We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Ranked #110 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Needed a close hotel for a one night stopover with kids.Pleasantly surprised by this hotel.Close to good eating venues and shops.Very friendly helpful staff.Very happy with room size and presentation.Good price also.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank dubai42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, we are situated at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. The area is also known for the variety of food choices where visitors are all spoilt for choices!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and hope it won’t be long to see you back here!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nice location and near the airport.
The service of front desk is nice.
The room is quite cozy, however, the towels provided were not clean.
The neighborhood is nice, and convenient for food and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ningchih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your writing us a review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that some of the areas did not meet your expectation during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and have since stepped up our housekeeping efforts.
We hope it won't be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

very nice hotel let us check in early very friendly an helpful transit system is great an easy to use paul m from fla. dec 5-7 2013 food is mosty European an Asian not American we got there 10am gave us our room was very happyafter a long cruise

Room Tip: room small but enough for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pfm309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback that will help us improve our guest experience consistently.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very nice place to stay outside of the city center,in between the Airport and the CBD.
Lots of buses and the metro isn't far away from it.
The neighbourhood looks like an European city style, 150 years old beautiful buildings.
Friendly staff, be back here next time for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location.
We hope it won't be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A good hotel with friendly staff. Cheaper than staying in downtown Singapore. Plenty of buses into the city or just hail a taxi. Interesting heritage area. Lots of places to eat and great variety of food. Shopping centres nearby and relatively short walk to East Coast Park. Buffet breakfast plentiful, but basic (hot and cold items). Only criticism was the poor quality of the towels - worn and thin. The deluxe room itself was very good - spacious and comfortable with excellent bathroom - standard rooms looked to be small.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms at the ends of each floor of the 5 storey addition are spacious - other rooms are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandNZ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast.
We value your feedback and have since stepped up our housekeeping efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you like good food, no place better than East Coast Road in Singapore and the Santa Grand is in the middle of it all. Nice rooms. Good internet connection. Decent shower. 6th floor pool (open 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM) is long and narrow on roof top. An okay breakfast with a somewhat grumpy staff member. Front desk hotel staff professionally friendly. Walk around the area to see some older buildings--quite fantastic details and designs. Interesting Hindu Temple nearby. Taxi to airport, about 15 minutes, around $15 Sing. Can get to hotel by MRT (EW 10, Kallang) and 15 minute bus #12.

Room Tip: Even our street facing room on second floor was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilosophicalTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team- at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us . We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is situated at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. At the roof top swimming pool, tourists are generally amazed by the surrounding historical heritage buildings view.
We hope it wont be long to before we welcome you back!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We only had about 20 hours between flights so the location was ideal, close to the airport and not far from the city for an evening visit. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and spacious enough. As suggested we paid a bit extra and also specified a room with window. The room had a balcony area which was pleasant to sit in. The rooftop pool was excellent. My wife was sick, so we didn't get to explore much. We were disappointed with the immediate area around the hotel - less character than we'd expected from reports. Although there is no room service, the restaurant serves very good local food at reasonable prices and does take away packs, so we settled for that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 77JandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope you get to explore more of the area and the opportunity to host you again when you return to Singapore.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 319 in Singapore
1,023 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Katong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#103 of 319 in Singapore
399 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#133 of 319 in Singapore
483 reviews
Naumi Liora
#101 of 319 in Singapore
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel East Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel East Coast

Address: 171 East Coast Road Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, Singapore 428877, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel East Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Coast area, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is nestled at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. The hotel is also within the larger Joo Chiat area, which was designated as the national heritage conservation area by the Singapore Government with the intention of preserving its rich history, culture and architecture. This Peranakan themed boutique hotel aims to introduce Singapore's unique culture and tradition to visitors, just like its predecessors at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Santa Grand Hotel Little India and Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is built on a 2-storey conservation frontage backed by a 5-storey building. Guests will feel welcomed in the lobby, decorated in bright Peranakan colors, that comes with comfortable seating areas and a business center. Rooms come in four different designs, themes and colors that guests will feel the freshness and variety each time they stay with us. A roof top swimming pool and Jacuzzi offer guests a chance to relax in a tranquil environment with a bird's eye view of the low-lying housing architecture symbolic of the Joo Chiat heritage. Bright colors are used on design of the hotel, similar to the patented sophistication seen in the homes of the Peranakans, creating a warm and inviting ambience and leaving guests with fond memories of the stay. Be it for leisure travelers or travelers on business trip, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is the place you want to stay in to immerse in a uniquely Singapore culture. Take a walk around the area and you will be amazed by the large variety of food to choose from. A definite must-try would have to be the famous Katong laska, well-liked by Singaporeans and visitors alike, this signature dish can be counted as one of the most popular favorites in Singapore! For outdoors, the hotel is near the popular East Coast Parkway where guests can exercise or just relax amidst the cooling breeze along the Singapore coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Splitty, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel East Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing