We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic with excellent service”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SO Sofitel Singapore
Ranked #29 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chic with excellent service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel So Singapore for two nights in a So Comfy room. All the Le Club Accorhotels Gold extras were there: room upgrade, welcome amenities and a welcome drink - perfect!

I liked the stylish interior of the common areas and the room. The free mini bar was cool, as were the coffee and tea making facilities. Service throughout my stay was excellent, with friendly and beautiful staff members. The location is good too - a few blocks from the Raffles Place subway station and a major bus stop at the UIC building. The hawker center across the street also has lots of exciting food options. Many reviewers complain about the size of the rooms. While they are indeed small, the size is clearly indicated when booking, so I can't complain about that.

There are a few points to improve. First is to stop the dripping noise from the toilet in room 415 (it seems other guests have also had this issue). Second is to make sure water from the shower cabin doesn't leak onto the bathroom floor. Third is to ensure all the channels on the huge wall-mounted TV are digital HD. And last, the wifi connection should be faster and more stable. I'm sure all of these details will be fixed once the hotel has stayed open for a while.

One thing struck me as terribly confusing. There's an iPhone and an iPad in the room. But amazingly, the former is only used as a phone, and the latter only for controlling the lights and curtains, etc. This is a complete waste of these gadgets. For example, the Hotel Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen had an Android phone with free 3G, that you could take with you during your stay. That was way more useful. So my suggestion is to do the same for the Apple devices here.

Overall, if you are willing to live with a few teething problems and are looking for a stylish boutique Accor property in the downtown core, I would happily recommend the Sofitel So Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoVinceL, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Kanaman,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel So Singapore. We truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. As part of the Accor Hotel group, we go the extra mile to ensure all our Le Club Accor Hotel members are well cared for.

Thank you so much for noticing the extra touches we put in the hotel, we are delighted that our commitment to make our hotel unique and special has made your stay with us a pleasant one.

Sofitel So Singapore is decked in chic interior design, savvy in-room technology, located at a convenient location and with So Ambassadors that are dedicated to provide our guests top-notch service with a heart. Sofitel So Singapore blends French elegance with local experiences, bringing the best of both worlds to our guests. We are proud to be located just next to Lau Pa Sat, a historical and iconic food destination in SIngapore

We took note on all the points you’ve raised and I am personally working with the relevant departments to look into the matter and help improve it.

We sincerely value your suggestion regarding the use of our in-room technology. Rest assured, the management team will look into the suggestion.

Once again thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel So Singapore.

So kind regards,
Vincent Lelay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    423
    152
    72
    26
See reviews for
220
696
103
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Sofitel So Singapore and had a fantastic experience. The hotel is across the road from the Lau Pa Sat market. The road (Boon Tat) is closed off in the evenings and the place is teeming with diners both local and tourists. Excellent food and very reasonably priced.
The service staff in the hotel were excellent and dealt with our requests quickly and efficiently. We had a few minor problems particularly with the card access system - we had 2 rooms on different floors and we couldn't seem to consistently get access to both rooms with the same card. There was also a problem with the power tripping in one room. However, these issues were far outweighed by the friendly service we received from all staff, particularly Xavier and Rex. The desk staff were also sensational but I didn't get their names to mention for this review.
The location is in the financial district and taxis are frequent so it easy to get around.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for the service staff alone

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoVinceL, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear SteveWebber,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel So Singapore. We sincerely appreciate the positive feedback on So Ambassadors.

We are absolutely delighted to know that you had an amazing time at Sofitel So Singapore and enjoyed the close proximity of the hotel to some of the iconic food places in Singapore such as the Lau Pa Sat and Satay Street.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced some challengesin the hotel but I am So glad to hear that our So Ambassadors played an important role in ensuring that your stay with us is a pleasant one. Our Ambassadors are committed to ensure that our guests and their needs are cared for, and that they get to experience playful luxury that combines both French and Singapore heritage and aesthetics. I will personally congratulate the team for their exceptional service; with special mention to Xavier and Rex.

Please rest assure that we are in the midst of coming up with durable solutions for the issues that you have faced during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel So Singapore for a magnifique experience!

So kind regards,
Vincent Lelay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siingapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at Sofitel So as part of my birthday weekend. As expected, I was given a mini cake along with their "mascot" soft toy as a gift.

I booked the So Comfy room. While the modern amenities such as the iPad to control the lighting and the curtains, and the iPhone as the room phone are somewhat impressive, the room itself is super small. To pay a hefty price for a small room is something that you are willing to trade for the better amenities. Just like any Sofitel, the bed is good, the toiletries are superb. The mini-bar is free here too.

The décor was nice, and wonderful. The location is right next to Lau Pa Sat (hawker centre with many local food). Otherwise, it may be quite off as it is right in the middle of the CBD (think of offices). You may need to walk to nearest MRT station to get to areas like Orchard. But, it is still walking distance from Chinatown though.

The service was efficient, and prompt. But, I felt more can be done as a Sofitel hotel. The ambassadors, while ever forthcoming and helpful, need to be more personal, and genuine. Maybe I am expecting more.

Sofitel So is recommended if you wish to stay in a "fashionable" hotel, and do not mind the room size that much. The hotel is somewhat intimate with a boutique hotel setting. So experience it if you can.

Room Tip: If you are staying in So Hip wing, ask for even numbered rooms. Odd numbered rooms (e.g 407), which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoVinceL, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Oscar T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel So Singapore. We are glad to be a part of the joyous occasion. We sincerely appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It is gratifying for the So team to have our guests noticing the extra touches we put in the hotel and appreciate our attention to details. From the cutting-edge in-room technology to chic in-room amenities, trendy interior designs and convenience in location, Singapore’s first luxury design boutique hotel, Sofitel So Singapore offers intimate experiences with great focus and emphasis on the quality of our service and amenities.

Sofitel So Singapore takes pride in the top-notch service that our Ambassadors provide and the management team have taken note of your comment in regards to our Ambassadors’ service. Rest assured that we will strive to always be better.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel So Singapore.

So kind regards,
Vincent Lelay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Hard to like a hotel too much when there on business but this is a cracker for SG. Convenient, modern and a great breakie. Definitely recommend this hotel over some of the more established competition . Swimming pool on roof s not huge but really nice. Only downside.... Not easy to get a taxi from as driveway on side road.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoVinceL, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Holja,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel So Singapore. We sincerely appreciate the positive feedback that you have shared on TripAdvisor.

From our trendy and contemporary interior design to our cutting edge in-room technology, convenience in hotel location and unique dining experience; we strive to give our guests a magnifique experience. We are So delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations and you had an amazing stay with us!

We acknowledge the importance of availability and convenience for our guests to the hotel. Rest assured that we are working exploring different solutions that will help improve awareness on Sofitel So Singapore’s drop-off location.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel So Singapore for more playful and luxurious hospitality experience!

So kind regards,
Vincent Lelay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you want to feel like you are in Paris whilst visiting Singapore (why would you?) then stay at the oh-so-very-chic-boutique designer So Sofitel. It is a beautiful heritage building which I learnt later was once the GPO. Today the lobby has a French cafe feel to it but the overdose of perfume in the air-con system makes it smell like a Madame's boudoir! Our first room was smaller than a rabbit hutch so after much arm waving and oh mon dieu's, we upgraded to a rabbit hutch for rich bunnies (which we are not!) The interior design is an intriguing array of "modern, European objet d'art;" Apparently influenced by the fashionista Karl Lagefeld himself! The 4th floor room was average size, separate loo and shower and bath tub (tres bien!) comfy bed and real-feather everything. Trendy tea/coffee making gadgets, free nibbles and water, big wall mounted TV, wifi included but that may be because it was a negotiated corporate rate. There was a drain problem resulting in "eau de sewers" one night and there was such a bad phantom toilet flushing sound in the middle of the night, that I suspected we were sharing our room with Moaning Myrtle! There is a small rooftop pool with sun loungers and a funky bar which is only open in the evenings. It's a pleasant space with floodlit palm trees but you still have that claustrophobic feeling as it's surrounded by high rise office buildings. Everything is "petite-discreet", even the main driveway is tucked away down a back lane so if you arrive by cab, the first impression is a bit "back door-ish." The cutting-edge technology needs to be slick and faultless to replace good old customer service; sadly neither worked very well. The staff stand around in their chic trendy suits looking the part but there is no substance or warmth to the cool exterior. Having said that, our heroes were Xavier the Head Concierge and his right hand man, Zul who were both very personable, efficient and understood the needs of the guests. The staff just lacked confidence and everything we experienced was down to basic communication. I'm sure that Mr Lelay's leadership will gain momentum but it was not soon enough for our stay. Bon chances with the motivational team-building Monsieur!

Room Tip: If you want a cab, then order it in advance. Allow at least 10 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoVinceL, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Bertiebertram,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel So Singapore and for the valuable feedback you’ve shared with us on TripAdvisor.

Sofitel So Singapore is housed in one of the city’s heritage building, and our team of architects and designers had to work around the fact that we can’t expand the lay out or knock down walls to help conserve the foundation of the building. Having said that, we may not have the biggest of rooms but as a luxury boutique hotel, we offer intimate experiences with a great focus on providing our guests a curated experience that can only be found at Sofitel So Singapore. This includes bespoke amenities, first of its kind Apple-based technology for in-room solutions and a unique design blending French elegance and Singapore chic.

Sofitel So Singapore sits at the heart of Singapore’s CBD, and is one of the first structures in the area. With almost 90 years of existence, the grandeur of Singapore’s past is captured in the building’s neo-classical design and the building itself is a silent witness on how Singapore grew into one of the world’s economic powerhouse, watching skyscrapers and towers built around it. Our HI-SO rooftop poolbar is a perfect place to see Singapore’s CBD in a different light, looking at tall towers as cylinder of lights at night – immersing in the Lion City’s urban history.


Rest assured we are in the midst of coming up with solutions to the issues that you have mentioned in your feedback such as overwhelming hotel’s scent in the lobby, faulty drainage system and glitch in-room technology. We are happy to share with you that we provide continuous training to our Ambassadors, ensuring that they improve through time and that they are able to give our guests top-notch service to complement our hotel offering.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope that we will have another chance to host you.

So kind regards,
Vincent Lelay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Westin Singapore
#39 of 312 in Singapore
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,811 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Singapore

Property: SO Sofitel Singapore
Address: 35 Robinson Road Sofitel So Singapore, Singapore 068876, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#29 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SO Sofitel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SO Sofitel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing