We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, clean and comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very comfy double bed for a very cheap price. Clean and easy access to the MRT. Included was free wifi and breakfast. The staff were really friendly and exceedingly helpful. Very, very happy with our stay at Bunc!

Room Tip: Any couples travelling can book a double bed in a dorm room (only slightly more than one single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello Alex,

Thank you for taking time to write us this lovely review. Once the MRT station right outside Bunc opens, it would be even more convenient to stay with us! Brownie points for that! We look forward to welcoming you back here with us. :)

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    197
    60
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
102
93
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two night with my girlfriend. Directions we were given were excellent, 10 minute walk from the MRT. Rooms were nice we had a comfortable double bed, no windows so was nice and dark. Free tea and toast in the morning was good, although having to pay $3 each for a towel seemed scandalous after paying so much money for a hostel. Only three of the ladies showers were working, only one of which was hot plus there were cockroaches inside the cubicle. Apart from that a nice friendly place to stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btcm9187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Bt,
Thank you for your review.
Yup we are sorry that we couldn't put windows in all our rooms as ours is a primary conserved pre-war shop lot. however we have racked our brains and finally came up with building a mechanical fresh air ventilating system that takes in air from outside of the building and pump it into every room. This was done to circulate and keep the air fresh in our rooms.

For the towels, we got the more comfy ones with double looped, we only charge you the washing fee, its a little more expensive but its because we have outsourced it to a professional launderette.

As for Oggy's friend that happened to stray into the cubicle , we have feedbacked to our professional pest control vendor and they have put in some prevention around our building's perimeters, we are still monitoring the situation.

Here at Bunc we put in our utmost effort to ensure you feel safe, comfortable and most importantly able to enjoy high quality everything with value for your dollar.

Love The buncteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was our first time staying at a hostel and we were actually not at ease about is since we'll be sharing rooms with other people however, Bunc's ambiance makes you feel safe and secured. We arrived late at night and the staff was friendly and very accomodating. The only setback for us is that our bed was right next to the door. Good thing we were tired and we were able to sleep right away. They also have a simple hearty breakfast which is very nice. Wifi is not so bad too, decent speed plus it's free.

Room Tip: Check-in earlier so you have a good spot in a shared room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello Joanne,

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review, and also glad that your first experience was with us! And we certainly hope you'll be back for more :)

Thank you once more and we look forward to hosting you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in November 2013 for 4 nights in a double bed dorm with my partner. Place was clean and staff helpful. The double bed dorm, which slept upto 24 at one time was OK but smelt a bit musty after a few days due to amount of people. Only complaints though, breakfast was plentiful and showers decent too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Dellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Andy,
Thank you for your review.
The room you have booked for is our largest dorm room.
Its the large sized dorm and it sells our pretty fast as we have kept its prices fairly
Competitive.. we hope you will try our best seller the standard size and mid sized dorm the next time as the accommodate lesser number of people .
We do have a fresh air system installed in all of our rooms,
the system takes in fresh air from the outside of our building then run it thru a coolant and pumps
It into every room.. This cooled air will force the hot air which are usually 'bad' air up (a bit of science needed here ;) ) and these bad air will be taken out by a separate exhaust system..
We have specially built this system to refresh air in every of our rooms..
Alot of thoughtful planning has gone into building bunc.. With all our guests like yourself in mind..

Do try our standard dorms the next time. Looking forward to seeing back @ bunc !
Luv the bunc team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The rooms in bunc are cosy and the shower facilities are well equipped. It is located near Bugis MRT which allows easy access to other parts of Singapore. The common area is a great place for discussion and small parties. Definitely a great place to stay, especially for people travelling in large groups!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salimsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi Salim,
Great that you and your partner liked us.
We are glad to have lived up to your expectations ,yup we chose to build the hostel
here as it one of the last u touched culturally rich district in Singapore.
And we are located inbetween 2 major mRT lines, bugis and little india stations...

Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to your next stay.
Luv the bunc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here one night only, went to a different hostel after that. Well,the facilities are good, the hostel seems well maintained and clean. The location is OK, in Singapore everything is close anyway, its a small place. I booked a bed,kinda a pod bed in a 16bed dorm, not realising that 8 of which are double for couples,family and sharing with friends. I don't think the hostel mentions that on their website,so in a 16bed dorm ypou can easily find yourself sharing with at least 24people. There was even an family with a child on a double bed.the room is not that big and got hot at night. If I had known that they put more than 16people in one dorm I would have gone somewhere else.Had a sleepless night, with people snoring, checking in after midnight and leaving their light on till 2am. The reception told me that the hostel can accommodate over 200 people,way too big for me.I prefer smaller place, not so crowded. The breakfast was busy but didn't have to wait for the shower, well I was up quite early anyway.Not a place to socialise really.

Room Tip: If you are a solo travel they will give you a top of a bunk bed,the lower part is a double bed for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi Kasia,
We are sorry that the room you booked was quite full, you have booked
our large sized dorm category and we have only one of that room type. It usually sold out the
fastest because of its very competitive price.
And so sorry that you could hv missed out on the room descriptions. Its does mention about the room wil have singles and doubles mixed setup..we will look into how we can offer a better describe it.
Had we realized you weren't used to such large dorms we would certainly offer upgrade you to our smaller room type like the mid sized(10-12) bed, or standard size(8-6) beds dorms that were available..
Bunc was built and designed with all our guests in mind..we too knew that we are one of the first hostel with such sheer size thus we had created a fundesk which is a tour desk and also an events desk . We do organize free walking tours, great discounts and free entries exclusively for our guests only ,to our club partners that we work with... Fundesk was envisioned to be the ice breaking component of bunc..

We hope you would give us another try when you come back to Singapore...looking forward to making your next stay with us better.

Luv the bunc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I love bedroom and bathroom at Bunc. It is clean and comfortable. There are big spaces and sufficient tables and chairs for many people. Roof terrance is so nice to hold a party. Bunc has good security. For entering bedroom or bathroom you have to use your keycard. But if all of you are girl travelers, you might concern when you walk from MRT station to Bunc at night because it is quiet desolate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello Napchu,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. Staying true to the backpacker's culture - we do allocate around 50% of our building space to communal areas which thus makes us an ideal hostel for big groups travelling to Singapore as well. Singapore has been consistently ranked as the top safest countries in Asia, as well as for female travellers, our streets are brightly lit as well. We would encourage you to explore the city at night as it does have its own unique beauty amidst the bright city night lights. Our fun desk colleagues are always available to give you the best hints and tips to visit Singapore - always better from a local ;)

Thank you Napchu, and we hope to host you once more! Cheers xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#10 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#56 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#36 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Property: Bunc Hostel
Address: 15 Upper Weld Road, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing