We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For In Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Ranked #110 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Another objective review from FattM. As usual, your experience may vary.

In Singapore for a few days, sort of on business. Needed a hotel on the East Coast that wouldn't kill my meagre budget but that also wasn't either a noontime knocking shop or stuck in the middle of Jalan Nowhere.

An associate of mine booked me into the Santa Grand East Coast and it was a generally favourable experience. A $16 cab ride from the airport (I knew where the hotel was so there was no need to faff around looking for it) on the ECP, a right turn onto Still Road, a left onto East Coast Road, about a 300-metre drive and it's the bright white old-timey looking building on the right.

There are two parts to the hotel: the old-timey white part where the rooms are no doubt larger and slighter more well-appointed and where the old-timey windows open and everything; and the new part- the black 6-story thing stuck behind the white building. My $130 a night room was in the black thing. The windows in that part don't open but they take up most of the north-facing wall so a simple pull of the curtains makes the room bright and sunny provided it's bright and sunny and not pouring rain.

The rundown:
- Location. Buses to the Central Business/ Getting Drunk on Expensive Beers District are almost right across the street. The #10 takes you right to Raffles Place. There are all kinds of places to eat within a 12-minute walk of the hotel- 'merican, Japanese, Indian, Malay, Chinese, "Italian", Thai, whatever. There's even place that serves nothing but chicken wings about 3 minutes away. Magic. Mallrats can make the 15 minute hike to Parkway Parade. Turn right out of the hotel, walk to the first main intersection (Joo Chiat Road), hang a left. Walk south until you see it.
- Information Technology: The free (Wow! There's something free in Singapore? Who'd have thought?) WiFi is fast and reliable and given the size of the room, works just as well in the bog as it does in bed. The big LCD TV doesn't have many channels but it has what you need. Sports, HBO Movies, Discovery Channel, and BBC. And since the TV's big and the room's small, you won't even need your glasses.
- Bed comfort: Nice firm mattress and a fluffy duvet. No top sheet though. Pretty standard for hotels in this price range. Not a big deal. Good pillows.
- In-room amenities: Some. You get slippers, coffee and tea, 2 bottles of water, and that's it. The desk is cramped for working or whatever and the electrical outlets come in a random variety of plug configurations. I strongly advise you to have an adapter or two with you. Some plugs are the 3-straight pin kind, some are the two-round pin kind. Be prepared.
- Shower pressure/ temperature: Sometimes you just want a good strong hot shower. They have those here.
- Building facilities: There's a small pool on the roof and a few deck chairs conveniently (not really) placed in the shade, probably because that's the only place with enough space for them. Semi-reasonable view from the roof, pleasant at night with a light breeze. There is a restaurant off the lobby. Although breakfast there was included in the price, I didn't take them up on it, mostly because I knew what I wanted to eat and they didn't have it and I knew a place down the street that did. There is a spa-type place (in the hotel building but not part of the hotel per se) that does bikini waxes and eyebrow shaping if that's your thing. There's no gym. Just as well really because walking three blocks in the gruesome Singapore heat is enough of a workout as it is.

Annoyances:
- It's a pretty compact/ almost like in Tokyo-sized place so expect to hear of all the usual inconsiderate door slammings, drunken hallway conversations at 1am, people checking out and knocking over their luggage in the hall at 5am type things. Remember, you get what you pay for.
- Every room in the black part of the building has a window facing the neighbourhood behind the place. Some of the people in that neighbourhood keep chickens. Some of those chickens wake up at 5:30am. Draw your own conclusions.

In sum:
- Look, Singapore's not Bangkok. Things cost a lot in Singapore. That includes hotels. Normally. S$130 (about US $$110 or something) for a small room in a hotel 20-30 minutes away from the "city" wouldn't be especially good value. But for this country, it is. I guess that's progress for you.

If you have to spend a few days in Singapore without a particularly pressing schedule and you're watching the pennies and you'd rather not stay in the middle of eleventh-seven hundred office buildings and places that sell $14 sandwiches and you're more into just kind of chilling a bit with a cheap coffee-shop Tiger beer and eating some good food, you could do way, way worse than the Santa Grand.

The questions, as always, are:
Would I stay here again? Yes. Yes I would.
Would I recommend it to friends or non-friends? Sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FattM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your detailed and interesting review.
We will be looking forward to host you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Their location is good, just a S$25 taxi from the airport, not too far from the city centre, but most importantly only a short walk from some great Asian eating places! The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the wifi & tablets great and the rooftop lappool essential. Although the room was tight for us with the standard airline hold luggage (really tight- we had to be inventive) the overall experience and their occasional Peranakan breakfasts was very good. We could have upgraded to the deluxe room for more space but we appreciated the full-width window. Overall, a very pleasing stay and extremely good value with the street food an amazing bonus!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for the positive review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you stay here you wont be disappointed. I have been staying in hotels on business for 25 years and this impressed me. We advise the larger rooms in the old modernised section of the hotel ....this hotel is new so grab the chance to say..very good chineas next door

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverbirch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are very pleased to create a positive impression and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I always book a room at Santa Grand East coast when i visiting Singapore. It is located in busy Katong with excellent cousines and shops. It is also close to the beach. A quick 15-20min taxi ride on PEI take you into to CBD and Marina sands.
I have stayed there 6 or 7 times and will come back next year again. after a day out, it is great to go for a swim in the rooftop pool. staff is friendly.
You need to try it out, you will love it.
Ken (from Australia)

Room Tip: My advice is to get a room facing the back as East Coast Road at the front is busy 24 hours so a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have you returning and extremely pleased that you enjoyed our service and the location.
We hope it won't be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a very good hotel; the room was big and a huge bed and the cleanliness was very high indeed.The window opened to reveal a lovely view of Singapore life and the view from the roof was special.The breakfast was really good too, a buffet style and a very clean place to eat.
The staff are caring and know what they doing.
The area has several places to eat and a few bars and a mall 3 minutes from the hotel.
The beach is an interesting walk...10 to 15 minutes.
I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Deluxe room seems to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is situated at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. At the roof top swimming pool, tourists are generally amazed by the surrounded historical heritage buildings view.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and hope it won’t be long to see you back here!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our flight arrived in very late at night and it was wonderful to have a friendly face. We booked a deluxe room which was lovely and very clean. The breakfast was delicious,. All the staff were helpful nothing was a problem. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had read many reviews before deciding to use this hotel. Many of the comments noted that the rooms were small so I booked a deluxe room. So glad I did as it was a good size, with plenty of space and a large bathroom. Other people we met said that our room was significantly bigger than theirs although they had a wall window whereas we only had a skylight. Even so, there was plenty of natural light. Overall I prefer to have the space and no window! Everything else at the hotel was satisfactory, the staff were especially pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were plentiful, with the fresh juices and coffee especially good. The variety was limited though for the 4 nights we stayed. The hotel is on a bus route into town, with buses every few minutes. I would recommend this hotel for its value for money and location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad you made an informed choice and had a pleasant experience staying with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 317 in Singapore
1,017 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#108 of 317 in Singapore
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Katong
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#131 of 317 in Singapore
475 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#117 of 317 in Singapore
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel East Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel East Coast

Address: 171 East Coast Road Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, Singapore 428877, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel East Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Coast area, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is nestled at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. The hotel is also within the larger Joo Chiat area, which was designated as the national heritage conservation area by the Singapore Government with the intention of preserving its rich history, culture and architecture. This Peranakan themed boutique hotel aims to introduce Singapore's unique culture and tradition to visitors, just like its predecessors at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Santa Grand Hotel Little India and Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is built on a 2-storey conservation frontage backed by a 5-storey building. Guests will feel welcomed in the lobby, decorated in bright Peranakan colors, that comes with comfortable seating areas and a business center. Rooms come in four different designs, themes and colors that guests will feel the freshness and variety each time they stay with us. A roof top swimming pool and Jacuzzi offer guests a chance to relax in a tranquil environment with a bird's eye view of the low-lying housing architecture symbolic of the Joo Chiat heritage. Bright colors are used on design of the hotel, similar to the patented sophistication seen in the homes of the Peranakans, creating a warm and inviting ambience and leaving guests with fond memories of the stay. Be it for leisure travelers or travelers on business trip, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is the place you want to stay in to immerse in a uniquely Singapore culture. Take a walk around the area and you will be amazed by the large variety of food to choose from. A definite must-try would have to be the famous Katong laska, well-liked by Singaporeans and visitors alike, this signature dish can be counted as one of the most popular favorites in Singapore! For outdoors, the hotel is near the popular East Coast Parkway where guests can exercise or just relax amidst the cooling breeze along the Singapore coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel East Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing