).
In summary, the hotel was an ideal hotel for someone (or maybe a couple) who is just looking for a place to sleep for the night after a long day of sightseeing and get a shower in the morning. If you are someone who wants to stay in the hotel and relax most of the time, then I wouldn't suggest this hotel. I paid S$85/night which was very reasonable in comparison to the prices offered by the other hotels especially when the location is considered (bearing in mind that this was the high season and early in the January).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank matthew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is very unique as it was an opera house over 100 years old. If you like red, then this is definitely your hotel.Location is great,walking distance to MRT and close to city centre. Staff was very helpful and nice, we were put in a very confined room without windows when we 1st got there and asked to change to another room, staff was very accommodating.Value for money...Average.We paid $170 sgd per night with no breakfast. The biggest downfall of this hotel was the size of the room,particular the bathroom, you can't even swinging a cat in it. If this does not worry you, then this would a great hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try not to have the room facing the mall as it is noisy during the day time as it is being renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
We recognize that the size of the rooms are small especially Standard Room type and may be a bit inconvenient for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear about. If a spacious room is a guest's preference, the Deluxe room type would be our recommendation. However, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse need of customers.
Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel just for one day and it is not so much for compliment. Room is quite small but clean. Bathroom and sanitary facilities are kept in clean condition and well lighted Location is very great since near market and MRT station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cuong V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! We are delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hotel is located in central of chinatown, easy access to mrt station n also eateries. Room a bit small n noisy during events but very clean. Staff service n amenities in the hotel were average only. During cny it is very crowded even taxi can't go in to the street to drop us.

Room Tip: One of the corner side so noisy when there is an events until 2am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lily Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We are sorry to hear about your encounter with the noise level, however, due to the Chinese New Year period, there would be a lot of celebrations in Chinatown, thus the noise level.

Thank you again for sharing you experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Santa Grand again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good location.. it was quite an experience being right smack in the middle of the Chinatown market. We had a little trouble finding the place & didn't realize that they do not have any parking space. But the staff were very helpful & gave us parking options elsewhere.

Clean rooms (although smaller than appears on website), interesting modern Chinese decor, near LRT & not too far from Hop-on Hop-off tour bus stops.

Only negative was a construction project on the back lane they were trying to complete by Chinese New Year..quite noisy in the morning & till late evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MalaysianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We are sorry to hear about your encounter over the noise level but despite this we hope we delivered prompt and attentive service to make your trip enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand and we hope to welcome you soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

price is kind of expensive for very small room. But compliment should be given for its cleaniness. Bed is okay but pillows are kind of soft. another issue is the bathroom door is not sealed at the bottom, which result in water easy leak out during showering, which is not good.

Hotel interior has a red theme and traditional feel. Different from typical hotels. Worth a stay for the experience but not too many days.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Yes indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen features tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre.

We are glad your stay with us was different and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#175 of 315 in Singapore
350 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#260 of 315 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#274 of 315 in Singapore
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#125 of 315 in Singapore
248 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#86 of 315 in Singapore
673 reviews
Naumi Liora
#109 of 315 in Singapore
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing