We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time and even better!the best in Singapore!”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is my second time here(first time was on June 2012 as a single traveler)and this time i bring all my classmates to this amazing hostel!yeah,that mean i really satisfied with this hostel on the first stay and the services!let start with the location,it was located not very far(5 minutes walk)from queen street bus station and also not far from mrt station(10 minutes walk to little india mrt and bugis mrt).just a few door beside,there were 7e,groceries shop,bank,cybercafe and many more!very convenience location!this hostel is also quite new..it was super clean and the design was quite impressive!some kind of boutique style..simplicity and minimalist is their image!i love the breakfast area which is a long row of tables,large plasma tv,some magazines and also games..the lighting scheme was really nice.i feel like i was in hotel instead of a hostel!there are also some Imac that can be use to surf internet(fees apply but really cheap)and they also provide free wifi..the staff was the best!they even offered me to some sort of hostel tour through the entire spaces of these hostel!there are rooftop area,games and entertainment room, barbecue spot,kitchen,washing area!it was nicely done!the architecture it self is pretty amazing..the detailing and the ornament was in top condition..they even told me that the building is part of heritage site so they need to do a really neat,clean and careful work to protect this building while renovating it..i also ask to get some tickets to universal studio Singapore and did it really quickly and even offer me a really great price with free transportation to sentosa island from the hotel!what a pleasure!the breakfast was simple but still make me full! definitely will be back with more and more friends!this march probably will be there for a design expo at Singapore and i don't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Mr Manggo!
Thank you so much for your encouragement.

We are still far from the best, but we will not stop trying..
Improvement is an endless process..

You have made all our hard work worth it with your review.

"More Than Just a Bed"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was horrified with the dorm upon checked in, the other girls and I were quite upset with the condition of the dorm. It was dirty and bad hygiene. The carpet was extremely dirty with full of crumbs. Blood stain on the bed sheets. Bed sheets are very dirty and foul smell. So we went to feedback to the receptionist and asked them to get someone to clean the dorm but apparently they ignored our requests. It left us no choice but to continue staying in that dorm. Thinking that since we pay peanuts for it, maybe we shouldn't asked for too much for a budget hostel. The next morning, I had major allergy breakout on my skin. Rashes all over my body. Thought I was the only one with breakout, who knows the other girls had some rashes on their legs too. I checked out to stay in another hotel. No more budget hostel for me. :(

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veganlicious_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Hi Vegan,
We are sorry for your unpleasant experience.

However we would like to assure you that Cleanliness is the 1st on our priority list.
We have even outsourced our housekeeping to a professional company and its in our SOP to clean every room everyday followed up with a check by the supervisors on duty.

We do have a no eating/storing of food policy in our rooms. That's why we do provide dry food lockers and chiller in our kitchnette.

We would like to assure you too that our linens are sent to a professional laundry company and when it comes back after washing, the supervisors do a post check on every linen that has returned to us as we do have to count them to ensure that everything is in order. The housekeepers does a secondary check before that layout the linens to make the beds. And it will be followed by the third check by the room supervisors after the cleaning hours before check in time.

Here at Bunc, we welcome every guest like welcoming our friends into our home, we will never ignore our friends. Every feedback or even complain is very important to us, as such we have launched an investigation into the matter, we questioned the staffs on duty and checked the CCTV and Mic recording over the front desk,we found no records of the feedback or any of the other girls' feedbacks. However we would still hope you would accept our sincere apologies for any bad service that you have encountered during your stay here and hope that it did not affect your holidays.

We hope you would give us and especially hosteling another chance if you come back to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Location is good, quite near to Bugis MRT Station, just 10~15 mins walking distance. I just a bit disappointed with the cleanliness. I can found some hairs on the bed when we arrived and the toilets should keep it clean often. The cleanliness of a hostel is the most important for us. But the price is reasonable and good location. We even found Christmas gifts on our bed when we woke up. How sweet they are!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minipop1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Hi Minipop,
Thank you for taking time to review us,
Please be assured that cleanliness is one of our utmost priority.
We do get our staff on duty to do a 2nd check after the housekeepers are done.
We will look into our Housekeeping procedure and improve on it at once.
Improvement is an endless process, we are glad you have given us a chance to look into the issue.
We hope you would give us another chance to host you and to show you the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I like Bunc Hostel :) Clean and cozy.. this was my first stay in dorm and Bunc gave me a very good experience.. and guess what? They provide Queen-size bed in the mix dorm which can allocate for 2 person.. everything is so nice including the shared bathroom which is clean and tidy.. love the friendly staff, love the breakfast provided, love the facilities in the hostel, but except the location.. It is quite far from the MRT station and we were stuck in the hostel while raining.. there is no shaded walkway from the hostel to the MRT station..
Anyway, overall i'm very happy to stay in Bunc.. :D good job..

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mteng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Hi There Mteng,
Thank you for your kind words.
Yup, we have built the double beds in the dorm to cater for couples, good friends or even the solo traveler who might want to enjoy a more spacious bed space.

Do not worry, there will be an MRT station right at our doorstep in a couple of years..they are building it now. Its gonna be a 20 second walk to the station (Jalan Besar Station) and just 15mins to the airport.

Hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I am so grateful to have a good rest in this hostel. Eventhough i only stayed there for one night, but i felt really comfortable. I booked this private room from the website. I read the direction from changi airport to Bunc hostel and from Bugis MRT we walked very far and it was raining. We hardly find this hostel and has to ask some people who passed by. The hostel building is covered by the MRT construction. In the room, i found the interactive TV with the newest gadget. it really interesting! :)
I will come and stay in this hostel again and hopefully the price will still acceptable to backpacker budget. :p

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eugeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Hi Eugeen,
We are very grateful that you have made us your choice hostel while you were in Singapore.
We are sorry for the construction that's happening nearby, the government has decided to build a metro station right in front of the hostel. But be assured that all precautions and necessary steps were taken by the government to ensure that it doesn't affect the residents nearby.

We too have taken steps such as putting up directional signboards all over the place to help direct you guys to the hostel. When this station is completed we will be only 15mins away from the airport.

Glad you booked our private room, yup we have a 37" LCD TV that you can surf the internet as well as watch in house movies at a click of a button..the room setup is for those who enjoy hotel comforts but still want to experience the hostel culture.. its a perfect combination.

Hope to see ya again soon, no worries..we will always stay true to our believe in providing value for money services and products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I would say it's best to choose the female dorm room. The room is clean and neat. Higher floors have less connectivity to their wifi. I am hardly can online in the room (2nd floor). However, their stuffs are friendly. You can meet a lot of people from different country here! The living area is very big, just like a big space for a big family. The wifi connection runs fastest at living room/reception counter. So you can bring along your lappy and sit in front of the table. There are some couches where you can lay yourself there and feel no shy! It's pretty good hostel.

The small disappoint is the location of the hostel is a little bit far. It's took me 15 mins to reach Bugis or Little India MRT. However, I'm sure this would not be a problem for backpacker who always walk a lot~!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laymin_0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Hi Laymin,
Thank you for staying with Bunc.

We have to apologize that the room you were at had the weakest Wifi signal..we are still fine tuning the wifi infrastructure we have in the hostel.

Please be assured that we are trying to maximize the Hi speed coverage through the whole hostel, we have even taken the fastest fibre optic broadband plan from our internet service provider, in fact ..I am writing this review from room 310 which is on the 3rd floor!

Improvement is an endless process, thus we never stop to seek perfection in every way we can..which is why we are grateful for your review too as its one of the ways to know where we will need to improve on.

Thank you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Bunc Hosted is located on Little India area, 15 mins walking distance to Mustafa Center and Bugis Junction. The nearest MRT station is the Bugis and there's a 711 right next to Bunc. The hostel itself very modern-minimalist and very clean. The room is quite small in my opinion. I was stayed on mezzanine floor, and found out that ladies bathroom on third floor has more bathroom than the mezzanine. 2 unit hairdryer are an additional point. I never stayed in hostel before, but Bunc definetely changed my opinion about hostel. I had a a very nice sleep for 2 nites. And oh have I mentioned about the staff? Staffs in reception so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazychair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Hey there Lazy :)

Thank you soo much for giving us the chance to play host to ya.

We are glad that we have changed your opinion about hostels!
Its one of our missions when we decided to create Bunc!

"To let everyone know that they can still enjoy value for money luxurious comforts on a shoestring budget.."

Hope to see ya again soon. See ya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#56 of 240 in Singapore
303 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 240 in Singapore
507 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#132 of 240 in Singapore
60 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 240 in Singapore
409 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £16 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing