We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #143 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive and dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

PRO
Location
very nice building
instant coffee and tea avalable
CONS
Poor cleanliness : hair on the bed. Bathroom with toothpaste traces. Cups for coffee dirty : all with bBrown traces
Bed really uncomfortable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    494
    339
    89
    64
See reviews for
182
287
283
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a weekend package planned in Sentosa. With a late arrival, and truly only needing a shower and clean place to sleep, Santa Grand Lai Chun Yuen provided just that. The room was incredibly small, but it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChenJeff423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayong, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

nearly food center vary food (open the door hotel meet food shop, smith road) and 300-400 m. mrt. all hotel design chainess, so classic and the room so not clean i saw the maid to use the feet keep the towel.

Room Tip: i choose family room, it classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ratree_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

size of room a bit small but overall very convenient. staff quite helpful. can found much cheaper room in other area. no world cup can be watched in room. the remote controlof the tv not working. size of tv too small.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyhead1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear babyhead1273,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We will look into your feedback and continue to improve on our facilities. We hope to welcome you back again.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is strategically located at the busiest part of Chinatown with food hawkers just at its door steps. The MRT is also within 5 minute walking distance from the hotel. We booked the family room (1 queen size + 1 single) but the room was not like what we expected. The space is cramped with the single bed and toilet being at the lower floor just beside the door and the queen size bed being at the upper floor. The staircase acts as additional space for us to leave our belongings though but may not be convenient if you're carrying big suitcases. Overall for the price we paid for, i think it's still quite worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Susan L,

We thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yeun. Our unusual configurations of some of the bedrooms is due to this being a heritage-conserved building of our previously iconic opera house. We are certainly in a good location, with a great variety of eateries (hawker centres, cafes and restaurants), souvenir shops and museums that showcase our Chinatown heritage very well. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The FO staff is patient to help me to set up phone and iPad .bellboy looks a little bit old but he is positive and profession to show me hotel facility and envirment hotel,thx .it is good choice stay here 4nights .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sayi T,

Greetings from Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are pleased that our friendly and helpful staff have contributed to your positive experience with us and we'd like to welcome you back again!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were pleased to stay 3 weeks in the middle of Chinatown, i can just say the location is perfect. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. Just minutes walk away from the MRT.
There was a free access to coffee and tea in upstairs lounge.
Inside, the hotel has a great Red Chinese style. The staff was really kind.
Positive experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobu_MatSuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#169 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#252 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#269 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing