We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near MRT easy for traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #154 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I forgot my wallet at lobby and I found it at lost & found service in hotel. I really appreciate staff sevices. This hotel located in great location, easy to find and easy for traveling by MRT. The room quite small but I stay at hotel when I sleep only so the size of room is not a problem for me. If you would like to stay at hotel with value price for your money in chinatown, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Peachzy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that our team managed to retrieve your wallet and that it was returned to you. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you had an overall enjoyable time with us.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Please take note of my feedback, there was 2 receptionist on duty during my stay there. Both were guys. I am very dissappointed with one of your receptionist and his name was "Ras.." ( didnt catch his full name). He was very rude in handling a customer. Not customer- oriented! I witnessed what happened between him and the other guest. The other guy with specs on was far way professional. He was the one who assist me during my stay there. I didnt catch his name too. I would like to thank him for the good customer service he has provided me during my stay!
Overall i love the hotel but its just that the room is a lil bit small. The hotel was pretty clean. I totally love the street foods eventhough im not used to it. Rating would be 4 out of 5. I highly recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollyxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Lollyxander,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable time staying at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! We have reviewed the approach of our service crew towards our hotel guests and shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations through guidance and retraining.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staff we're very unfriendly when I checked in but the gent who showed me to my room was nice. Room was basic but did the job. Bed was so hard that it was hard to get comfortable. Only thing going for it is that it is in the middle of Chinatown.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Keri F,

Thank you for your review on Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrive very late around 11.30pm but all everything is ready for us. The Reception just verify our identity and no question asked. Overall a good stay and easily connectable to public transport. However, management need to review and improve the sound insulation in room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Johnny L,

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to hear that despite you arriving late in the night, our team were well prepared and ensured that your check-in process was quick! Yes indeed, public transport is very easily accessible from Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen!

We are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was an opera house before, and rooms are decorated accordingly, very interesting. The room was small, yet the price is very competitive. It is clean and staff are nice. It is near the mrt and food street. Good to stay if you will spend time in hanging around Singapore rather than staying in the hotel all day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Conny L,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! Yes indeed Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen features tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the many eateries in the vicinity! We are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very nice hôtel that has been renovated in a very strategic place to discover Singapore and many nice restaurants. Yes the rooms are small, which is the case of most of the hôtels in that category in the city. The price is also expensive for the size of the room but the room is very confortable (nice bed, good AC, perfect shower).

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with balcony that was very nice and sunny but noisy during the day and until 11PM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adri_YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Adri_YK,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! Our team appreciate your great review and this only motivates us to work harder to provide even better service to our guests'! Yes indeed, there are many different eateries right outside our hotel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed them!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice hotel with good design and great location. Although the room is tiny, it is comfortable.
But one thing I wanna complain is that I can clearly heard the words and the music from the street and the room next to me.
I will rate 5 stars if the hotel can put more afford to sound insulation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyLkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear RickyLkm,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel! Thank you for sharing your concern with us and we will share this with the management for immediate attention.

We are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#173 of 317 in Singapore
353 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#236 of 317 in Singapore
254 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#280 of 317 in Singapore
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#268 of 317 in Singapore
381 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
684 reviews
Naumi Liora
#103 of 317 in Singapore
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street | Chinatown, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing