We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #21 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel building is not new but the whole interior is new and fresh. It looks good. As I had a very short night here only staff kindly gave me a complimentary upgrade so I ended up in a club room. They were very spacious and modern. Very clean as well.
The lobby looks good. In the lobby is a small coffee corner. One floor lower you find more food outlets.

Only negative point was that the all day dining turned out to be not available all day but only till 11pm.

For the rest the stay was pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldInBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear RonaldInBangkok

Thank you for sharing your review from your recent experience at Village Hotel Katong.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Club facilities at the hotel.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    598
    124
    14
    14
See reviews for
455
682
146
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My second visit with family this year. Because of a wedding party the rooms were fully booked but as we had made prior booking for a family room we were given a fully fitted out suite which was superb. The front desk staff were very friendly and checking in was swift. Was impressed with how the lifts were managed during the "rush" of wedding guests going up and down prior to the ceremony. Breakfast was disappointing as the top ups were pretty slow and they seem to be short-handed but the quality of the food and variety was good. Checking out was also fast and the free shuttle service to the airport was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regulartripster2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Regulartripster2805

Thank you for sharing your recent experience you had at Village Hotel Katong.

I am pleased the service team on the front desk were able to meet your needs and made your stay comfortable.

I appreciate your feedback on the breakfast service experience, and I have personally spoken to the team to ensure we keep food suitably replenished and our guests enjoy this experience during their stay.

I trust your overall stay was comfortable and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

For the past seminars held at the hotel, our course participants have given good feedback about the hotel's meeting room facilities.

The banquet in charge - Mr Fazli and Mr Sunhil are quick to respond to last minute needs and requests and after-office-hours calls. They go extra miles to arrange different departments to handle our needs such as concierge collection and storage, maintenance department to minimise noise disturbance to the lecture sessions. Feedback were taken positively and upgrades were being done to the facilities of the room (such as sound system). A pleasant surprise every time!

The sales team (Ms Liang Pei Wen) is also professional to try to arrange a suitable room for the seminars, even though it means helping to negotiate with other companies who are booking the similar dates.

Buffet lunch with a variety of dishes (including Peranakan dishes, Fresh seafood and wonderful desserts) is a joy to the participants.

A new kid on the block in the East, but definitely setting great standards!

Cheers,
ShuJuan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZSJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear ZSJOO

It was great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and conference experience at Village Hotel Katong.

I really appreciate your personalised praise for Sunil, Fazly and Peiwen who were thrilled to of been recognised for their service delivery.

Village Hotel Katong has 5 conference rooms which can cater for boardroom style meetings to large weddings and banquet dinners, so we have all types of events covered for our guest needs. Supported by an array of local Peranakan dishes served in Katong Kitchen, it makes Village Hotel Katong the perfect place to stay, conference, and enjoy the good things in life.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here with my parents on our way back to the UK from Australia. We had already been to Singapore 6 weeks beforehand, and stayed close to Orchard Road. This hotel was a bit out of town, but was just what we needed. We had a room booked by a family friend who used a discount for us, but booked a smaller room; it was suggested that we pay a little extra for a deluxe room, which would have been cheaper than putting an extra bed in the original room. Thanks for suggesting a better and cheaper option!

It was very clean and cool in the room, and the beds were very comfortable, with good pillows (so many places have pancake pillows!)

The bathroom was clean, a good size and the shower was nice and powerful, however the frosted glass door wasn't great for privacy. You can't see anything, but if you stand too close, there are shadows, which made me a little self conscious when sharing with my family.

There was a good selection of western food at breakfast as well as local cuisines, and it all tasted good. They also cooked eggs on request, which I am a fan of.

The pool area was quite quiet, which I didn't mind as it meant I could relax. I didn't get a chance to use the gym, but did have a look around - there was a good selection of machines and weights should you need it.

Of course in Singapore, there are a couple of malls around. Out the front of the hotel and across the road there is a large mall with a food court with lots of options if you don't want to eat in the hotel, and the standard Singapore high street shops. Out the back, there is another food mall, although we did not go in. There is also a small mall attached to the hotel.

It is easy to get into the CBD from the hotel. Out the back there is a bus stop where there are buses that serve the Marina Bay area. It is usually $1.60-$1.70 to get there - the price is calculated by distance.

We were also able to use the free shuttle to and from the airport. When arriving into Changi, you need to go to the purple ground transportation information desk at the terminal and they will let the shuttle know you are there, although it only comes once or twice an hour, and we were quite lucky with our arrival time. It is a little frustrating that you cannot pre-book the shuttle to go to the airport in the morning, it is first come first serve. This wasn't a problem as we left at 6am, but had it been a busier time, there could have been some problems.

A great relaxing stay, and lovely end to my holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beany63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear beany63

Thank you for sharing your recent experience you had at Village Hotel Katong.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotels location convenient to your needs. The hotel is only 15 minutes from Changi Airport and 15 minutes from Orchard Road, so the ideal location to stay when in Singapore.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wi Fi did not work. Staff bland and unhelpful. Breakfast not eaten. Shady area. Nearby shops not meant for tourists. Pool small . Food over priced and average quality. Gymnasium shower room had only one dirty unisex shower. Do youself a favour and stay in the city proper. The fixed transfer fee from the airport is the same all the main hotels downtown. Dont be fooled by their promised free transfer. We had to pay $66.00

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Ramac13

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at Village Hotel Katong.

The hotel does provide a complimentary airport shuttle service two-ways, so I can not understand how you would of paid $66.00 for this service, noting the hotel is also only 15 minutes from the airport (normal taxi fare of $20.00).

Your feedback on the local area shops not being for tourist is very subjective, and to share with you that there is a very large shopping mall opposite the hotel called Parkway Parade which has a great selection of shops for all people.

I will certainly follow up your comments on the gym toilet area and ensure this is maintained to our expectations.

My apology your stay was not too your satisfaction, and trust you had a safe onward journey.

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had a good time in Singapore, i am a frequent traveler but i have never walk in a room to find mold stains on the chair and walls before. once the air con is on the musty smells comes out like dead fish. After a while it become unbearable to stay in the room. The trick is open the balcony door and let it flush out. I hope the hotel does something about this and people and kids with sensitive or breathing issue should be careful.have inform the housekeeping and bell boy.

the surrounding of the hotel is excellent lot of small eatery and value for money.

Room Tip: ensure you carry a mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshpr1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Joshpr1111

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay at Village Hotel Katong.

Allow me to apologize for the condition of your room, and assure you this is not how we present the rooms to our guests. I am not clear if you had notified the staff during your stay, as we would of clearly moved you to another room to address these issues. Needless to say this should of been addressed prior to your arrival.

If you could contact me on brettwalker@fareast.com.sg as I would like to discuss this matter with you further.

Again my apology for this experience you encountered, and trust this does not tarnish your overall view of Village Hotel Katong.

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It was a great stay of 3 days 4 nights. I chosen this hotel because of distance from Changi Airport, Room Size and obviously based on the tripadvisor reviews. It is around 11 km from airport which can be reached in 15 mins max. Best part is there is a super market juts next floor of the hotel. So by chance u missed any day to day need, i can get it there. 2nd thing which i liked it dinner buffet. none of the courses were spicy. Even i could had Biriyani (it is a traditional Asian food) that too non-spicy. Roomwise, it was clean and big, i intentionally opted for a family room that having 2 queen size (lil smaller that queen size) bed. Rooms were clean and view was very nice. Staffs were very helpful. I could not avail swimming pool and gym areas because of my hectic tour schedule. So not much comment about that. one improvement factor i can say, if they arrange Spa in hotel, That would be great relax after a hectic day.
There was only one indecent which i did not liked. I requested for early checkin and late checkout. Before travelling, i informed them over phone. They agreed that they can provide the room by 10:00am. I was fine. I reached there by 9:20am. It was expected that i have to wait. I approached to reception with the same impression. She told that room is not ready. I was fine. I told "anyway as i am going for early checkin and late checkout, mostly i have to pay some extra, i am prepared for that". Surprising, she immediately told, we have room, you can avail the same. Only after hearing that i am ready for payment, she offered me room, but few mins back she mentioned room is not ready. This indecent pinches lil, which i did not liked at all.
Anyway over all stay was good and surely i will prefer to avail the service if i travel to Singapore.

Room Tip: go for higher level room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear mamas p

Thank you for sharing your experience you had at Village Hotel Katong

Allow me to extend my apology for the small confusion at check in, and trust this did not effect the rest of your stay.

The hotel is certainly conveniently located being close to the airport as well as in an area that has a lot to offer.

I thank you for your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brett Walker
General Manager
Village Hotel Katong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#13 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Hotel YAN
#49 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Address: 25 Marine Parade, Singapore 449536, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Singapore
#20 Family Hotel in Singapore
#21 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Katong, as its name suggests, brings with it the Nonya flavors of Singapore's Eastern regions of Katong and Marine Parade. This non-smoking 229-room hotel, which features Superior, Deluxe, Club, and Family room categories, provides great value for travellers. All rooms come with an opening balcony, and range in size from 28m2 to 45m2. Village Hotel Katong draws its inspiration from the Peranakan heritage of its surrounding, which can be reflected in the hotel's Straits Chinese design accents.Village Hotel Katong is one of the few hotels which are located near Changi International Airport, and is just opposite Parkway Parade, one of the biggest shopping centres in the East of Singapore. The hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle service to and from the hotel and airport. The shuttle services Terminal 1, Terminal 2, and Terminal 3, and operates from 05:00am to 00:30am every day (no reservations are required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Katong By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing