We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms, noisy and some unhelpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #140 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Small rooms, noisy and some unhelpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at the hotel before about 2 1/2 years ago. I remembered it was fine for a few days where you wouldn't be staying in the room much. With this I decided to book again at the hotel. Singapore is not cheap for hotels, but at 700myr, 275sgd for 3 nights for a standard room I thought was reasonable. At check in the young lady wasn't that helpful bordering on aggressive. Fortunately her Indian colleague was slightly better.

I was taken to the room and first thing I noticed it was of Food Street side. Food Street in Chinatown has been renovated with nice food stalls and a good place for congregating. But they now play Chinese pop songs from before midday to nearly midnight. Also, this room seemed smaller than the one I had before. Thus I asked reception if there was a quieter room. They took me to another room, no window, quiet but TINY! I asked if I could pay and upgrade to a larger room. They explained I could but at rack rate which would be an extra 165sgd a night! I then phoned there central reservations department and in the end got a queen size with balcony for only an extra 50sgd a night.

This room was nice. As the hotel is in a lovely old Chinese theatre the rooms are not going to be the same as a modern hotel. The room has a 24 inch lcd TV, bed was comfortable, bathroom Okay. But again it was facing Food Street. I needed iron, ironing board, hangers and extra pillow, all delivered quickly. Wifi was fine, quick enough.

So in summary. I would recommend the hotel to people that want to stay in Chinatown, in a historic building that are not fussed about the noise outside. If you want peace and quiet and large rooms, you can get better value for money in Singapore.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Bourneman1971,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable time staying with us!

Yes indeed, Chinatown Food Street is right outside our hotel thus it can be very lively and full of energy at times.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our service. We have reviewed the approach of our service crew towards our hotel guests and shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations through guidance and retraining.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen again, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay with us here!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    494
    338
    89
    64
See reviews for
182
287
281
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My room had no windows but was clean and with the a/c going was OK for sleeping in which is all I needed. Great location for markets, food and train is a short walk away so you can go anywhere easily.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear bds57,

Warm greetings from Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! We are pleased to hear that our team were friendly and helpful and made your stay a memorable one!

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room was very small, bed hard, location great but hard to find. Address not found by taxi as on voucher. Atmosphere was very good (historic Chinese theme); lounge was comfortable. Movement of cases to upstairs room was difficult as there was no lift - only an escalator & ramps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Stephen C,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor! We hope that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. We will share your feedback with the rest of the time for immediate action to better suit our future guests' needs!

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is good location, very close MRT but room is small. You can walk to visit another popular attractions. There is food street in fornt of hotel, near Mexwell Foodcourt. Their staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Runma2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Runma2403,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel! Yes indeed, Maxwell Food Centre is just a short 3 minute walk away!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I love the services. The front officers and the bell/roomboy were nice. The room is very comfy.. not huge but enough for both of us. Not a classy hotel but its very unique cause if you got the room with balcony, you'll see chinatown foodcourt. Nice view!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deaclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear deaclara,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! Our team appreciate your 5 star rating and this motivates us to work even harder to provide even better service to better suit our guest's needs. Yes indeed, Chinatown Food Street is just right outside our hotel and many guests like how lively it is!

We are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Room is really clean and tiday, but every night is so annoyed by outside because the hotel is right in front of China Town Food street.

Only 3-5 minute walk to MRT
Basically i'm satisfied with this hotel but only one problem is street's noise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kuntida14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Kuntida14,

Warm greetings from Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the fact that the MRT was only a walking distance to our hotel! Yes indeed, Chinatown Food Street is right outside our hotel, and at times it can be very lively and full of celebration!

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located in the middle of China town near MRT , food strolls ,temple ,open market and maxwell market. Many choice of food behind of hotel ,amazing
but quite noisy from downstair. Room is ok but bathroom not separate for
taking shower so get soak all .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Nina T,

Thank you for writing us a great review on TripAdvisor! Yes indeed, there are many different eateries only a walking distance from Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen!

We will share your concerns with our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#167 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#252 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#195 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing