We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I came to know this Inn through a friend's recommendation. I wanted a safe and cozy place while able to do some work with internet connection. Getting here was easy from Boon Keng station. Thanks to the clear instruction from the website. I like that there is a locker to store things while I was away. I also love that I could connect both wireless and also through their IMac while doing some work. It is clean place and your bed gets tidied every morning. I bunked at the 14 ppl dorm room and really loved the interior settings. The staff are very knowledgeable about the places in Singapore. Laundry is available at a charge fee.

Room Tip: Beds right after entering the door is quieter. Cool and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieOa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

staying there was comfortable and it was very nice. it felt like a home and it was fun to talk to people there from all over the earth. i think theres a lot to be said about this place. certainly unique. and it smelled nice :) haha. also the staff were great, super nice and welcoming. after we checked out i became so tired that day waiting for my bus and i came back and they let me take a nap: i am so thankful for this!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandapandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was the most familiar and friendly hostel I've been to over 10 months traveling. The stuff was realy helpful with everthing like booking, sightseeing, insider tipps or breakfast ;) and they're really take care about the visitors to make it a nice stay. It is a quite small hostel but that made me feeling in a good and familiar way. There was always the time for a nice conversation with the stuff or/and all the other guests. It was very clean, comfortable and it has good facilities, so actually everything you need plus a little extra star for the atmosphere. My next time in Singapour I defenitely will show up again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed one night in a double room at Rucksack Inn Lavender and felt very welcome and well taken care of. While the room is basic, it is is clean, and the facilities are new and in great condition. The owner of this place is very knowledgeable and was happy to help us plan our day in Singapore, helping us make the most of our short stay. Location-wise it is a short (5-10 min) walk to the MRT and a 20 minutes ride to the airport. What really makes this place stand out, however, is the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. When we left the place in a rush to catch our flight, we left an item behind. The owner and her staff really went the extra mile to return the item back to us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awesomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I tried three hostels in the immediate area as I was in Singapore for a while and I wish I had found Rucksack Inn first. I just couldn't believe how warm, friendly and helpful they were! On arrival your greeted by your name and shown around. Later I was asked what information I needed with regards to tourist stuff and I was impressed by the level of detail and knowledge of the staff. I was also introduced to other people staying there which I thought was a nice touch as I was a lone traveller.

The location is perfect as there are very good transport links to all the major places from shopping in Orchard Road, China Town, Garden By the Bay, Clark Quay, Marina Bay and Little India. Also just across the road there is an amazing 24h food court.

This wasn't the biggest hostel and I guess that's why it felt so warm and friendly but it was clean, beds were very comfortable and the services were adequate. If I return to Singapore I know where I will be staying!

Thanks Rucksack Inn for my making me feel welcome :)

Room Tip: It's a hostel so always carry some ear plugs just in case there are some restless sleepers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_oo7oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed in ruck sack inn in and 0ut,first 1day then 1week then the last 0ne is m0re than 0ne m0nth,the place is really nice and clean and i like the lem0n grass smell,the staff are very funny and c0ol,i wont forget on my bdAy they gave me surprise cake and sang happy bday song with staff and other guest,i l0ve ruck sack and see u again...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrellacute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel together with a friend. Place is lovely! Staff is very very helpful. Give a lot of good recommendations. The hostel is also very clean! We stayed in a 14-bed mixed dorm, that was OK but the beds are so close to eachother, maybe a bit too close. I personally consider 14 beds as too much for such a small room (although I understand Singapore is very expensive when it comes to rent). But loved Singapore, keep up the good work!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anouk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fisher BnB
#2 of 247 in Singapore
443 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#24 of 247 in Singapore
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#35 of 247 in Singapore
512 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#11 of 247 in Singapore
629 reviews
Tiong Bahru
COO Bistro & Boutique Hostel, Sociatel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Lavender

Address: 280 Lavender Street, Singapore 338800, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £12 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Lavender 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in this Singapore's most awarded hostel. We have expanded to accommodate 150 pax, BIGGER and BETTER! This is a service-oriented hotel that provides comfort and cleanliness at excellent value. Guests will find a wide range of options from dorm beds, to private rooms to the latest pod-style beds. There is also an alfresco rooftop for you to hang out at, for breakfast, to chill and to exchange travel stories with other travellers. Centrally located - 7-minutes walk from the nearest MRT subway station,3 minutes' walk to mouthwatering local food centre at local prices, less than half hour walk to heritage areas Kampong Glam and Little India, direct buses and trains to Chinatown, Orchard Road, Marina Bay Sands, Clarke Quay, Museums and Harbourfront (Universal Studio of SIngapore). It is ideal for visitors on transit and visa application as it is only 15-minute away from the Immigration Checkpoint Authority and direct buses lead to the embassies. Visitors going to and coming from Malaysia also find the hostel convenient as Singapore-Malaysia-Singapore buses are only 15 minutes away. Direct buses lead to cheap shopping areas like Bugis Street and Arab Street. Guests are entitled to special discounted tickets to tourist attractions such as Universal Studios, SEA Aquarium, Zoo, Night Safari, Gardens by the Bay and many others. You can get more information when you check in at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing